We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Legoland Great family hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LEGOLAND California Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
LEGOLAND California Hotel
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Legoland Great family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved it the moment we walked in the door. The kids were able to occupy themsleves while we checked in. The elevator was fabulous! We arrived in the middle of the night there, when the elevator door closed, disco ball and music played I knew I was on vacation! The kids loved the treasure hunt, the pirate bunk beds. The breakfast at the Brick Restaurant was delicious, so much food variety to meet the pickiest of eaters.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    413
    128
    40
    37
See reviews for
1,205
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Oh where to start!! It was AMAZING!!! I took my 8 year old twins, boy and girl, along with my "little" 6 year old. They absolutely LOVED, super LOVED their stay for the weekend. They did not want to leave. We ALL loved the breakfast and dinner buffet at Brick's. We celebrated the twin's birthday at Skyline Café. The cake we ordered was supposed to be vanilla, but we received chocolate instead. I think it worked out, because it was delicious!! The kids really enjoyed it. We shared it with the rest of the dining room since there was only five of us, and the cake was pretty big. Great, GREAT, value for the cake :D Loved the detail of our rooms. We stayed in the Pirate Themed room, which was AWESOME! Of course we wanted to ride the AWESOME elevators. Only hiccup we had was with billing. It took longer than I expected to check out and was a bit frustrated with the person that was helping me. The issue was resolved but gave me stiff shoulders for an hour or two. I guess the overall feeling is that "Everything is AWESOME, everything is AWESOME...." (don't know how the rest goes, but that's what my little one's were singing all weekend long) :D

Room Tip: Pick Pirate or Adventure themed, so you can use the elevators :) or ride the elevators just because!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrave South, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay here for 4 nights, I traveled with my nephew (10) and niece (18). Our room was on the 3rd floor (Adventure Themed) and we had a Junior Suite. We spent very little time in the room as there was so much to do, but the beds were very comfortable and it was a nice retreat from the bedlam that was the communal areas of the hotel.
Remember this is a hotel especially geared for kids and its loud, meal times were hectic with long waits to get a seat unless you went to breakfast and dinner really early. Ice-cream is also served at breakfast, what kid wouldn't love that.
You are never too old for the whoopee cushion.
The disco elevator was great, but it was a little hard to get to our floor sometimes as sightseers and disco queens took over the elevator.
Breathe, its a hotel with kids in mind, if you want a nice peaceful break stay somewhere else, but if you want to be king of the kids for ever and ever bring them here and have a ball.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and my son loved it (he's 9). We stayed in the standard pirate themed room on the second floor and it was pretty quiet, except for the kids running to their rooms after dinner. The pool was large and heated and had fun foam lego bricks to build with - the only downside was the pool got closed early one night for "decontaminating". The café had great meals, staff were very attentive and helpful. We had the Bricks buffet for dinner and breakfast and we were very disappointed with the food, it was very greasy and only luke warm. My son really enjoyed the playground and lobby area and all the staff we met were extremely helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again and hope that the restaurant has better food :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My family and I spent two days here and ha so much fun. After reading other reviews it sounded like the place for us. Check in ran smooth and we were in out room an hour before check in. The woman at the front desk (makayla?) was extremely friendly and and got the kids pumped up for and excited for all of the excitement to come. The room was amazing. There was lego at every turn. The separate kids area kept the kids occupies with their own tv so my wife and I could actually relax and catch our breath a little. But the star I the show was the food for sure. When we saw included breakfast we expected the usual cold food continental breakfast. Boy were we wrong. The selection was astounding. The dinner buffet was full of fresh dishes from all different regions. There was something for everyone. The sit down restaurant across the hall surprised as well with perfectly cooked fresh ahi. The stay overall was amazing and we can't wait to come back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberttanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is definitely great for pre-tween kids. My 14-year old said it was okay, but my 11 and 4-year olds said/sang "Everything is Awesome!" There's Legos everywhere! It's great that there's kid activities throughout the day. When we checked in, they gave our kids a scavenger hunt to do so they can unlock the vault in our room that contains treasure.
We stayed in an Adventure-themed room which was very cool! I liked the separation between the kids' bunk beds and the adult bed area. Kids also had their own TV in their area (channels are different in kids' TV than adult's TV). Drawbacks in the room were that they didn't have enough drawer space to be able to unpack your clothes (at least not for a family of 5) and the adult bed was uncomfortable.
We were on the 3rd floor so we took the stairs up/down most of the time we stayed there, but you have to experience taking the elevator when you are there. The elevator music will change once the door closes and it'll make you want to dance...3/5 in my family did. :-)
The breakfast buffet at the Bricks restaurant is your typical breakfast buffet. There are LOTS of food to choose from. I was even shocked that they had smoked salmon with all the toppings available. Beware of kids running/walking around everywhere in the restaurant.
Take advantage of the $50 buffet dinner for 4 they will offer you when you check in. It's for Bricks restaurant. They had Mexican, Italian and Chinese food available along with a carving station serving prime rib, turkey and pork tenderloin. The prime rib was really good and cooked perfectly!
It was worth staying here for the convenience of going to Legoland.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank maps2soto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Recently spent 2 nights at the LEGOLAND hotel in a Pirate Junior Suite. My sisters' family joined us as well, for a total of 4 adults and 3 children (ages 7,6,4) The kids absolutely loved it! (The adults enjoyed themselves too).

The atmosphere is LEGO OVERLOAD!! Super cute theming everywhere, and LEGO figures and creations throughout. The lobby has several play and create areas, and it is super chaotic and noisy. Do not expect to come to this place for quiet and relaxation. This place is super-charged with kid energy (most of it 10 and younger) and our kids all loved it! The popular "disco-elevators" are the cutest and most kid-friendly invention ever, and we all came out singing every time. The whoopee-cushion on the first floor, never seemed to get old...(to the kiddos).

Our room was pirate-theme LEGOS and once again...the kids thought they were in heaven. The bunk beds were a hit! The adults had a king size bed and a pull-out couch. For what you spend a night, I'm going to be honest....the beds were terribly uncomfortable. However, when you see the look on those little faces as they explore this hotel, a little sleep sacrifice seems completely worth it.

The Bricks buffet dinner was typical--overpriced, chaotic, buffet-style food. However, once again, it's hard to complain when the kids are jumping for joy over their own kiddie-size buffet, and marveling over the LEGO creations throughout. (Breakfast at the buffet came with our package, which was a plus). My husband and brother-in-law had dinner one night over at the Skyline Café, and they both thought the food was much better and more budget-friendly.

The hotel offers nightly entertainment for the kids, and a LEGO building competition each night.

The pool was so-so, it seems like it was built on the wrong side of the building, as it's in the shade all afternoon and evening, and got pretty cold. Luckily, we were more interested in the waterpark anyways!

If you are planning on visiting the LEGOLAND park, I highly recommend staying here. Super convenient from the park to the hotel and the early entry into the park was valuable to ride some of the rides that get longer lines throughout the day.

Overall, adults...This one is strictly for the enjoyment of your kids. If you are willing to sacrifice a little of your sanity and a lot of your paycheck for this experience for them...you will find yourself having a great time right along with them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.4 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
1.9 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LEGOLAND California Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND California Hotel

Property: LEGOLAND California Hotel
Address: 5885 The Crossings Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — LEGOLAND California Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've always wanted to spend the night at LEGOLAND. Now you can. Treat your family to the ultimate LEGO(R) experience - a day at LEGOLAND(R) California Resort and a night at the LEGOLAND Hotel! From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO features, themed play areas, family pool and kid's entertainment! Located right at the main entrance of LEGOLAND California, a stay at our LEGO themed hotel will turn a day you'll always remember into a night you'll never forget! All guest rooms are LEGO themed in Pirate, Kingdom, Adventure,LEGO Friends and new this spring, LEGO NINJAGO. Rooms include two separate sleeping areas, with a king-size bed for grown-ups, and a separate area for up to three little ones, complete with a bunk bed, pull-out trundle bed and their very own TV! As a special privilege, LEGOLAND Hotel guests will get entry to select LEGOLAND rides and attractions before the Park officially opens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotelopia and TravelClick so you can book your LEGOLAND California Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing