We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst room in the hotel 2001”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LEGOLAND California Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When you check in, make sure to request that you not be given room 2001. We had a senior and a three and a five year-year-old, and it was such a long trek to and from the elevator. Our room cost almost $500. I expected more for the money. It is really a Hampton Inn room decorated with a theme. There is a $25 resort fee, but it is not a resort--no spa or workout room, and the meals are cafeteria-styled, which IS good for the children. Check -in is 4 p.m., which is too late for little children. The next day we had to check out at 9 a.m. to take advantage of the early admission to the park. Otherwise, we would have had a little time at the park and then come back to the hotel for check-out at 11. That would have been good for the water park, but it only opens at 10. We will probably go back to LegoLand but will not waste money on the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 2001 is too far from the elevator for little children. We could hear children jumping off the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank I, General Manager at LEGOLAND California Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear “Sharon B,”

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your much appreciated feedback, and thank you for staying with us at LEGOLAND California Resort!

I completely understand how the walk from the elevator to 2001 can be taxing for an excited five year old and for parents who are just ready to relax. For some guests, it’s a nice option to get as far from the chaos as possible, but for others, like you mentioned, it’s quite the trek after a long day at the Park. I do apologize and see this as a training opportunity – depending on room availability, we can give guests different room location options.

We are currently in the process of renovating and upgrading our fitness room. I sincerely apologize that this amenity was not available for you during your stay. Also, we have heard from guests that they would like to see a spa in the Hotel, and this is something we may consider for any future potential expansions.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us as we are always seeking feedback to obtain ideas on ways to improve our Resort!

Regards,
Frank Idris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I'm very torn about this hotel. The experience was overall a good experience. It would have been great except for the service. The valet was awesome. But that was about it. We checked in early and we're told they would call us when the room was ready. Check-in time was at 4. At 4:15 we still had not been contacted and I went to the front desk. Guests checking in were getting keys. It was a bit annoying. I think they forgot about us. While we waited we had drinks and lunch at the cafe and that was okay. The restaurant was dirty and service was slow. The rooms were cool and unique although the quality of the mattress was worse than a motel 6. We ordered room service, which was okay. Most of the food tasted like frozen food and not very good quality. I will have to say the kids loved it! They loved the room and the experience. I guess I expected more considering how much you pay a night. A big plus, we were able to go into the park an hour before it opened! That was awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank I, General Manager at LEGOLAND California Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear “Lucia L,”

Thank you for your time taken to write a review on LEGOLAND Hotel!

I am very sorry to hear that the service you received was anything less than exceptional, but am happy to hear valet was able to provide you with quality service. Also, I sincerely apologize for our failure to provide your room keys on time and for the quality of the mattresses. Please know we are currently in the process of changing the beds and hope our guests will find them much more comfortable. We really appreciate each and every guest feedback we receive as it is truly our greatest source of learning.Please know all issues you have addressed will be reviewed.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback, “Lucia L!”

Regards,
Frank Idris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My kids (10 & 7 years old) absolutely loved this hotel! Everything from the pool area to the nightly activities and the Kingdom themed room. The rooms / suites were probably a little larger than a normal size hotel room. The beds weren't that comfortable. We stayed 2 nights, and please be aware that we had to request house keeping services 2 times in the afternoon (2 PM & 4PM) which I wasn't happy with. However, you do get tremendous convenience at staying here for the LegoLand Park b-c the it's adjacent to the Park. Anytime I needed something it was real easy walk to go back to our room. If you're visiting LegoLand Park with younger kids this is a great option, however please be aware this is not a Disneyland Resort type of experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelsWFamilyAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank I, General Manager at LEGOLAND California Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear “TravelsWFamilyAlways,”

We truly appreciate your time taken to provide us with your feedback!

I am so glad to hear that your children enjoyed their stay at LEGOLAND Hotel and that you appreciated the close proximity between the Hotel and the rest of the Resort! However, I am very sorry to hear of the unacceptable service you received regarding the servicing of your guest room. Please know this is not the standard I uphold for the Hotel and please know it will be addressed.

We have received the same feedback from other guests regarding the comfort of our beds. We’ve listened and now are in the process of changing out every queen mattress. We’re very excited for this change and hope this will enhance the guest experience!

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Warm regards,
Frank Idris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The kids loved the pirate suite. They have great kid friendly things, from the voices in the toilets to playground in the lobby, great pool, free chocolate, legos, water and juices, wonderful pool (with evening movies). It is definitely pricey but for a special trip, worth it. Great bunk bed rooms for the kids and lego figures everywhere.

Two complaints. The food is not good. Bland, cold - a buffet but worse than the usual. And not especially cheap. $10 for an adult - I guess if you want all you can eat of mediocre food, then it's a deal. Yes, kid friendly but for adults, make the trip down the hill to the Marriot or Sheraton or bring in and use the frig in the room.

And what's with not supplying pool towels on weekends? Friday night, big blue beach towels. Weekends you have to bring the ones from your room. That can't save much money - you have to clean them regardless, but means an inconvenient mess for guests. In so many areas, they are very consumer friendly, but no towels is silly.

Room Tip: If you have smaller children who go to bed before eight, get a room on the side away from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotlandtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed there for two nights. The children loved the room. The room is not as spacious as shown on pictures (I guess this is true with most professional photos). The breakfast is very good. The nightly entertainment is a little bit disappointing, my 7 year old liked it, my 5 years old was not interested. Another disappointment is the early admission to LEGOLAND. It is true the gate open for hotel guests at 9AM, however only a very few park attractions open early. My advice is that staying at the hotel because you want the hotel experience, but don't count on the early admission advantage.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a trip to San Diego where we stayed one night here and there in Pacific Terrace hotel and the kids begged us to take them back to this hotel! They loved every second of it. It isn't cheap but was worth their excitement, proximity to the park and uniqueness of the hotel. We barely took advantage of all it had to offer because we arrived so late. The bunk room family suite is way smaller than the pictures suggest, but the kids could have cared less, they loved it. Everyone who we can't into contact with couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We wish we had stayed longer as we didn't get to use the pool or do any of the nighttime activities there. Definitely stay here if you have Lego-obsessed kids!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Annie-RGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for kids with tons of activities and interactions. The only issue I have is the price is a little steep for what you get, but that's staying at a destination hotel like this one. It is definitely a one time deal that you should try if you're going to Legoland for the first time.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.5 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LEGOLAND California Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND California Hotel

Address: 5885 The Crossings Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: £130 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LEGOLAND California Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've always wanted to spend the night at LEGOLAND. Now you can. Treat your family to the ultimate LEGO(R) experience - a day at LEGOLAND(R) California Resort and a night at the LEGOLAND Hotel! From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO features, themed play areas, family pool and kid's entertainment! Located right at the main entrance of LEGOLAND California, a stay at our LEGO themed hotel will turn a day you'll always remember into a night you'll never forget! All guest rooms are LEGO themed in Pirate, Kingdom, Adventure,LEGO Friends or LEGO NINJAGO. Rooms include two separate sleeping areas, with a king-size bed for grown-ups, and a separate area for up to three little ones, complete with a bunk bed, pull-out trundle bed and their very own TV! As a special privilege, LEGOLAND Hotel guests will get entry to select LEGOLAND rides and attractions before the Park officially opens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your LEGOLAND California Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing