We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for large family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LEGOLAND California Hotel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boerne, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent for large family”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a wonderful experience here. The room with a king bed, set of bunks and pull out bed easily fit our family of 6. We arrived early, dropped off our luggage and spent the day at Legoland. Legoland closed at 6:00, which allowed us to spend the evening enjoying the amenities of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent at the in house restaurant. It is very expensive, so we only stayed one night, and that was plenty for a full Legoland experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasHula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    458
    140
    48
    38
See reviews for
1,430
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We recently stayed here with our 2 kids for the first time and it was a great experience. Kids loved the room as soon as we walked in. We stayed in the adventure themed room. The kids area is separated from the adults by the bathroom so you get some privacy without it being a true suite. The design and function of the room is fantastic. The room was very clean and so was the bathroom. We had a view of the pool and the ocean in the distance. We thought it was pretty quiet at night so had no problems with noise from the pool. We bought the package with the breakfast and I would highly recommend that as the breakfast buffet was a big hit with the kids. And the kids loved the disco elevator! Even thought it might be pricey, I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Legoland. Disneyland could learn a thing or two from what they did at the Legoland hotel. We stayed at the Grand Californian right after this and it was dingy, dirty and cramped especially compared to the Legoland hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the Adventure Themed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFCALUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have stayed at many hotels but this one has to be one of the best for young families. Here is my review.

1) Location - Excellent. Located only 25 feet away from the Legoland theme park entrance. Only 2 minutes away from the Carlsbad Premium Outlets outdoor shopping mall and Costco.

2) Hotel Amenities - Excellent outdoor pool with changing rooms, ample parking, valet service, first class accommodations. The hotel is a theme park in itself. It has lego characters everywhere and costs thousands of dollars to make each piece located in the lobbies, bathrooms, entrance way, dining area and individual rooms. It is worth the price just for the kids to experience the treasure hunt, have nightly entertainment and their own half room with t.v. and bunk beds. This new hotel put extra thought behind every decor with matching carpets, sculptures, wall-paper, shower curtains etc Even the main floor bathrooms have sensors that trigger voices that converse with each other as you enter. The elevators are also quite a treat, as it initially plays slow elevator music until the doors close then the disco music and strobe lights flash when you travel up or down the elevator.

Rooms - 1st class - The toilets are the only ones I have seen that have a double toilet seat - the top one for little tikes and a second seat underneath for adults. It comes with a mini fridge and microwave upon request. The best part is having a separating wall for the parents and kids with 2 wall- mounted tvs - bunk beds for the kids and Queen for the adults. It also comes with an in-room safe. Rooms are quite quiet considering families are the majority that stay here.

Dining - Exceptional - There are stations for dessert, beverages, salad bar, carved roast beef, pork, ham, Mexican food, all types of vegetables, rice, potatoes, fixings. This buffet has more variety than any buffet I have ever seen and the food is fresh and well rounded for all tastes. Plenty of seating for everyone. Tip - Purchase the meal vouchers in advance as it would cost you at least 25% more if you didn't.

Service - We had some issues with the hotel, but they dealt with it in the most professional manner.

Overall review - There are other 4-5 star hotels in the area, but you can never substitute the enduring memories your family would have in staying in this themed hotel that captures the whole Lego experience first hand.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

My first impression of the room was awesome! Until.. We found hair on our bed, hair and mildew in our shower, shower curtains pink/yellow from not being cleaned properly and inside toilet was dirty. I called the housekeeping dept to please send a Hskpr to retouch those areas.. The room was decorated nice but the cleanliness of the room was poor and not up to standards. "You get what you pay for!" Definitely does not apply to this hotel.. For $440 I was expecting a clean room.

Breakfast was good and my son loved it, so I was happy to see him enjoy him self.
Overall the experience was good but wouldn't pay the amount I did to return to this hotel. I been to holiday express and their quality and standards are way much higher... So you don't always get what you pay for.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Glendy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Glendy22,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and thank your for staying with us at the LEGOLAND California Resort! I am so sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Your experience is precious to us and I cannot apologize enough for our failure to exceed your expectations. I am saddened to hear that your room was not up to standards in cleanliness and decor. We really appreciate each and every guest feedback we receive as it is truly our greatest source of learning.

Though your first visit with us was less than desirable, I hope you will consider us again in the future to give us another chance. Thank you again for your feedback, Glendy22.

Warm Regards,

Matthew C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Disco lifts, theme rooms, daily lego gifts, treasure hunt, characters at breakfast and dinner, Legos in the pool, balloonist, nightly entertainment mini lounge and movies in the pool. Plenty of going on in the hotel. Room is reasonably clean, facilities and setup made for family living with children. Convenience to theme park is great. We brought towels from the hotel pool to Chima water park as per checkin staff advice and that reduces the weight we carried around the park. Early access to the parks allows us to enjoy popular rides with out too much queuing and we re-enter the park after 5.30pm to enjoy the rest of the park facilities after spending time in the hotel pool. In the kids word, most awesome hotel and holiday ever.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I went in late July for 2 nights with my five year old son. He was in heaven! We are LEGOLAND theme park pass holders, so we love the park. However, he's always wanted to stay at this hotel and we made this our big vacation for the summer. It's expensive in the summer, yes. But it was so much fun! From when you first arrive to when you leave (sadly) - you are immersed in the Lego experience. I checked in early - at 1 pm - but was told that we would get a call when our room was ready and that it would be around 4 pm. Since we drove in, I was able to leave our bags in the car (I could have brought in any luggage that was sensitive to the heat) and we just went into the park. The parking was excellent - right near the hotel which is near the park. You could have valet'd, but they have free self-parking included. We got a call right at 4 pm that our room was ready. We left the park around 5 pm to get the room - and the earlier check in and getting the keys was easy. They give the kids a treasure hunt - find 4 numbers that will unlock the treasure chest in the room - my son was really into that! And in the treasure chest was a small Lego bag set for us to keep! The disco elevator was a trip and the whoopee cushion was pretty fun. The room was awesome! We got a pirate theme on the second floor - the first floor was Kingdom and the top floor was Adventure. I'm pretty sensitive to people walking above us, but we were either lucky about not much noise coming from the floor above or the hallway We bought the dinner for four package which is even better than the deal that the annual pass members get - and we liked the restaurant. However, we couldn't do that two nights in a row - especially as we get breakfast in the Bricks restaurant as well.

The room itself was interesting - split into two sections with a bathroom in the middle. The adult area was a normal size room - with a queen sized bed. It had a refrigerator which was nice - and we were given two bottles of water, two juices and a bag of chocolates upon arrival. The kid area was smaller - with a bunk bed and a trundle bed joined to the bottom bunk. It was fine. The bathroom was acceptable as well. However, the door doesn't have a lock, which is interesting - and could be a problem if your kid doesn't have boundaries!

An added benefit is that you can get into the park a half hour earlier than the general crowd at 9 am. USE IT! We didn't really take advantage of it the first day - we got in at 9:15 am and didn't realize that the general crowd comes in at 9:30 am - we got one ride in (Coastersaurus). They only open a certain section of the park anyways - and then the rest of the park opens at 10 am. The second day, we were there at 9:02 am - and went straight to the ride that is always crowded - the Sky Cruiser. It was only a 10 minute wait (there is generally a 90 minute wait - which is not really worth it.)

Our favorite part of the hotel was the pool. SO relaxing - and not as crowded as the park. The pool has a beach access area - and a shallow area (under 3 feet) and a more deep area (not more than 5 ft.) You can relax poolside and have food and drinks brought to you. While we enjoyed the park, it was crowded and hot; At the pool during the day, most people are in the park - so we had the pool mostly to ourselves. Since we are annual pass holders, the park wasn't the important part - it was the hotel. Now I'll have to deal with my son always wanting to stay at the hotel when we go visit LEGOLAND!

Room Tip: The pirate room is not as expensive but you get to use the elevator (which is cool) However, get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ajinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna F, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear “Ajinla”,

Thank you for choosing LEGOLAND Hotel as your family’s vacation destination!

I am so very glad to read that your experience was a memorable one! We are always striving to keep the children entertained. We also want the adults to be able to relax and enjoy their stay as well, and I’m so happy to see that you did at our pool. Your attention to detail and kind words are greatly appreciated!
We hope to see you and your family in the near future!

Warm regards,

Shawna F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our third LA stopover. We have stayed at LEGOLAND Windsor before. The two hotels are very similar. The California hotel is modern, clean and tidy. Staff are very welcoming and pleasant. The hotel is situated right next door to the them park entrance. We stayed half board and in fairness this was probably the only let down as we felt the buffet could have been better but none the less we still ate! Some nice touches - disco lift (groovy), night time movie by the pool, lego gifts for children each day of the stay. A brilliant short 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Kingdom rooms are down stairs on the level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert-ErnieAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
2.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.5 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LEGOLAND California Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND California Hotel

Property: LEGOLAND California Hotel
Address: 5885 The Crossings Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — LEGOLAND California Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've always wanted to spend the night at LEGOLAND. Now you can. Treat your family to the ultimate LEGO(R) experience - a day at LEGOLAND(R) California Resort and a night at the LEGOLAND Hotel! From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO features, themed play areas, family pool and kid's entertainment! Located right at the main entrance of LEGOLAND California, a stay at our LEGO themed hotel will turn a day you'll always remember into a night you'll never forget! All guest rooms are LEGO themed in Pirate, Kingdom, Adventure,LEGO Friends or LEGO NINJAGO. Rooms include two separate sleeping areas, with a king-size bed for grown-ups, and a separate area for up to three little ones, complete with a bunk bed, pull-out trundle bed and their very own TV! As a special privilege, LEGOLAND Hotel guests will get entry to select LEGOLAND rides and attractions before the Park officially opens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your LEGOLAND California Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing