We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Like most HI Express Hotels, this one was clean, staff pleasant, and good room size. Easy to find, and near restaurants and grocery store. Close to beach. I would stay again. It is a short drive to Carlsbad and great shopping and eating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sid g, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

We are in a great location with easy access to the beach and short drives to Legoland and great shopping options and restaurants.

We are focused on providing guests great service and value, in a clean and comfortable setting.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    70
    23
    12
    12
See reviews for
104
38
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a great place to stay with family. We stayed here and were extremely happy with the cleanliness and the friendly staff, especially AMBER. She is a gem of a person & extremely helpful. She is your 'go to' girl for everything. The breakfast is very good and the kitchen staff very efficient. Don't miss out on this place to stay with your family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sid g, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to submit your reply regarding your stay at the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Carlsbad Beach.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Cleanliness and condition of the property is one of our primary focuses at the property and we are fortunate to have Amber on our team. She is a true professional in the hospitality industry and has expertise in various departments.

We hope to see you again next time you visit Carlsbad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had the pleasure of meeting some great employees at the Holiday Inn. Especially Sarah. She was very kind and went way out of her way to help us. Thank you for recommending a delicious restaurant and great locations to visit. We hope to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sid g, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day and submitting a review.

One item we focus on is guest service and we are thrilled to have Sarah on our team. Her hospitality experience and attention to guest satisfaction and requests is what should be expected from a front desk agent.

we hope to see you next time you are in Carlsbad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I was stuck without a room. Expedia booked me a room that didn't exist. However, Larry and Amber did everything they could to help me find another hotel. It finally worked out, but I wished I could've stayed - the hotel is brand new, staff is super freindly and location is great.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank scottsaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sid g, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, that type of occurrence does occur from time to time when utilizing a third party booking company, but I am pleased that Amber and Larry were able to find accommodations for you elsewhere. We are fortunate to have their guest service experience on our staff.

We hope next time you visit Carlsbad, we have the opportunity to host you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Everything is brand-new about this property, and as such, it's a very nice affordable place to come and stay with the kids. Service is very nice, rooms are modern and have an appealing decor, and the location two blocks from the beach and proximity to theme parks is fantastic. The HIE signature complimentary breakfast was admittedly understaffed when we stayed there, and it was BUSY with families getting ready to go to LegoLand. All in all, a good value choice. However, judging from the quality of the furniture and fixtures (lower-end) combined with the heavy toddler traffic that this place is likely to endure, I expect it to be quite run-down sooner than later. So get in while it's still nice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noellossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sid g, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words in the review you have sent. We have made it a point to make sure we practice preventative maintenance to make sure all items, furniture and equipment stay in excellent condition and replaced when the time comes. We hope to see you next time you visit Carlsbad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

First and foremost the front end management team including Amber and Karen are extremely nice and welcoming. I stayed here for a few weeks due to an auto accident that left me temporally in a wheelchair. The entire staff was extra accommodating to my special needs! The new Handicapped accessible suite/bath was exactly what I needed and was very comfortable for my longer than normal stay. As a Carlsbad, CA local I would definitely recommend this clean, quiet resort style hotel to all friends/family. Plus it’s right near the beach!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sid g, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you sir for your kind comments. We are thrilled that the stay worked out for you and we are lucky to have Amber and Karen as part of the team....all the best to you and please stop by when you are in the neighborhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were a family of 4 and stayed here while visiting LEGOLAND. It was the perfect hotel. Management went out of their way to accommodate us, it was spotless and breakfast was great! We would highly recommend and we definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler52011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sid g, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the new hotel.

We appreciate all feedback as we are constantly trying to improve our product and service.

The Express Start breakfast is a great way to start the day and I am pleased that you agree with that!

We hope to see you again the next time you visit LEGOland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#23 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
1.5 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Address: 751 Raintree Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing