We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Fish and Chips” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Fish Cafe

Harbor Fish Cafe
Ranked #27 of 335 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basic Fish and Chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I liked their fish and chips a little, but not a lot. The fish didn't offer much flavor to the meal so it was all breading and fried food flavoring. The chips (French fries) were pretty good and they do offer malt vinegar to add to the fish and chips experience. The place was pretty popular and the wait staff was very quick with everything.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abqactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    125
    82
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix,AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

it gets crowded, so go before prime time. We did and had a nice view of the ocean and enjoyed some good fish n chips. Not the best I ever had, but the view sure beats the cactus I am seeing in Phoenix! Enjoyed my meal with their private label brew and was good to go! Service is ok. But they don't have free refills so get the largest one for your tea or soda!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I am not sure why this place is so popular.
Maybe the location, but you cannot really see the ocean when you are seated and it's pretty pricey.
The fish and chips are more like batter and chips (a really tiny piece of fish).
The clam chowder is just alright.
I was pretty unsatisfied.
For the amount spent, I could have gone to a nicer/fancier restaurant that served better food.
Not really sure how the other food on the menu tastes, but I probably won't go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Remi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm desert ca
Level Contributor
196 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“old reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Different seating pattern this year. Same good service and food - chowder, fries, wine, cole slaw and fried fish.
Parking is a major problem. The only parking is city streets which means a long walk if you come at prime hours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank morteight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as claimed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had the fish tacos, fish n' chips and clam chowder. The fish tacos were decent, I would recommend getting the baked fish over the battered. The fish n' chips were a little less than average. Finally, the clam chowder was no better than canned from the supermarket. Many locals will cringe when I say this, but the fish n' chips and chowder at Anthony's on the Embarcadero in Diego are far superior to those at the Harbor Fish Cafe. Go for the beer and atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThorntonCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbor Fish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Harbor Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing