We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, but not all it's hyped to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
m2mnelson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid, but not all it's hyped to be”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed at the West Inn while we travelled to Legoland.

Location:
Average location. It is near I-5 and Legoland, but so is everything else in Carlsbad. Too far from the beach compared to other hotels. The hotel does have a restaurant and gas station in the same parking lot. The hotel is next to train tracks.

Hotel:
Hotel is very new and decorated nicely. It does feel like your staying in a huge house rather than a hotel. However, everything seems to be cramped. The rooms are small, especially if you have kids. The workout area was extremely small as wall. High Speed internet was spotty at best. They also provided breakfast complimentary with the room. This is not good. It is free, but if you are going to offer it, you should do it well. Between the rubbery pancakes and park like tables, it feels like you are at camp. There is also a restaurant next to the hotel owned by the same company. We ate their as well and the food was decent.

Service:
Service is good. They do give you cookies and milk on check in which is great. There were no real issues with the service and everyone was helpful.

Overall
This is a solid hotel, but it is not as good as advertised. It's like having a business park in a beach town- it doesn't work for me. It is appealing in many ways, but falls short in many others. The rooms are decorated nice, but they are very small. The complimentary breakfast seems like a great idea, but the food is bad. The hotel looks great and is aesthetically appealing, but it is located next to train tracks. It's like when I got my steak from the hotel restaurant, it looked great, but something just didn't taste right.
This is definitely not a 5 star hotel, it could be a 4 star, but as for now I can only give it 3 stars. It is not a bad place, but it is certainly not all it is hyped up to be.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m2mnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    158
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
732
150
22
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed at the hotel from Friday to Monday in July. The room (King suite) was very spacious for my family (1.5 year old boy and 3.5 year old girl). We asked for a crib which was in the room when we checked in. The hotel offerred beach toys, chairs and towels complimentary. The beach wasn't too far away, and there is a small park within a 5 minute walk. The kids enjoyed the nightly cookies and milk which they were rewarded with after a good dinner. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, and decided to pick up take-out from the plethora of restaurants in the area. There are a couple grocery stores nearby as well and each room has a refrigerator and microwave. The pool was also very kid friendly with toys and swimmer diapers in case you forgot to pack some. The hotel was great for us and was very kid friendly. The breakfast was sufficient, but would prefer more fresh fruit. There was cut strawberries though which were tasty.

We stayed here as it's very close to legoland. The best part about it is that the hotel offers a shuttle to legoland, and they have car seats! They dropped us off at the entrance, and you can either schedule a pickup or call when you are ready. It couldn't be easier. All in all it was a great trip and the hotel is perfect for families with kids. We will definitely stay again the next time we head down to Legoland!

I also forgot to mention that there is free wi-fi and parking.

Room Tip: Call the morning of check-in if you want to book 2 rooms close to each other. We traveled with anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manu.harish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We had booked at the Grand Pacific Palisades, and our reservation got screwed up due to the time share company they use for their reservations...So here we were, the whole family had driven down from LA for 4th of July weekend, to go to Legoland, and we found ourselves sitting in an El Pollo Loco in Oceanside, on the iPad looking at Priceline for hotels (which were for the most part sold out)...

I called here to the West Inn, and Corey helped me make a reservation. It was The most pleasant experience from that point. In short-- the people working the desk are pleasant, the hotel is great for families-- super affordable, pool with to s of families, warm cookies and milk between 8 and 9 at night, turndown service, shuttle to Legoland, puppy friendly, huge rooms for cheap, and all the Sponge Bob you can stomach on the huge HD tvs...

In short, this is a great find for families.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Innerfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We are a family of four with two young boys. First, the pros - excellent staff, very nicely decorated rooms with a good size refrigerator, comfy king size beds, family friendly in every way, great location near the village, the beach, etc. It is across the street from a power plant, but my boys thought that was cool. The cons - we thought we were getting a suite with a room that was separated by a door - know that these "suites" are still ONE room. For us, that meant that when our boys went to bed at 8pm, so did we - or at least, it was lights out, no movie, etc. We also had a rollaway in the hallway, as we learned our boys just could not sleep in the same bed together - there is no room for the pullout sofa bed plus a rollaway in the sitting area room. Also, while the breakfast buffet was hot, we found the scrambled eggs virtually inedible. There were many other choices, including oatmeal, muffins, cereal, and the bacon was OK, but the cooking was not the best while we were here. We ended up going out to eat for breakfast on several occasions. We heard that both restaurants connected with the Inn are fabulous and wished we had had an opportunity to try them. But, next time we come to the area, we will probably get a place with a suite room that is separated by a door, as well as a place with a kitchenette.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akidslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Really excellent. Staff were superb and went out of their way to be as helpful as possible. The hotel is beautifully equipped throughout. Ignore others' negative comments about the nearby power station and the railroad. You hear the occasional train whistle but it's not irritating - soon fast asleep in the excellent king size beds. Air conditioning was super quiet. Parked underground, used the business center and wifi, ate the evening cookies, helped ourselves to tea and coffee, our young children watched a selection of DVDs available from reception (all free - how refreshing!). Unfortunately didn't get a chance to use the pool or eat at either of the two on-site restaurants. Maybe they should consider expanding the breakfast area...but a minor niggle.
This hotel has set the benchmark very high - well done!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Awesome hotel. Very clean and the staff goes out of there way to help you with everything. Very close to Legoland and the hotel shuttle is great to help you save on parking. Lots of shopping and places to eat close by. The housekeeping staff even went out of there way to send us a toy my son had accidentally left in the hote.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmolash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunny socal
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This would have been a five star if it had a better location. When I think of Carlsbad I think of the ocean and flower fields. All is close but with their location between the freeway and the train tracks you could be just about anywhere. If you are on one side you will be adjacent to the freeway and on the other, the train screams by and usually blows its whistle. They do a good job of shutting out the noise with double windows though. Not just double paned windows but two sets of double paned windows blocked the noise from outside but made it interesting when I tried opening them for air.
The staff was great and I especially liked the idea that you could bring your dog (even though I don't have one) and not feel like a second class citizen. On both days there was a dog at the front desk that came to work. Nice.
The room was modern and very clean. Breakfast was serve yourself but a notch above other places that offer that kind of fare. Pastries were from a bakery and not a plastic wrapper.The cookies at bedtime were a nice touch which brings up my next point. If you don't like children you should probably find another place. The local is close to Legoland so there will be a lot of children. They did a great job of keeping them occupied in the evening so there was no problem with noise. They all seemed to be well behaved at the pool and breakfast so I have no complaints. Heck, I have kids and I was on once too. They do a nice job at accommodating family travelers and as solo adult travelers we didn't feel out of place at all..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank st0ked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,309 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#6 of 36 in Carlsbad
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Property: West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4343
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Inn & Suites Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and TravelClick so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing