We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel and great staff too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Corona, California
1 review
“Super hotel and great staff too!”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the West Inn & Suites in July 2011. We were very happy with our stay. Our room was very quiet even though it is close to the freeway and train. The breakfast had a very nice selection of items from eggs to pancakes to cereals. The kids loved the breakfast and the cookies and milk at night were a plus too. The hotel shuttle dropped us off and picked us up at Legoland which was super! We went to the beach one day and were able to borrow the hotel boogie boards. They also had sand toys, umbrellas and more. The hotel staff was excellent and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We got a very happy surprise of Disney princess balloons in our room for my daughter's birthday. She was thrilled! We enjoyed a day at the pool. Lots of towels, cold water and floats for the kids. They even had swim diapers available which we did not need. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Carlsbad.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergie0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    161
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
738
153
22
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Booked in response to website details of suite with family room. In fact "family room" was the entry-way between door and sleeping area! Would not recommend and would stay at neighbouring Hyatt Suites in preference if in area again (tried to move but they were fully booked).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at the West Inn & Suites after reviewing the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor and the Hotel lived up to its reviews.

We had a week long trip in July with the family (a 6 year old and 3 year old) and the Hotel was a perfect fit for the vacation. Our goal for a hotel was to find a nice, comfortable hotel suitable for the family.

Facilities. The Hotel is beautiful and the room was spacious. We had a king bedroom suite. The room included a suite with a pull out couch bed. There was a microwave and a fridge. The hotel also has laundry facilities. The room was beautiful and very clean. The linens were luxurious. The room included two flat screen t.v.'s. The Common Areas (the hallways, lobby, business center, library and dining area) are beautiful and clean. A+ Facilities!

Location: The hotel is located close to I-5 and the rail way, which you can tell when you are in the parking lot or swimming pool, but you can't hear the highway from the room (but you can hear the train). The hotel is located about a15 minute walk west to the beach; a 5-10 minute drive from Legoland to the east; In and Out Burger is a 5 minute drive south; San Diego (Sea World, Zoo, etc.) is about 30-45 minute drive to the south. Perfect location for us because we spent two days at Legoland. The drive to the S.D. Airport, Sea World and the Zoo was not bad.

Amenities: The swimming pool is good, but not a "resort" type hotel -- but that was not what we were looking for. Pay laundry room is available. A hearty breakfast and Wi-fi is included (yes and yes!!). Free cookies and milk at 8pm available in the dining is a perfect way to end a family day at the parks. Room service is provided by the West Bistro, which is a fine dining establishment next door. Restaurant is nice, but on the pricey side.

Service: Excellent service. The front desk was extremely friendly and hospitable. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine. House-keeping was extremely efficient.

This hotel is a great value without being a typical "value" hotel that cuts corners. A great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDaveTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We travelled from Australia to America and Canada and stayed at many fine hotels but this one topped the list for us. From the minute we were greeted at reception until we had to leave 4 days days later we were amazed at how nice everything was.
The rooms are great. We had an oversized family room,well worth the extra cost. The staff were so friendly, even the maids and maintenance guys always smiled and asked how we were. The pool area is great and the free breakfast is like nothing we have experienced before, very fresh and lots of it...really good.
The free milk and cookies at night are such a great idea for kids to meet and make new friends and us big kids loved them also.
There is an awesome smell throughout, even in the elevator. It smells like tropical fresh flowers everywhere you walk. free wifi works great and this place is super clean.
Our only regret was only staying 4 nights, is was sad to leave. The best part about the West Inn & Suites is definatley the staff. They all seem so honestly happy and more than happy to help in any way.
Thank you for making our USA holiday so great, staying here was definatly the highlight for us.
Regards,
The Roach Family from Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DazzaOU812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We were just looking for something close to Legoland that wasn't too expensive and came upon the West Inn & Suites. We were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful the service, rooms and meals were at this hotel. In fact, we do plan to visit again, just to spend a little more time in Carlsbad and will definitely stay at the West Inn & Suites again! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelledhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We found this place on trip advisor and it had great reviews. We travelled to san diego for a wedding and decided to spend three days in legoland. West Inn & Suites is located 5 minutes from legoland and the free fast shuttle services was what drew us to book our stay there. The place is clean and has a family feel to it. The staff is so courteous and helpful. They walk around with a smile and greet you every time. The dining room is like a large room with tables, couches, TV, and cabinet full of toys for the kids to borrow and play with. The breakfst included alot of varieties including fresh fruit, cereal, and yogurt with hot item menus that changes daily. The kitchen is clean and plenty of place to sit. Nightly chocolate chip cookies with milk is welcomed by the kids who think it is such a treat. Even if we are late from legoland and did not get in on time to have a cookie, they will bring us some to our room. Our room was large and clean with modern amenities with a nice shower/tub. We can bath both kids in the tub w/o problems.
Overall, it was a fantastic place to stay with great servies. I would return if I ever go to carlsbad in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shareair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Rooms were very clean. Two king size beds in a room was nice. The hotel offers a free breakfast that was more than just cereal and rolls. The location was excellent. Very close to the Pacific Coast Highway and just off the ramp of I-5. We didn't have a problem with noise from the highway or the train. The only thing that bothered me was very minor, and that was the bathroom door opened out into the hallway and therefore, had to have a self-closer on it. It was just a litle annoying when getting ready in the morning that the bathroom door was always shut. We were pleasantly suprised at how nice the Bistro restaurant was. Prices weren't bad and the food was decent. We weren't overly impressed by their Steakhouse Restaurant. Overall, a very nice, clean little hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar3698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
659 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,320 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Property: West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4343
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Inn & Suites Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and TravelClick so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing