We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Legoland proximity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Legoland proximity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Now that Legoland has its own hotel, the West Inn & Suites is a much quieter and appealing hotel to stay at. Good-bye to noisy children running around or jumping off the bed in the room above, no more screaming crying babies next door or loud, scolding parents. With two king beds, a large bathroom, mini kitchenette, free breakfast and complimentary shuttle service to Legoland the price was exceptional. Oh and no resort fees! Great value stay with high grade accommodations and amenities. They use Aveda line products so I was very very happy. The pool was great too, had it all to ourselves. Every employee we encountered were very friendly and courteous. The West's premise is pretty large considering they have a Steak/Seafood restaurant, a bistro and a gas station/mini mart all on the same property. Don't be deceived by the freeway adjacent location. The facility is strategically designed and placed so that no rooms face the freeway and no freeway noise was ever evident from our room. They also have a lot of lush landscape to help buffer the noise. This was truly one of the best bang for your buck stays! Highly recommend and plan to return again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBees8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    149
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
719
142
22
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

After researching the San Diego area for several months, I stumbled across West Inn. I was so impressed by all the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. We decided to stay in Carlsbad our entire trip. Driving up to the hotel was a little disappointing, as it is located right by a power station. Although once inside, that did not matter. Upon checking in, my husband let them know that we wanted to get changed and head to the beach. They said they would have a shuttle for us right away. I am super picky with hotel cleanliness. This hotel seemed brand new. Everything was spotless! We loved the eye for detail in the rooms. The beds were so comfortable. I will say that the pull out bed may need replaced because it did fall through the metal bars, but my kids did not complain. During the adult happy hour every night, the kids selected a game from the front desk and we sat at the farm table to play. That was fun for all of us. The breakfast buffet was a nice treat every morning! The hotel was very quiet during the week with mostly business guests, but towards the end more families arrived. We will be returning! Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I largely agree with many of the other reviews - the room is clean and big, there is a free hot breakfast, easy to get DVD movies and the hotel is a 4 minute drive from both the legoland and the beach. It is also just off I-5 so it is supereasy to jump on and off the highway.

But the hotel is literally next to a gas station on one side and the coaster train station on the other side. I was woken up a couple of times by the horn of the train as it passed through the area and the train runs through at least every hour until 10 pm.

So if you are going to Carlsbad just to hang out at Legoland, I recommend staying at one of the hotels near legoland. We like the Grand Pacific Palisades - you can get huge 2 bedroom suites for nearly the same price that we paid at the West Inn. The rooms and amenities are not nearly as nice, but you can walk to Legoland and it is quiet!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigLeagueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

It is so nice to stay somewhere where all the staff seem to be enjoying their work and really pleased you are staying with them. We came back to West Inn and Suites for our sixth anniversary and were greeted in the room with ballons and chilled champaign. Even with children around (they are very close to Legoland) the doors and walls were thick enough to make it completely quiet in our room. This is our third stay here and likely not our last.

Room Tip: We haven't had a bad room here so I can't be of much help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Saw the good reviews so decided to take a chance. I can see why the reviews were all good. The room was great and the service was excellent. The free breakfast was very good and so were the cookies and milk at night. We especially enjoyed the free happy hour fro 5 to 6. This hotel was very welcoming and we enjoyed every minute. A great value also.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pagan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We recently visited West Inn & Suites as a family of 5. My children are 4, 6, and 8 years old. We started our holiday at the Legoland Hotel for the first couple of nights and planned to transfer to the West Inn & Suites because of the better price and free breakfast. Even though we loved our stay at the Legoland Hotel we are so glad we switched hotels.

My husband feels this was the best hotel we have ever stayed at. He loved that all the rooms had king beds. This made it so much easier with 3 little kids. There was a pool and hot tub. The pool was kept at a warm temperature which made it awesome for an October visit. They had plenty of towels, awesome life jackets for the kids, refreshments by the pool, and some pool toys. The free breakfasts had plenty of selection and it alternated so you were not eating the same thing every morning on a longer stay. My husbands favorite part was the complimentary fresh cookies and milk in the evenings. He looked forward to that.

I was very impressed with the staff. They had a free shuttle which was prompt and accommodating. They picked us up outside of their regular hours with a smile on their face. They had a library of books to enjoy, complimentary free dvd's that you can take back to the room and watch on the dvd player. The rooms had a large fridge, coffee maker and microwave. Everything was very clean. My husband likes his privacy so we never asked for our room to be cleaned but they still left a basket of clean towels and replacement bathroom amenities by our door. They have a small "pantry" of items to buy in case you need anything. Refreshments, common medicines, etc. The hotel itself provided a stress-free, cozy environment that was very accommodating and accepting of young children.

The hotel Bistro West which is associated with the hotel is AMAZING, and I highly recommend. It is reasonably priced considering the amazing service and food quality.

For those considering Legoland Hotel or West Inn & Suites, heres my opinions. Legoland Hotel was more expensive, the restaurants also more expensive, and with no free breakfast options. The hotel was designed with kids in mind. My kids loved the interactiveness of the hotel. They could play legos in the lobby, dance in the elevator, and go and hug lego mascots every time they turned around. It was right outside the Legoland gates so you didn't have to get in a shuttle to arrive, and you got early entrance into Legoland (for only a handful of rides). The rooms at Legoland had a bunk bed with trundle which was great for 3 kids, but the "adult bed" wasn't that great. The themed rooms made the rooms very interesting though and kids loved playing with the legos in the room provided by hotel. The Legoland pool was zero entry and had a Lifeguard. She tended to yell at people a lot though. As a mom, I felt more stressed at the Legoland Hotel. Common areas were way busier (lobby, restaurants, etc) My kids were just more hyper and stimulated all the time. There was no quiet place. No hot tub at the end of the day. It was an "experience" in itself to stay at the hotel, and my kids loved it, but "2 nights was enough".
If your kids are LEGO fans then i would still experience Legoland Hotel for a night or two.
If you have children that need some quiet time, or react negatively to too much stimulation I would not recommend Legoland Hotel.

West Inn was amazing, and I wish they had them in every city we visit. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifergermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The West Inn in Carlsbad, CA, the place to get a good night sleep in clean, comfortable beds. The staff was polite, always smiling and helpful. My Mom is a vegan and they prepared food items for her that were not on the regular menu that day. The card reader for my door was not working to open the door. In no time, the repair person was there, had the battery changed and scanned a set of new cards. Could not ask for better service. Never making any excuses. A unique and convenient place to stay off I-5. You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: The room you choose depends on how many king size beds you want in your room. But the beds are abso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soekme2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
4.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Property: West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4343
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Inn & Suites Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TravelClick so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing