We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Cons - Hyatt House across the street was less expensive and more like a suite having a full kitchen. Our "suite" did not have a door separating the bedroom and living area. It's a hallway that separates the two. That hallway also has the bathroom off it.

Pros - extremely nice decor. Everything is either new or upgraded. More upscale than we needed. < 10 minutes to Legoland. Food in the restaurants next to it was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJTKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    149
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
719
142
22
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the Memorial day weekend. Our stay was five fabulous nights. To start our check in was smooth. The staff was super friendly, and told me everything in a non rushed way...well let me back up, because it was a holiday weekend we were on the waiting list prior to our reservation. The called us and allowed us a day to decide if we wanted it...ok. we got an upgrade to a corner suit. Which was great my husband likes to watch tv late and I like to sleep. Anyway the morning breakfast was great (included) coffee was good service too! Room A+. The have their own 5 star restaurant...and bistro. We ate at both. $$$. Food was fresh. Service was good. What I ordered at both places taste wise was so so...I will give the restaurants one more try...overall fantastic trip great hotel!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dolores0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place is great for people who have families that are visiting the San Diego area to go to Lego Land, Sea world, etc. The hotel is very well kept and clean, the staff is very friendly. The breakfast was very good. We would stay here again overnight if just passing through, we would stay longer than that though.Not the greatest place for romantic get aways. The room views are little to be desired and its quite aways set back from the beach area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Thanks tripadvisor for another great find. Would not have booked here had it not been for the overwhelming number of positive reviews posted. We stayed 3 nights in a King Suite with our 5 and 1 year olds. Everything was fine/great and met our needs. Yes, the property is very close to the I-5 and the train tracks - thus you have some noise - but other reviewers wrote about that so we were prepared - no surprises. The location is perfect - very close drive to the beach (and Carlsbad village) and the shuttle to Lego land saved us $30 in parking. All the amenities were appreciated, pool was great, cookies at night, free dvd's, hot breakfast every day, and they loaned us beach chairs, toys, and towels (all FREE). We found all the staff to be very attentive and helpful. The Lego land hotel was out of our budget and this seemed to be a great alternative - we are SO glad we found, my husband and I actually preferred putting some space between the park and our hotel after being there all day.... Restaurants on site are nice (but pricey). We ordered from Pizza Shuttle one night (great find! yum!) and visited the Fish House (ok) another.
We never plan a trip without tripadvisor and our great stay at West Inn just confirms why! Excellent place for family's.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in a King Suite (one bed). hotel provided pack n play and 5 yr old slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a trip to San Diego. We stayed at the West Inn for 2 nights and we loved it! The staff was amazing - friendly and helpful. They offer very nice services - a decent breakfast, a nice pool and hot tub, beautiful grounds, shuttle service to Legoland (saves you the cost of parking and the shuttle driver was full of great information), shuttle service to the beach (complete with towels, beach toys, boogie boards, etc). We checked out in the 4th of July and they had a whole basket of red, white & blue beads, tattoos, glow sticks and stickers for the guests. The whole place was decorated with flags and bunting and looked adorable. Just such a personal experience over chains!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We found this hotel on trip adviser, but were not as pleased with the experience as others have been. For perspective, we usually stay at (and review) Westin, Hilton, Hyatt--only 4 star hotels.

first the positive:
comfortable bed with nice linens
spacious room and bathroom
pleasant pool/jacuzzi area, though lots of traffic noise
very clean
breakfast was o.k.--eggs were tasteless though and strange texture

the not so positive:
the traffic noise from our second floor room was unacceptable--also there was a fog horn all night making sleep difficult. Train noise was audible at night.
we had booked a king room--asked to change to two queens. first time ever not to have our request honored. Perhaps there weren't any available, but the receptionist didn't bother to check--which most hotels would do out of courtesy.
things were not in working order. We had to call to get the shower head fixed. The sink didn't drain well. The response was quick, but these things should have been checked before.

If you're not sensitive to noise, this would be a nice place. But it is not a 4 star hotel overall. I'd rate it more like a holiday innthan like a hilton.

One good lunch delivered poolside from Bistro West. Good dinner at Dinis on the waterfront.

Room Tip: I don't know if any rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anon03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My family and I have stayed here twice. It's clean, caters to families, but has solid construction. The beds are kings, and we had a room with two kings on both stays. The pool is great for the kids.

The buffet breakfast is good. And the restaurant on property is delicious.

They also provide complementary shuttles to and from Legoland.

This staff are exemplary, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Property: West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4343
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Inn & Suites Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TravelClick so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing