We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly rated? A decent value for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It was convenient enough to Legoland, which is why we were there. The hotel doesn't actually have a driveway of its own (it is tucked between a storage lot and a bank parking lot; the view from our room overlooked the storage buildings) and accessibility in or out of the lot was only from one direction (i.e. no matter how we went, it seemed we were constantly waiting for green turn arrows so we could make a u-turn). The pool area was clean, and the hot tub and pool were both heated to comfortable temperatures. Breakfast was okay, but probably not as good as the Homewood Suites next door (mixed fruit salad was lacking, eggs were dull despite the sign saying there were western-style omelets, had to wait for open seats). But where things really lacked here was in sleep comfort: the beds were soft and all of the pillows were tiny, wrapped tightly in their cases to compensate for being entirely too thin (just because we didn't complain doesn't make it acceptable).

Room Tip: We had picked this hotel, in part, so the kids could watch airplanes take off and land at the airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonthlyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks for writing your review on TripAdvisor! So sorry to hear that your stay was less than excellent, our goal here at the hotel is to make every stay the best one of your trip. Since we do share a driveway with the Homewood Suites, it does get a little confusing getting in and out of our parking lot. You shouldn't have to ask for comfort and we agree, that's something that is expected. We try our best to make every room the most comfortable, with mattresses designed specifically for Hampton Hotels, as well as our pillows, our goal is to make your stay comfortable. Hopefully you will give our hotel another try the next time you stay in Carlsbad!

-Leslie Plummer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hampton is the most consistent hotel where the rooms are always clean and I sleep comfortably. If you have stayed at one Hampton Inn, you will know exactly what to expect. Pet friendly, too. And it is always nice to have a warm breakfast waiting when you are in a hurry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you very much for your brand loyalty. Hampton Inn, especially the Hampton Inn Carlsbad, work very hard at making our guests feel comfortable. We also understand the importance of consistency. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the area. Please call the hotel directly for special deals and promotions. 760.431.2225

-Leslie Plummer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

for a family with kids it's for a family with kids its ok- they make you write 200 words so now I am sorry I agreed to this survey... I hope this enough-- the breakfast was ok still need more-- this is a pain in the butt.... get the top floor or beware of noise

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks so much for staying with us during your trip. We appreciate your feedback and take comments very seriously whether good or bad. We want all our guest to have excellent here at the Hampton Inn Carlsbad.

We were able to educate our front desk staff, especially in guest requests and their needs to make all our guest have a comfortable stay. We would like to invite you back whenever you are back in the area to give you and your family the best experience at Hampton Inn Carlsbad.

-Leslie Plummer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good. Clean Rooms (Need to dust furniture thoroughly). Furniture slightly worn. Terrible pillows. Dim lighting in room. Friendly staff. Different variety of breakfast every morning. Close to attractions (Legoland, Flower Fields, Pacific Ocean, Golf courses, etc.), food, fuel, and shopping (Costco, Premier Outlets, etc.). Approximatelt 30 minutes from San Diego. Also directly across from airport. Overall good experience. Would stay here again if a lower rate were available.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks for giving us a wonderful review! We have read your comments about the rooms being outdated, and we are getting ready to start our quarterly deep clean of all the rooms and our property. So the next time you stay here with us, all of our rooms will have a new fresh look! If you need any reservation assistance in the future, just give us a ring at the hotel and we would love to help!

-Leslie Plummer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Arthur and Ashley are super nice and made our stay perfect. Hospitality was incredible . Arrived at 1:30am and Arthur made us feel like we owned the place. Arrived around 6:30 after spending the day at LegoLand to Fresh Baked Chocolate Chip Cookies where Ashley even went out of her way to get a glass of some nice cold milk for me to go with them. Have been a Hilton Honors member for over 5 years , stayed in plenty of Hotels but never had an experience like this .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jregua1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Wow! I absolutely love when I hear about our Hamptonality shining through! There is no greater joy in hospitality than seeing your guests happy!
Here at the Hampton Inn Carlsbad we set a goal to make all of our guests feel as comfortable as home (minus having to clean up after yourself). I will be sharing your review with our entire staff, to recognize Arthur and Ashley.
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Hampton Inn Carlsbad and thank you for being a Hilton Honors Member. We hope to have you as our guest once more. Please call the hotel directly to assist on your next reservation. We would LOVE to help!

-Samantha Lopez-Marshall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent 30,000 points, which I think is excessive, but the staff bent over backwards to help us. We had a problem adding an extra day because of the census but Arthur was able to get it resolved. Ilie even brought me a little birthday cake and card which I thought was very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Hampton Inn Carlsbad. We appreciate your loyalty to not only the hotel but to Hilton Honors as well. When staying with a Hilton brand you do earn points through Hilton Honors. Those points can be redeemed for free nights at any Hilton hotel. All hotels have their own level, which ranges from 1 to 10. On the tenth level, a free night is exchangeable for 95,000 points.
We are offering a promotion to receive double points when reserving your room. This would help rack up points to be able to comfortably book a room on your Hilton Honors points.
I am happy that we were able to accommodate your stay for as long as you needed it. But ever more happy, that you chose to spend your special day with us. We try to make every guest feel as comfortable as possible. I will be sharing your review with the staff. I am sure they will be pleased.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit. And again, thank you for staying with the Hampton Inn Carlsbad.

-Samantha Lopez-Marshall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The rooms were clean, comfy, roomy, business oriented. Multiple accessible power outlets so I didn't have to move furniture in order to plug in my phone charger and laptop. Lobby was clean. Complimentary breakfast and wifi. Staff was very polite and helpful. I recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Courtney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Taking the time out of your day to review your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Carlsbad on TripAdvisor, really means a lot to us. We try to make all of our guests feel as comfortable as possible. That includes providing convenient outlets, so you do not have to stretch out all over the room just to use your computer and phone at the same time. I am happy that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary full buffet style breakfast and our complimentary internet access as well.
We look forward to having you back as a guest. Please call the hotel directly at 760.431.2225 to assist on your reservations.

-Samantha Lopez-Marshall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
3.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#22 of 36 in Carlsbad
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £76 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing