We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vacation on west coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
CAN
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good vacation on west coast”
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Had a 6 night - 7 day vacation on west coast
Hotel includes breakfast hot & cold
Rooms include stove/dishwasher/fridge - two lcd tv's
Also managers special reception dinner - includes two dishes and wine/beer
Very friendly staff and clean room/foyer
5 minutes from legoland - 30 minutes from seaworld - 45 minutes from disneyland
Close to shopping on Paseo de note drive
Rental car company was across from hotel
Beautiful view of coast and mountains/hills
Highly recommend to travelers with young family to stay in Carlsbad California

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    258
    73
    26
    27
See reviews for
695
102
34
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My partner and I were at the hotel due to a difficult circumstance. Our dog was very ill and had to undergo a treatment not available to us in Las Vegas, but available in Carlsbad. From start to finish, the hotel was wonderful during a terrible time. Upon check-in, the reservation was made for the wrong day. The front desk clerk worked to immediately remedy the problem. Additionally, as we did not know how long the treatment would take, she froze our rate for an extended period when we explained the reason for our stay.

The room was basically a small one-bedroom apartment. It was immaculate with a small kitchen equipped with dishes. Of note, maids would empty the dishwasher if dishes were clean or load them if dishes were dirty. They did a great job re-stocking and keeping the room clean.

Furnishings were modern and comfortable. I had to return to Las Vegas during the week, but at least had peace of mind that I was leaving my partner and dog in a nice place.

Breakfast is served daily and dinner is served on weeknights. The food is not gourmet, but actually pretty good. Beer and wine are also served.

When our dog was not responding how she should have to the treatments, and it was time to bring her home to be comfortable, the hotel was incredibly understanding. My partner was given a last-minute check-out.

I highly recommend the hotel for both its amenities and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles Area
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights & had a good experience overall. The place was spotless, well-kept, the staff friendly & the free food was very decent. The walls (at least in our room) were thin however. The first night we were awoken by the couple next door at 2 am playing the TV (and I sleep with earplugs)... During the early afternoon when our little one was trying to nap, it was very noisy from the cleaning people cleaning in rooms across the hall & next door (especially the vacuum). Though our room was on the 3rd floor it faced the interior courtyard between the buildings where the pool was & there were some kids having fun in the pool & their voices were VERY loud in the room, despite us being about as far away as possible. We would definitely stay here again, but in the future I'd request a room that overlooked the parking lot (versus the courtyard), perhaps at the back end of the building.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Currie
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We found this hotel on line and liked the pictures and food and beverage inclusive offering. It turned out to be as advertised, and was solid all around. Food is fine, not great- but offers good value

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LeroyGorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Great stay at this hotel. Building is fairly new, so rooms are in excellent condition. Staff does a great job keeping rooms and common areas clean. The staff is the nicest staff I've recently experienced. Everyone from the front desk to the maintenance staff smiles, says hello and makes you feel welcome. We stayed in a 2 queen bed suite which worked out well for us and the kids. Having a separate bedroom with a door is nice so that we can stay up once the kids go to sleep. The location of the hotel is good - close to legoland and restaurants and shops. Really a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JzW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We only stayed one night at this place and it wasn't cheap but I enjoyed every minute of it
The room is spacious, ours had a separate tv room with a queen size sofa bed, the kitchen has this huge microwave and huge conventional oven, bigger than those in my own kitchen, fridge was also quite big, amenities were the best (Neutrogena, one of my favourite brands on their shampoo and soap etc), at the reception was RACHEL who welcomed me and was helpful and friendly. Then the porter DANIEL was also very helpful
The swimming pool was great, clean, the whole building is well kept.
I wish we had found this place earlier and were able to spend a few more nights there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We were travelling from Australia on our honeymoon with a young (1 1/2 years) child, we looked at reviews and websites for great value accomodation for hours upon hours, and we kept coming back to this fantastic place. Upon reading the reviews we felt it was quite apparent that this many people cannot be wrong and thankfully we did stay at Homewood Suites. I personally cannot fault this place!! We stayed here for 5 days. Every person in this accomodation is pleasant and go out of their way to say hello, smile, help in any which way they can. This makes us feel safe and that our stay is important. The cleaners are very helpful, we came back to our room each day with the beds freshly made, rubbish removed, new towels, my sons soft toy was even placed on the pillow, its the little touches like this that makes you feel at home, especially when you are so far away from your friends and family in an unfamiliar place. The high speed internet was great, especially when keeping in touch with family and friends on our stay. We Tried the dinner service once which was bbq night, which also included beer and wine. There were things like Spaghetti and meatballs, Tacos, HOt Dogs, Tortellini, Cheeseburgers, cheese ravioli and chicken Parmesan. The breakfast is Incredible. Every morning for three hours there is Eggs, Sausages, ham, Yoghurt, Mini Muffins, Bagels, Toast, Make your own Waffles (my favourite), 3 different cereals, porridge, Apples, Bananas, Potato bites, along with all the condiments you could dream of, grated cheese, chutney, syrups, butter, cream cheese. There is tea, coffee, hot chocolate making facilities along with Orange Juice, Apple Juice, milk, Iced Tea, Coke etc what more could you ask for in a breakfast??? Although I would have loved to have seen Bacon : ) This is all included in your room rate. This saved us a heap of money, and the fact that you can go down and get food for yourself and your guests to take back to your room and enjoy is great. The laundry facilities are good, washers and dryers for next to nothing to use (around $1) and washing powder available cheaply too at the shop in the lobby. The shop in the lobby caters for everyone they have . drinks, icecreams, microwave meals, toiletries, chocolates. Our room has two double beds, which are very comfortable, in a seperate room adjacent to the hand basin, the room has ample storage for suitcases etc, along with its own television, telephone, clock radio and full sized ironing board and Iron.
The Bathroom with Toilet, shower and bath is seperate which is great. This means that someone can be showering while another is doing hair etc. The seperate sitting area/dining is excellent, plenty of sitting room, another flat screen television along with a full size fridge ( very handy for the little ones milk, juice, food), microwave, stove, dishwasher and cooking utensils( there is even drainage paper lol). Everything is very clean and quite modern throughout the hotel. There is even ready to pop popcorn/tea/coffee in the kitchen on arrival. The pool is a good size which is heated. The spa is lovely!!! There is towels ready for your use by the pool which I think is a great idea. There is ample parking.. Honestly you will not find any better value for money than this place, Im not quite sure why this is a 3 star hotel, It has everything you could possibly need and if it doesnt im sure the staff would go that extra mile to help you out. The photos of this hotel do not do it justice, its so much nicer. The staff in this place need to be highly commended for what they do, they do their jobs so well, Thank you. I hope I havent missed anything out : ) See you guys again soon

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaggysonlyshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.7 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
656 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.3 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Address: 2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 145 all-suite extended stay Hilton hotel in Carlsbad, California where life and work are balanced with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you want. Homewood Suites Carlsbad is centrally located near the extensive Carlsbad business parks and the city's landmark attractions, including LEGOLAND, McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), Camp Pendleton, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad Flower Fields and amazing beaches. With easy access to the freeway, the Homewood Suites Carlsbad hotel is just a few miles from other famous San Diego destinations such as the Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld, Del Mar Racetrack and fabulous golf courses. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Orange County, making it an ideal home base for a Southern California vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Homewood Carlsbad
Carlsbad Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing