We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but ....Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable but ....Noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this property for 4 nights. All of the employees were very helpful and courteous.
Our room was a one bedroom suite. It was spacious and modern. Great full size kitchen.
I tried for 3 days in a row to get a small pot to cook in to use on the stove top. It seemed like a huge ordeal for something so trivial.
Our room was on the 3rd floor and faced the front of the building. Unfortunately it sounded the Indy 500 was taking place right at our room. The main road is out front. There were no other rooms to change to.
One front desk clerk told me they had never had a complaint about the noise in those front facing rooms. Really hard to believe. The planes flying overhead were nothing compared to the traffic/road noise.
The breakfast was great and very handy to have. It can be very busy and hard to find a table sometimes.
We checked out a few days early and moved to another hotel.
Good hotel, but rooms are better facing the side, or back of property.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the front or main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear L A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your comments and your feedback. I’m so pleased to hear you found our staff to be so courteous and enjoyed your spacious suite. I am very sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced, particularly that the noise from the airport and main road were a disturbance to you during your stay with us. And I truly regret to hear you departed early due to it. We strive to ensure each of our guests experience a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are always willing to relocate guests to another room they find more comfortable if necessary. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Carlsbad area. Please contact me directly and I will personally ensure you are assigned in a quieter location. My email address is CarlsbadGM@ih-corp.com or phone number is (760) 431-2266 ext 5442.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    248
    71
    26
    25
See reviews for
667
97
31
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
450 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

this hotel is in a great location for legoland or the carlsbad beach area. It is new and modern and clean. Very quiet rooms with lots of space. The front desk staff are great; especially anthony and paul. they make your stay enjoyable. the breakfast included every day is a great value added service. i stay here every chance i get.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Imij,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments on TripAdvisor! Paul and Anthony will be so proud of your review and I will be sure to recognize them for their outstanding service! We do our best to make sure each and every guest have the same wonderful experience you had! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast as well! We hope your travels bring you back to the Homewood Suites Carlsbad again soon!

Sincerely,

Kim Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had a family of elephants above us and didn't sleep the whole first night. The manager in the morning did show concern about our stay so that was good but probably wouldn't stay there again. Although breakfast was complimentary and looked very good. It was all very low quality and I did expect better for one a Hilton and two the amount of the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Barbara V,

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites Carlsbad and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor . I am very sorry to hear about your disappointment during your stay with us, especially that the quality of breakfast did not meet your expectations for a Hilton hotel. We do rotate our menu daily offering a variety of breakfast foods in an attempt to meet all of our guest’s preferences. I hope that you will return the next time you are in Carlsbad and give us the opportunity to serve you in the future. Please contact me directly and I will personally assist you with pre-assigning a room to ensure a quiet and comfortable location. My email is CarlsbadGM@ih-corp.com or I can be reached at (760) 431-2266 ext 5442. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I felt the stay was great, it was very clean and comfortable. The only item I was unhappy about was the fact we were placed right next to the hotel laundry facilities and it was very noisy. I was very impressed with the service though when I called to order more towels, they were delivered in 5 min, excellent service and will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Jodi S,

Thank you for your recent stay at Homewood Suites Carlsbad! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and received exceptional service from our staff! I am, however, very sorry to hear that your room location fell below expectations. We hope that you will come visit us again, and allow us to assist you in selecting an ideal room location for your next stay!

Sincerely,

Kim Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was a repeat stay for me (Tuesday to Thursday). I always request a room away from noisy areas like elevator areas. I was given keys to a room on the 1st floor, and upon entering the room I discovered that it was in the process being made/refreshed (the bed was not made, and all the drawers to the dresser and kitchen areas were opened). I called the front desk from that room and informed them that my room was not made. They asked for me to return to the front desk and they would find another room for me. I collected all my luggage and walked back to the lobby.

I was then given keys to a room on the 2nd floor, walked to door, and inserted the keys they both registered up as red - no go. So for a 2ND TIME I WENT BACK DOWN TO THE LOBBY TO GET THEIR MESS CORRECTED.

A couple things that get me is: How hard is it to confirm the status of a room on their end, and second - is it really that difficult to burn two functioning rooms keys? Sounds like a bunch of incompetent front desk agents working there.

I'm going to reconsider staying here next time.

Room Tip: pack light - you'll be walking back and forth a lot if your room/keys have issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onebadgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear onebadgolfer,

I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. As a repeat guest, your experience with us is critical, and I truly regret you had such a poor experience at check-in. This is not typical of our hotel and staff. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay.

Your business is truly valued by us and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Homewood Suites Carlsbad. Please contact me directly and I will personally ensure you receive a room that meets your expectations. My direct number is (760) 494-5442 or email CarlsbadGM@ih-corp.com.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and I hope to hear from you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kim Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We love hotels with a separate living room and breakfast. The Carlsbad Homewood Suites was great for our long weekend. Many thanks to Maryrose and Brittany who helped me make the last minute reservation for 4 rooms for our family.

The breakfast was great each day. Unfortunately, it was VERY busy on the weekend and more staff would be helpful in keeping everything fresh and cleaning off tables.

Our room was not refreshed for 2 of the 4 days we were there. Again, the hotel was very busy but we did leave each day early enough that we would expect to have maid service.

We were there for the dinner only one night and it was great...more than enough to satisfy!

Overall, we continue to love Homewood Suites!

Room Tip: Our room was on the outside so we could hear the airplanes from the airport across the street but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommaB6119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear MommaB6119,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton in Carlsbad, CA! I agree that having a separate bedroom is wonderful, especially when traveling with a family! I'm very pleased to hear you received excellent service from Maryrose and Brittany and they were able to book four rooms for you at the last minute. I'll be sure to thank them and let them know how appreciative you are! Our daily complimentary breakfast definitely does tend to get a little on the crowded side, particularly on the weekends. I appreciate your suggestion for having more staff on hand to ensure freshness and to assist with cleanup, as we are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ experience with us. I'm very surprised to hear that you didn't receive housekeeping service each day of your stay. It is certainly not typical for rooms to not receive housekeeping service. I apologize for the inconvenience but appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

I am pleased to hear you continue to love Homewood Suites and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Carlsbad!

Sincerely,

Kim Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here last month and loved it. I almost always have to get 1-bedroom suites anywhere I travel so my two boys can take naps during the day. Clean bedroom and kitchen was very functional. Pretty close to Carlsbad and the Outlets so it was very convenient. The pool was right outside the window but we didn't go inside. The complimentary breakfast was very crowded, but there are more than enough tables to accommodate families.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Go H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Go H,

Thank you for your review! Our two-room suites are perfect for families traveling with small children! We make every effort to ensure that the Homewood Suites in Carlsbad feels more like a home away from home, rather than just another typical hotel stay. I am so pleased to hear that we are on the right track! We are glad to hear you found our location to be convenient and hope to have you stay with us again the next time you visit Carlsbad! Thank you again for taking the time to share your positive experience with us on TripAdvisor!

Sincerely,

Kim Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.4 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.3 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Address: 2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 145 all-suite extended stay Hilton hotel in Carlsbad, California where life and work are balanced with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you want. Homewood Suites Carlsbad is centrally located near the extensive Carlsbad business parks and the city's landmark attractions, including LEGOLAND, McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), Camp Pendleton, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad Flower Fields and amazing beaches. With easy access to the freeway, the Homewood Suites Carlsbad hotel is just a few miles from other famous San Diego destinations such as the Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld, Del Mar Racetrack and fabulous golf courses. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Orange County, making it an ideal home base for a Southern California vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Homewood Carlsbad
Carlsbad Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing