We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed here with my two children on a recent trip to the beach. We loved this hotel. It was clean and comfortable. Great breakfast every morning and dinner Mon. - Thurs. With drinks. What could be better? The hotel is in a great area, not a lot of traffic and easy to get to the beach. Took us 10 minutes or so each morning. We loved it and would stay here again.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    248
    71
    26
    25
See reviews for
667
97
31
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Let me start by saying the staff was AMAZING! There were select people that made our stay awesome, albert (i believe was his name...) brought me to tears with his hospitality! Helped us feel at ease when we had a loud resident above us late at night. Free dinner and free breakfast was unheard of.... Free shuttle service within I believe four miles of hotel GREAT CLEAN room! So comfortable. Free coffee :) I loved it! If I could live there I would!

Room Tip: Choose the top floor corner unit (wheel chair room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had to stay at this hotel after selling our home & prior to moving to our new home. We stayed a total of 53 nights. Staff was friendly & always helpful. Any time we needed help with anything our needs were met. At one point we had to evacuate due to the fires close by and we were not charged for that night. Breakfast is included 7 days per week. Lots of choices and always something healthy. Dinner included 4 nights per week & includes beer & wine. Food was pretty good and "comfort food". A dinner meal was only repeated once during our entire stay! Very dog friendly as well. Highly recommend this hotel for extended stays as well as a family trip. Only complaint is they need to add additional washers & dryers! Didn't care for the automatic lights in bathroom area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back and upper floors as when guests stayed above our room it sounded like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsdogz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWSGSR, Guest Service Agent at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much luvsdogz99 for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your extended stay with us. We want our guests to feel at home when they stay with us and it is important that the daily complimentary breakfast and Welcome Home Reception bring those kind of home-like comforts. Please come stay with us again next time you are in Carlsbad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is not fancy but it is clean and good location. If you are staying there for a Chopra event at La Costa please note that the shuttle does not start running until 8:00 a.m. in the morning and most of the events at Chopra start by 7:00 a.m.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank LeahEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWSGSR, Guest Service Agent at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you LeahEdmonton for your review! We are glad we were able to accommodate you during your visit to the Chopra Center. It is true that our shuttle does not start until 8am in the morning, but we are looking into possibly adjusting that in the future if it is in demand. Thank you again for the review and we hope to have you stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was traveling with my husband and 3 children for a week getaway to the beach. This property was great! Rooms provided that extra space we need and the kitchen/seperate sitting area was great. It took us less than 10 minutes to get to the beach, we used the free shuttle to drop us off at Legoland, and the Carlsbad outlet mall was down the street. There are plently of eateries nearby, but we found the free breakfast (cereal, make your own waffles, oatmeal, eggs, sausage/bacon, fruit, and bagels/toast/pastries were good enough for our family and the dinner M-TH with wine/beer for us was great. The kids actually said they liked the food and they can be kind of picky. The pool area, although small, was enjoyable with a ping-pong table and hot tub after a long day running around. I would definately stay there again and all the staff we encountered was friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, entrance B and had no issues with noise. We did have a neighbor that had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWSGSR, Guest Service Agent at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you Melanie T for such a great review! You are officially our 500th reviewer! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that your family was happy and comfy. While there are many delicious dining options in Carlsbad we are glad you chose to dine with us. We hope to have you again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Absolutely great stay here. Room was spacious with an almost full size kitchen, complimentary dinner mon-thurs (beer and wine included), huge breakfast spread. Bed was super comfy. Love that the rooms are a true one bedroom so we can put the kids to bed and close the door to our room :) We were just passing through the area, so can't comment much on location except that it was right off the 5 and everyone seemed to stay there to visit Legoland.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank brolls286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWSGSR, Guest Service Agent at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you brolls286 for the fantastic review! We are beyond thrilled that you had a chance to enjoy many of the amenities that we offer like our Welcome Home Reception and our comfy and roomy suites. While we wish you could have stayed longer, we are glad you came home to us for your short trip. We hope to have you again next time you are in Carlsbad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I decided to stop here for two nights between work trips rather than fly all the way home back east.

Right across the road from one of the many public beached (where people swim, surf and fish!) is this peaceful little hotel. Restaurant was decent and peaceful, internet worked well, and my room had an awesome ocean view. A 10 minute drive up the road puts yous downtown Carlsbad with many little indie shops, delicious restaurants, bike and beach rentals, and when I was there, a farmers market! There is also a path along the many public beaches that runs right in front of the hotel.

My only two complaints:
1 - It's an older hotel so the walls are a little thin and you can hear everything, so if you are noise sensitive at all this may not be for you.
2 - There isn't anything around the hotel, so a car is essential if you want anything more than the hotel food.

I enjoyed my stay so much that my other half and I are considering this for a vacation spot next year :)

Room Tip: Oceanview room is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.4 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.3 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Address: 2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 145 all-suite extended stay Hilton hotel in Carlsbad, California where life and work are balanced with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you want. Homewood Suites Carlsbad is centrally located near the extensive Carlsbad business parks and the city's landmark attractions, including LEGOLAND, McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), Camp Pendleton, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad Flower Fields and amazing beaches. With easy access to the freeway, the Homewood Suites Carlsbad hotel is just a few miles from other famous San Diego destinations such as the Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld, Del Mar Racetrack and fabulous golf courses. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Orange County, making it an ideal home base for a Southern California vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Homewood Carlsbad
Carlsbad Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing