We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Vacation of My Entire Life”
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Vacation of My Entire Life”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The Beach Terrace Inn far exceeded all my expectations in every way. Not only was the staff welcoming, friendly and accomodating, the hotel itself is beautiful and right on the beach! The moment we walked through the front door, our bags dropped and the balcony opened. The room was immaculate and the views were stunning! The beach was right outside our balcony and the tide washed up almost every night of our stay! So nice to fall asleep to the sound of the waves.
The continental breakfast is served in the beautiful guest lounge and the staff is always there to share a smile and make sure your stay is as pleasant as you need it to be. The pool and hot tub are a treat, since they both look out over the ocean and the beach access is so convenient!
I can not say enough good things about this hotel and their staff. If you are looking for a remarkable beach front hotel with exceptional service, then this is the place for you. I can't wait to get back. It's great for families and for couples - Legoland was a short drive and it was so nice to have this place to come 'home' to after a long day at the park. We spent 4 nights at the Beach Terrace Inn and I am counting the days until I return. My hat is off to the exceptional staff and service I received during my spring break vacation! Thank you!

Room Tip: Check out their web page for specials!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationVixen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    187
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
470
552
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Outstanding location right on the beach. The room was clean and well appointed. The shower is great.
A phone book in the room would have been welcomed. The breakfast could do with a bit more fresh fruit.
Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I just returned from a 3 night stay at Beach Terrace Inn. I took my mother there for her 86th Birthday, and she loved it. She said it was the best place she has every stayed. Our room/suite, #27 was on the 3rd floor (top floor) and we had a 180 view of the ocean, which was only feet away. The room was large and beautifully appointed, the bed was King size and very comfortable. The patio and view were what made it over the top however. Flocks of Pelicans would fly by so close that we felt we could reach out and touch them. We could see dolphins swiming in the surf. The sunset was spectacular. The room had a large flat screen TV. Because we were on the 3rd floor and there was no other access to our patio, we slept with the sliding door open and it felt like we were sleeping outside on the beach, the crashing waves and surf just lulled us to sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms 25-29 face the ocean and all have 180 views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Big rooms in a small newly remodeled hotel right on a beach. Had an ocean view room above the pool, which could be a little noisy at night. Pool closes at 10 pm. Continental breakfast had a very good selection. Within walking distance to many restaurants. Wouldve been nice to have a restaurant on property. Not much shopping per my wife. Beach was very clean and not too crowded. Decent pool overlooking water with small hot tub. Big bathroom with giant shower BUT walk in with glass panel so no privacy and bathroom door doesn't close completely because of design. This is nitpicking because room and hotel with its location were all terrific. Recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegasfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Great location, but telling people you don't charge for extra people and than charge them $25 for roll away is not honest. $400 a night and they can't give you a roll away!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtadame, General Manager at Beach Terrace Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thanks very much for your feedback. You are right that we do not charge for additional people in the room. In fact, all our rates are the same for 1-4 people and include breakfast, free WiFi, newspapers and complimentary parking. However, when additional beds need to be brought into a room, we apply a charge. We are not the least expensive hotel, but strive to always represent excellent value. To be sure we weren't off base in this aspect, we shopped in the area to verify our rollaway charge was customary and found it in line with other hotels in Carlsbad. We also found most of our competitors charge more after 2 people in a room (here it's up to 4 before an additional charge is added). Although we feel our additional bed charge is fair and reasonable, that does nothing to make you feel better about your stay. Please know your happiness with our hotel is very important to us and we'd like an opportunity to prove it. Please call me, Kent Zittlau, directly at 760-729-5951 at your earliest convenience so that we may discuss your concerns. I hope this won't deter you from visiting us again and look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed beach front from February 1-4, 2011. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Location, room size, amenities, value for service, friendly and helpful staff all meshed beautifully to make this the best part of our two week California winter vacation!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I can't say a bad thing about this place. For all who want a place that is on the beach and priced reasonably this is it. What a find. I spent hours looking for a place before traveling. Decided to check this place out.The picture do not do this place justice. We will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlatchkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
2.1 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.2 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Property: Beach Terrace Inn
Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing