We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Terrace Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ocean Palms Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$361
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,361)
Filter reviews
1,361 results
Traveller rating
1,085
195
52
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,085
195
52
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontcontinental breakfastsound of the wavesguest loungerooms are hugewithin walking distancefalling asleepoceanfront roomyogurtcarlsbad villagebeach chairs and umbrellasboogie boardsfull ocean viewno elevatorhard boiled eggsbeautiful roompool area
Filter
Updating list...
1,012 - 1,017 of 1,361 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The location right on the beach and a short walk to restaurants, bars, shops and other conveniences can't be beat. Plus free parking. The rooms are over large, nicely redone and the bathrooms are spa-like. When we asked to change rooms from partial ocean view to full view, the staff cheerfully switched us as soon as the room was available. Moved everything while we were out, watching for us to give us our new keys. The COMPLIMENTARY, YES FREE beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and beach toys for kids save a bundle. If they help you carry everything down like they did me, be sure to tip. I got the impression very few people do. A few more choices at breakfast would be nice and we did mistake the term "Guest Lounge" for a bar area when booking. But that's not a complaint. Lots and lots of stairs. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: One doesn't have to go with the "panoramic view", but for sure spring for the full ocean view rather that partial.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichandJan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We want to thank the staff at the Beach Terrace Inn!! Everyone was so friendly
and helpful. My husband brought me to Carlsbad for my 50th Birthday. When we
arrived, inside our hotel room was a beautiful note and a bottle of wine left by
the staff for my birthday. It was a wonderful surprise!!

The hotel, the views and the beach was beyond beautiful. I was born and raised
in California and miss being close to the beach now that we live in Nevada.
With our hectic schedules, we try to get to the beach at least once every year
or every other year. We have stayed at many different hotels up and down the
coast, but we both felt that Carlsbad and your hotel is by far the best!! I
just can't thank you all enough for the most wonderful stay!!
We will definitely be back!! M and M Seba

Room Tip: Cannot go wrong with the ocean front, the view is just beautiful!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here for one night with my family. The hotel is very nice, the rooms are clean and decorated well. Wi-fi worked fine. Continental breakfast in morning was nice. The location is fantastic. Felt that they could address 2 things and have a five star resort. One, upgrade the continental breakfast to a full one. It wouldn't cost much and it would allow me to leave my family there w/o a vehicle for a couple days (or older people that didn't want to drive to breakfast, but didn't want pastries and cereal every morning). Not a big issue at all and no deduction from rating. The one thing that did detract from the rating was the bathroom. For the price paid for the room, the minimum standard for the bathroom should be a door that closes all the way and has a lock. Because of the door handle type, the pocket bathroom door could only close within a 1/2" to 1" of being closed. If someone walked by the bathroom when you were at the sink, they see you and you see them. Might not be too great for families or new couples that want privacy. True, the shower and the toilet are around the corner from the sink, but the bathroom should really be an all-enclosed private area, not one where you have to hide around the corner to get privacy and hope no one opens the sliding door since they can see the empty sink area and not you hiding around the corner.

Room Tip: Good for solo travelers
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjmPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Our idea of a relaxing time at the seashore is sitting on the balcony of a hotel room with a glass of wine, just watching the ocean. After poring over listings and satellite photos for the S. Cal coast below Pendleton, we found our ideal spot at the Beach Terrace Inn. We had reserved an upper-floor oceanfront room, but a full house resulted in our being upgraded to the first floor where we got to watch the surf roll in straight toward us through our balcony’s plate-glass front. We were no more than 30 feet from the water line at high tide, with not even a public promenade in between like at some San Diego hotels. Despite having more expensive rooms (because of two king beds), the first floor had its disadvantages: it was less private because there were people sitting on the beach right in front of us during the day, we felt somewhat less secure about leaving the slider open while sleeping, and we had to climb three flights of stairs between street and room; but being able to sit and watch the surf at night more than made up for it. Otherwise we can confirm other posts about the BTI’s features: large rooms, luxurious bathrooms, comfy beds, clean accommodations, fast wifi, friendly staff, and a great continental breakfast (although we were somewhat disappointed at the unavailability of hard boiled eggs as advertised, leaving cream cheese for bagels or milk for cereal the only non-sugary sources of protein amid all the tempting local pastries). There’s also a 42-inch TV in the room, but who needs it when you’ve got the surf channel out on your balcony?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I've never rated a hotel on tripadvisor before but the Beach Terrace Inn was just THAT good I had to share. We just came back from a one-night stay and it was perfect. The beach is spectacular and very clean. We borrowed chairs, an umbrella and body boards from the hotel (they even have beach toys for the kids!). The staff were incredible -- it seemed like there was constantly someone available and happy to help with whatever we needed, we never had to wait for anything and everyone was SO friendly and helpful.

We had a corner upper oceanfront king and the room was even better than I could have imagined. I read a lot of the reviews on tripadvisor (and had high expectations as a result) but my expectations were exceeded in every way. It is literally RIGHT on the beach. We slept with our screen door open to listen to the ocean (which had the added bonus of keeping our 3- and 5-year-old early birds asleep until a decent hour) and the location just cannot be beat. The rooms are so huge you could fit several rollaways and still have a ton of space, and the decor is modern, clean and luxurious.

We walked into Carlsbad village and found a ton of cute shops and restaurants to eat at. Food was good, peoplewatching was fun, and it felt like we were miles away from home (even though we live in the area). Breakfast was delicious and you can't beat fresh fruits and pastries while watching the waves roll in. Just gorgeous.

I would recommend this to everyone, not just out-of-towners. It's perfect for a family friendly staycation -- so good we're planning to come back for a longer stay next month :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews