We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel on the beach!”
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

this hotel has very large rooms with ocean views. Few rooms have partial views, it's less interesting. The rooms are well-furnished with comfortable mattress and are super clean. There is a nice swimming pool and private access at the lovely beach.
There are many restaurants around where we can go by walk. The staff is helpful and friendly. It's a very nice place.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view may be more noisy depending of the people used it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuebecJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
There are newer reviews for Beach Terrace Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed for a long weekend in November. As others have mentioned, if you can swing it go for the Oceanfront room. Our room was very large and the view off the balcony was spectacular. Free parking, free internet and free breakfast are great perks for SoCal properties. Breakfast is of the continental variety and the internet can be spotty but the price is right. All interactions with staff were great and our room was clean. Will definitely be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adasaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a mixed review. If I could rate it in 2 halves the first half of my stay would be 2/5, second half 5/5.
The location of this hotel is amazing, right on the beach and a short walk to bars/shops/restaurants. We had a Beachfront room and it was huge which was great as we were travelling with our toddler. It was heaven lying in bed listening to the ocean, or sitting on the balcony watching the sunset over the ocean.
The pool area had very comfortable loungers and cabana beds, and you could borrow beach chairs/umbrellas.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and the complimentary continental breakfast was decent.
The air conditioner was very loud, thankfully we didn't need to have it on alot.

The only thing that was a huge let down was having to move rooms halfway through our stay due to the noise from the people above us, constantly stomping across the floor all hours of the night. (so loud it woke us up in the early hours several times) They were asked by the night staff to keep the noise down but they obviously had no regard for other guests. Half a day of our holiday was then spent moving to the top floor. We had requested a top floor room at the time of booking 3 months prior and on the phone before we arrived but we were told on arrival none were available.

We also had to ask next door to turn their TV down at midnight as it was so loud. I think some money needs to be invested in sound proofing to make it worth the £200 a night we paid.

Would I stay here again? No, but only because a top floor room is not guaranteed. We were told on check out that next time we would be allocated a room on the top floor but there seems to be no guarantee for this at the time of booking and I'm not willing to take the risk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missshell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Words can't describe how much we loved our stay. We stayed here for 6 days and everyday was better then the last. We had an oceanfront 2king bedroom. The room was huge! The beds were beyond comfortable and the pillows were amazing, even better if you wanted a certain kind of pillow all you had to do was press"0" and they brought you a pillow of your choice! I went with the body pillow!!! Our room felt like we were sleeping on the beach, often keeping the sliding door open to hear the waves crashing. The bathroom was beautiful, shower was spacious. In the morning, we walked up to the amazing breakfast spread and ate outside. What was even better, we left the do not disturb sign on the door, and instead of missing out on new towels and whatnot, they left it outside the door in a nice basket, so convient and lovely! We will be staying here every trip.!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jak2889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I love this property. I had the opportunity to spend a long weekend..after a very busy week..to relax and enjoy the beautiful corner oceanfront view room......great breakfast overlooking the Ocean..and close to the quaint loveliness of Carlsbad? The staff friendly and service oriented.
The room was large, bed comfortable..and I am a fanatic about luxurious linens and bedding..if it isn't like my bed at home, then I won't check in! Great view of oceann

Room Tip: Request corner ocean view room
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed here one night with a friend for a 'girls getaway' this past weekend, and it was amazing! We had a beautiful and very clean oceanfront room with 2 kings and, unlike some hotels that claim ocean views, this really was right on the beach overlooking the ocean. Our room had tons of space, and I liked that it had some comfortable armchairs and a table in addition to a desk with its own chair. There was also comfortable seating on the balcony. Another plus about the room was the counter with sink and fridge in the back of the room where we could store our drinks/leftover food. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel even offers different pillow choices. Bathroom also spacious and well-appointed, although there's no tub. The breakfast area was beautiful and had lots of cereal, pastry, and beverage options. The fruit selection was decent. I can't eat wheat, so I do wish there had been one or two options besides yogurt and fruit for me to eat (maybe they could throw in one type of gluten-free snack bar or some hard-boiled eggs?), but if you don't have any dietary restrictions, there are plenty of options. Service was also good--everyone was very friendly. One warning--there are lots of stairs! Overall, this is a great hotel and you won't regret staying here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank mskathlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at this property in 2012, and although not perfect, decided to try again.

This year it was just PERFECT. Our room #50 was a ADA Handicap room that I need and was just spotless and well equipped for every need. Very spacious as well. The ocean view and little patio made us feel very special and spoiled. The comfort of the bed and linens made were 5 star quality.

We love the simple, but elegant style of this hotel. Old fashion Beach Quality from the 60's. And the town of Carlsbad has done a nice job also making our visit appreciated.

Next fall, I want to spend more time and really unwind.

Thank you Chris and staff.

Room Tip: Room 50 was one of the best ADA rooms we have ever stayed, anywhere.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
667 reviews
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £225 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Carlsbad's only beachside hotel, the luxurious and delightfully private Beach Terrace Inn sits along the sandy coastline of Carlsbad State Beach. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to 70+ restaurants and entertainment venues within the charming Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while the famous sights of San Diego are a quick 30 minute drive south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing