We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The rooms are spacious and updated. Ask for an ocean view room with balcony. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The free continental breakfast was very good. Hotel also offers free parking which is rare nowadays. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view with balcony a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were eager to experience something close, but not far from home. Fortunately enough, the Beach Terrace Inn hit it right on the head. Upon arrival, we noticed it was the ONLY hotel in the vicinity on the actual water. Not a single block of cement comes between you and the beach. While managing to be a hidden gem but still within walking distance to local shops, this hotel offers privacy along with superb service. The front desk attendant was friendly, informative, professional, and extremely welcoming! We also met a very nice gentleman by the name of Mike who guided us to our room while carrying our luggage. He informed us that he would be more than willing to set up chairs for us on the beach, a gesture that could only come from a hotel that's primary foundation is customer service. My girlfriend and I came to enjoy some downtime, and we found that this hotel was worth every single penny! The room we selected was a balcony room on the 3rd level that gave us front view to the beach. Much to our surprise, we were greeted by a notecard and black book that informed us about our continental breakfast options, along with the opportunity to provide a request upon a variety of memory foam pillows. Can you believe that the bathroom's amenities were Bath and Body Works soap and lotion? Not to mention, there's only about five - eight baby steps that guide you out to the sandy shorefront. We were able to enjoy the sunset and sunrise in the comfort of our own room without any noisy neighbors or cigarette smoke obstructing our time. If you've ever wanted to stay on the beach, please, stop looking everywhere else and book a room here. They're worth every dollar - even if you can't afford a king size bed room, just booking any room permits fantastic opportunities for you and your traveling companion(s). We have never been more pleased, that we felt compelled to write this, only hours after we have left. Thank you for allowing us to stay here, we are definitely spreading the word and will now be making this an annual trip!

Room Tip: Any room is good, because this hotel is quaint enough to satisfy any budget, and anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allofourtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just finishing up a 2 day mini vacation to Carlsbad. Absolutely loved the amazing view from our 2nd story ocean front north corner room. Spend most of our time out on the balcony. The room was beautiful, but did have a little musty smell. A special "shout out" to Richard from the evening staff. Our first night we noticed our floor lamp light bulb was broken. When we called the front desk Richard showed up promptly, searched high and low until he found the unique energy saving bulb and replaced it for us! Thanks so much Richard! The hotel is a lovely hotel, but what makes it special is its proximatity to the ocean ( we estimated we were about 30 yards away from the waves). It is more than we've ever spent for a hotel room, but if you want to be lalled to sleep by waves and sit by a pool with a view of the ocean than this is the place for you. There are quite a few condos right on the beach for rent also, which is probably what we'll do the next time we come back, as this was a one time thing for us price wise. But if you don't mind spending $300+ per night, it's worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed @ Beach Terrace Inn on 5/22-5/24 2014. It was an amazing experience! We stayed in an Oceanview room with a balcony overlooking the ocean and partly the pool. From the staff to the awesome room and the pool area we can't say enough! We will be back! I can still hear those ocean waves crashing! :0)

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are phenomenal and cost less!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Regan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I was amazed with this hotel. For being fully booked I expected a crowded pool, beach and free continental breakfast. Was I surprised. It was not crowded. Our family had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The rooms are quite large with updated furnishings, beautiful, large upgraded bathrooms and a view to due for. I had a toddler and a teen and everyone had a great time. I WILL be back to this hotel again. I loved everything about it.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Kelli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

But when they jack the rate because of a holiday and won't even allow for a late check out then, well...

Nice people though and big comfy room with great mattress. The beach is beautiful white sand.

Breakfast is a continental style, nothing special but the attendants were lovely and right on top of everything.

I recommend this plaxe only when it is a normal rate and don't be abused because of the holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelRomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

From check in we were greeted pleasantly. We arrived an hour early and our room was ready. Upon entering the room it was one of those rare moments when the pictures on the website are exactly what you get.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LookFabFeelFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £154 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Carlsbad's ONLY beachside hotel, the luxurious and delightfully private Beach Terrace Inn sits along the sandy coastline of Carlsbad State Beach. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to 70+ restaurants and entertainment venues within the charming Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while the famous sights of San Diego are a quick 30 minute drive south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing