We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clap your hands”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“clap your hands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

this was an actual stand -up after the concert, clap your hands, or use your i-phone flashlight. Whatever you do to show it was a home run, the location, (of course) All the employees (4 stars...) the Room (amazing)... We traveled up to Newport Beach for a few days after staying here, and we stayed in an executive suite, @ the Marriott, & except for the size of the suite, our room #1029, at the Beach Terrace, was hands down far nicer, the staff is legit friendly and way more helpful, So forget the multi-billion dollar hotels and check this small (but not to small) inn out. You'll be happy you did..

Room Tip: # 1029.......corner suite was 8 feet up from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    186
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
469
547
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

During this stay, my travel partner said "Its hard to want to leave this perfection in pursuit of excitement". I couldn't argue - because the location WAS perfection. Room was clean and big! Incredible unobstructed Ocean view. As a comparison, I've paid much more on a per night basis for a small boutique hotel with nowhere near the incredible view and ocean front location. The room had only a small fridge, and no microwave. However, they serve a nice continental breakfast (which goes until 11 am!). Plus, there are so many great restaurants within walking distance and they have almost anything you'd need for beach fun, right there at the hotel. If you want to head north to LA or south to San Diego, the train station is within walking distance. Carlsbad had a great array of restaurants to choose from, price-wise and style - even an Australian Grill. The local liquor store (also within walking distance of Beach Terrace Inn had a bottle of 150 year anniversary Grand Marnier which isn't easy to find ...and even offered a military discount on top of friendly service.

Only piece of advice I had for the hotel was to consider offering bell captain service as there is only one elevator and it services the lower flop but not the middle ocean front rooms. Wasn't bad - but would be helpful. Still giving the hotel a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was staying at the Beach Terrace Inn and I knew it was going to be a wonderful experience from the beginning. As soon as I walked in I was greeted with an amazing California smile from Solveig. She checked my family and I in and told us about some amazing things we could do on our stay. (as if the view wasn't enough) She also gave us some local advice as to where to eat and places off the beaten path. She made such a wonderful impression on my wife and kids I'm sure we will be returning and making this a family tradition. Good job Beach Terrace Inn on an amazing employee. We value service and this was exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a great place for an anniversary trip. We had an ocean front room on the top floor - very spacious & clean. Location of the hotel was great - lots of restaurants & shops within walking distance. Breakfast was decent & the ladies there were constantly refilling things & putting out fresh items. Loved the fact that the hotel had chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards & sand toys to use.

Only small complaint - and this is not the fault of the hotel - was that we had very spotty cell service (verizon). We'd go from 4G coverage to no coverage at all, back to 4G in just a few minutes. Could be the proximity of our room to the ocean or just verizon's coverage isn't that great in that part of CA.

Wonderful place - will definitely be back with our kids next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank neanwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We kicked off our summer with a quick, couple nights only mini-vaca just this week! It's our 10th year coming, having missed only 1 year! Met people this trip who have come for 32 years every year with their kids, now grand kids (other trips met other 'regulars' who've come double digit years as well)! Not only can you experience a semi-private beach and the hotel is literally, truly right there on the water (high tide the waters come up to hotel's sea wall - one year up to our balcony in Ocean Front room!). Ocean front rooms you just throw your stuff over balcony and you are there! When kids were little, they were afraid of the waves; but lived in the pool/spa. Now they love to experience body boarding and waves, then the pool and warming up in the spa! Rooms are beautiful, breakfast yummy, staff excellent! Some complain of the price, but look at the EXPERIENCE you enjoy! Best Western down the road is cheaper, but you have to lug all your stuff from room, across Carlsbad Blvd., down a steep hill, then hope to find a spot to pitch umbrella, chairs, ice chest, boards/toys, towels, food, etc.! (to me that'd be a nightmare with kids!). We almost always stay mid-week and usually it feels like we have the beach/pool/spa to ourselves. Reading other reviews relating to Memorial Day weekend, we had never seen the place as busy as we saw on Monday (only due to the holiday). But Tues/Wed were nearly deserted! Tues morning we just happened to catch a school of dolphins swimming by and 'surfing' the wave (saw 6 in a row lined up in the curl of the wave!)! Would NEVER get that at Best Western (or anywhere not on the water)! Kids LOVED IT! Walking on the beach you pass gorgeous multi-million $ homes. I did not rate Resturant or Kids Activities as they really don't apply (no restaurant other than continental, but close enough to walk to anything, drive for more options, or call out for pick-up or delivery). Kid Activities? It's a boutique hotel (since re-model) but kid-friendly - what more do they need other than beach/pool/spa or a 10 min. drive to Legoland? We discovered BTI by accident/luck and nothing else in Carlsbad compares! The kids (almost 11 and 8 now) want to have their weddings there - how cool it that?!:)Their memories and experiences here will carry on our family beach tradition! Only by staying at BTI!

Room Tip: Splurge if you can for the Ocean Front rooms for 180 degree views, balcony right on the beach, no ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very stylish clean, beach front hotel with only 42 rooms. Bathroom was large and modern. Flat screen tv. Private parking. Privately owned hotel and Mike at guest services were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was decent: yogurts, danishes,muffins, bagels, toast, coffee and juice. They have beach chairs and umbrellas, towels, and water by the pool. Jacuzzi was 105 and pool was 84f. Perfect, just too many little kids making way too much noise at the pool. And mom's with thong bikini's, please leave them at home. Nobody wants to see that on the beach of an elegant place like this. The only thing this place needs for a week-end is a poolside taco bar and cocktail service. There's no bar or restaurant, but there are plenty within walking distance and a local liquor store and winery that is very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnbantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Inn is ON THE BEACH which is quite favorable. The lobby is very comfortable and open with indoor and outdoor seating with lovely views of the Ocean and beach.

Our room was on the pool deck with an Ocean view which was great for the view but not so good if you were looking for peace and quiet. The Hottub and pool were right outside the room and a view of and access to the beach just beyond the pool. The hottub was almost always filled with young children and smelled like nearly pure bleach.

There was a guest services area both indoor and outdoor tables and seating, daily complimentary breakfast was served there. Cereals and pastries and coffee or tea and juices were served but no option for eggs or cooked breakfast foods.

Our many problem was the long narrow stairs (about 4 flights in distance ) that we had to ascend and descend to get to and from the road to the room. There was no elevator option.

The room was very comfortable, there was a large open shower with a half door sized opening.

We enjoyed the stay but would have appreciated an elevator in lieu of the stairway. We did book last minute and considering that and a holiday weekend all was well.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deniese n Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
2.1 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.2 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Property: Beach Terrace Inn
Address: 2775 Ocean Street, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing