We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the location for this hotel”
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We loved the view from our beach front balcony watching the surfers, lazy days in the sun by the beach. Great location, clean comfortable room good facilities, only let down by dodgy wifi that only worked when it wanted to. Basic but healthy breakfast, plenty of fresh fruit and low cal / fat yogurt. Definitely not cheap but as we intend to stay here again, I guess it must be good value for what you get.

Room Tip: To appreciate this hotel, you really need a beach front room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AdventuresofScorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our first time to stay in Carlsbad and we loved it. The Beach Terrace Inn is right on the beach (not across the street)! The location is perfect, you can walk to all of the bars, restaurants and shops. It is a wonderful hotel with a pool that has an ocean view! They have all the beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and boogie boards, no need to lug yours from home. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They recommended some great places to eat, all within walking distance.
The rooms are huge and have lovely balconies to watch the sunset over the water. Go for the ocean view, or even the partial view. The rooms are clean, recently decorated and well appointed with fridge, coffee maker and wet bar. Huge beautiful modern bathrooms, too!

Room Tip: Get the best view you can afford. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a great stay. Good recommendation from desk staff on dinner at 333 Steak House. Nice pool with good chairs around with towel service. Free beach chairs. Decent but limited continental breakfast. Very nice staff there as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Hubby, daughter, granddaughter & I stayed here, returning for the first time after renovations. Lemme just say that we loved this place BEFORE, but with the reno's I think we want to live there. The rooms are simply magnificent. Elegant, but comfortable. The bathroom is like a spa within the room. Everything is extremely spacious and well laid out. The beds are so, so comfy (and I have fibromyalgia, so it's very hard to find a comfortable bed) - I spent one day just sleeping and enjoying the ocean sounds.

Customer service is top notch. There's a pillow menu with really good pillows on it. The front desk staff is awesome and very helpful. One day we went to Disneyland and left the DO NOT DISTURB sign on our door. We returned to a basket full of clean towels, toiletries, fresh coffee, etc. we were so impressed at the level of detail to take care of their customers!

The a/c units are a little noisy, but really didn't bother us. If you get an oceanfront room you will have to walk down flights of steps - just a warning for the physically impaired.

Make a point to get away to this wonderful little slice of heaven. Like us, you'll be a returning visitor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This inn is in the perfect location, right on the beach and within walking distance to restaurants and shops. We stayed for a week in a room with two king beds in the pool terrace building with beautiful views of the pool area and ocean beyond. We arrived early on our check-in day and the hotel staff offered to store our luggage until our room was ready and gave us gate cards so we could enjoy the beach access while we waited. The breakfast had plenty of fruit, yogurt, pastries, and beverages. It was very easy to check out beach umbrellas and chairs from the pool area each day we were on the beach. On the days we did not request housekeeping service for the room, there was a nice basket of towels and bath supplies outside our door in the afternoon. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The inn is located right on the beach, which is easily accessible from the property. It's located in a quiet neighbourhood that's a short walk to Carlsbad's restaurants.

The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Since there was no elevator to the courtyard rooms, they will carry bags down (and up) the stairs to your room.

The morning breakfast was well-stocked with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, breads and jams, as well as coffee, tea and OJ. The kitchen staff were very friendly, too.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms overlook a small courtyard with nice landscaping and have chairs outside the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerrahFirmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stumbled upon this wonderful place as we drove along the coast. Being particular we read the reviews on trip advisor before looking into this inn to stay. The pictures were beautiful but pictures are not always accurate. Upon checking out the inn I had been given options of different accommodations. I asked if I could see a particular type room and they were happy to show me before I made my final decision. I was immediately pleased and instead of staying one night opted for two nights in order to have a vacation from my vacation :) We were able to experience this wonderful gem to its fullest. I can say there was not anything I was displeased with. This is a great place to say and I have already talked of coming here again the next time I make it to the west coast. Exactly what I was looking for. A place where I could swim in the pool or relax by the pool and experience the ocean at the same time. Also it was great to spend time on the beach just steps away. Our room was beyond wonderful.

Room Tip: We spent a little more to stay poolside but to us it was well worth it. I would highly recommend a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SherillGlassmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £200 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Carlsbad's ONLY beachside hotel, the luxurious and delightfully private Beach Terrace Inn sits along the sandy coastline of Carlsbad State Beach. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to 70+ restaurants and entertainment venues within the charming Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while the famous sights of San Diego are a quick 30 minute drive south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing