We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Terrace Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$265
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$356
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
US$122
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$209
Official Hotel
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$304
Official Website
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,358)
Filter reviews
1,358 results
Traveller rating
1,083
195
52
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,083
195
52
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontcontinental breakfastsound of the wavesguest loungerooms are hugewithin walking distancefalling asleepoceanfront roomyogurtcarlsbad villagebeach chairs and umbrellasboogie boardsfull ocean viewno elevatorhard boiled eggsbeautiful roompool area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 1,358 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We loved the view from our beach front balcony watching the surfers, lazy days in the sun by the beach. Great location, clean comfortable room good facilities, only let down by dodgy wifi that only worked when it wanted to. Basic but healthy breakfast, plenty of fresh fruit and low cal / fat yogurt. Definitely not cheap but as we intend to stay here again, I guess it must be good value for what you get.

Room Tip: To appreciate this hotel, you really need a beach front room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AdventuresofScorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our first time to stay in Carlsbad and we loved it. The Beach Terrace Inn is right on the beach (not across the street)! The location is perfect, you can walk to all of the bars, restaurants and shops. It is a wonderful hotel with a pool that has an ocean view! They have all the beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and boogie boards, no need to lug yours from home. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They recommended some great places to eat, all within walking distance.
The rooms are huge and have lovely balconies to watch the sunset over the water. Go for the ocean view, or even the partial view. The rooms are clean, recently decorated and well appointed with fridge, coffee maker and wet bar. Huge beautiful modern bathrooms, too!

Room Tip: Get the best view you can afford. Worth it!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a great stay. Good recommendation from desk staff on dinner at 333 Steak House. Nice pool with good chairs around with towel service. Free beach chairs. Decent but limited continental breakfast. Very nice staff there as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Hubby, daughter, granddaughter & I stayed here, returning for the first time after renovations. Lemme just say that we loved this place BEFORE, but with the reno's I think we want to live there. The rooms are simply magnificent. Elegant, but comfortable. The bathroom is like a spa within the room. Everything is extremely spacious and well laid out. The beds are so, so comfy (and I have fibromyalgia, so it's very hard to find a comfortable bed) - I spent one day just sleeping and enjoying the ocean sounds.

Customer service is top notch. There's a pillow menu with really good pillows on it. The front desk staff is awesome and very helpful. One day we went to Disneyland and left the DO NOT DISTURB sign on our door. We returned to a basket full of clean towels, toiletries, fresh coffee, etc. we were so impressed at the level of detail to take care of their customers!

The a/c units are a little noisy, but really didn't bother us. If you get an oceanfront room you will have to walk down flights of steps - just a warning for the physically impaired.

Make a point to get away to this wonderful little slice of heaven. Like us, you'll be a returning visitor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This inn is in the perfect location, right on the beach and within walking distance to restaurants and shops. We stayed for a week in a room with two king beds in the pool terrace building with beautiful views of the pool area and ocean beyond. We arrived early on our check-in day and the hotel staff offered to store our luggage until our room was ready and gave us gate cards so we could enjoy the beach access while we waited. The breakfast had plenty of fruit, yogurt, pastries, and beverages. It was very easy to check out beach umbrellas and chairs from the pool area each day we were on the beach. On the days we did not request housekeeping service for the room, there was a nice basket of towels and bath supplies outside our door in the afternoon. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews