We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I were in Carlsbad for a much-needed vacation. After checking out a number of places in the area, we went with the Best Western Plus. We got an increidble rate and that factors into the rating.

-Our room was large and clean, with a balcony which, if you sit right, you can see the ocean. We had a fridge and microwave and a large tv.
- The secret to this place is the breakfast room/breakfast balcony which looks right out onto the ocean.
- The staff were super friendly
- You are across the street from the ocean and 2 blocks from Carlsbad Village. From the village you can take the train to San Diego if you wish.
- Breakfast is cereal, danish/bagel and jimmy dean sandwiches.

All in all, when we come back to S.D. we will stay here!

Room Tip: Do 3rd floor for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crcostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    192
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
286
235
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Beachview lodge is located steps from the beach in Carlsbad. One of the most relaxing and scenic locations in California. Restaurants and great shopping just minutes away. Great for one night or more. I personally love the room with a fire place during the fall and Winter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is across the street from the beach and within two short blocks of Carlsbad Village. My room was very clean and everything was i working order; the shower, the air conditioner, and the heater which is built into the ceiling and is wonderfully silent. The bed was especially comfortable. Mac, at the front desk, was professional and friendly. The breakfast room is very inviting and overlooks the ocean. The breakfast attendant, Dorothy, kept the serving table full and spotless. She was very attentive to her guests. All in all a "great place to stay!".

Room Tip: My room was toward the back which I liked, because I couldn't hear road noise. There was a side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel is in a fabulous location with ocean views both from the breakfast room as well as the terrace. It has covered parking which only is an advantage if you happen to drive a convertible.
Rooms are clean, but the age of the hotel is obvious in every aspect (sewer smell from the sink,
dust smell from the pilot flame from the gas fire place). Breakfast was better than in most American BW hotels, however to have a Microwave heated Jimmy Dean biscuit with egg and beef every morning for 6 days is more than boring - it's fine the 1st day, OK on the 2nd, but on the 3rd day ... you get the picture. During the 6 days we stayed (check-in Monday evening, check-out Monday morning) we paid 3 different prices for the night, from $143.10 (3 nights) then 152.10 (2 nights) and a whopping 197.10 for one night (for a Thursday - what's so special about a Thursday?). With taxes and fees the total was 1029.66 for 6 nights. I mean I understand if someone stays a night or two the price may be higher, but staying for 6 nights this kind of difference is quite shocking. I'm a BW member, but I consider switching to Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor and avoid to get a connecting door to another room. Don't get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlsbad ca, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

While visiting my car battery went dead went to the office and talked with Eric who helped me locate a parts store,he then contacted your maintenance man Celerino who helped me remove the battery ( actually he removed it ) drove me to the parts store to pick up the battery and then re-installed it!! Great staff Thanks David W Pauli

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chino, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

great vacation with my grand kids, stayed @ legoland resort for a day & best western the other 3 days . right across from the beach :-) my family was just thrilled with the fact that all we had to do was walk across the street to the beach

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed staying at this Best Western. It was close to everything. We walked everywhere. Lots of good restaurants and entertainment in the area. We liked that the parking was under a roof. The dining room is ocean front and made breakfast very enjoyable. You could watch the parade of people walking with their dogs, jogging, biking and doing Yoga on the grass with the ocean in the background. The Staff was excellent and attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
1.8 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.4 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge
Address: 3180 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2014, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge is conveniently located at Carlsbad State Beach in the quaint seaside village of Carlsbad, only 5 minutes from Legoland, world class shopping at The Carlsbad Premium Outlets, and steps from miles of sandy beaches. A family owned and operated inn, Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge guests receive superior service, an exceptional location and unbeatable amenities for a friendly price. The guest experience is all-inclusive, with room rates that also offer complimentary breakfast, WiFi, newspapers, in-room coffee, safes, pillow top mattresses with high thread count bedding, complimentary local calls and free parking available on a first-come, fist-served basis. Many rooms offer fireplaces or kitchenettes. Suites are available with separate living rooms and kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach View Hotel Carlsbad
Best Western Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing