We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best experience in time sharing stay in California!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paranaque
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best experience in time sharing stay in California!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this time sharing resort in the summer of 2013(summer vacation for us in the Philippines). It was part of a long planned vacation with a grand reunion with family and extended family members. The stay was so memorable I can still remember how my entire family enjoyed the very homey feeling of GPPR. The kitchen us very complete, the room very clean and well appointed, the upgraded room had a fantastic view of the flower fields and the beach in the distance, snd the recreational facilities will excite every family member. This is my very first experience in a major exchange for my timeshare in RCI. I highly recommend this property to families who want to maximize their experience in southern ca. Even the surrounding areas gave one of the best reasons why tourists should stay in this property- there's premium outlets of Carlsbad, a big Costco, and downtown Carlsbad where one can have a nice day tour and frolicking in the beach. Im highly recommending GPPR and definitely wanna come back!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank japbencef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi japbencef,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful family reunion. We are so glad our accommodations suited everyone visiting and that the activities and tours in the surrounding area offered were a hit as well. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you all again in the future

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    353
    171
    72
    59
See reviews for
970
295
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I wanted to write and thank the team at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Karl Strauss for helping us host another fantastic awards dinner for Howard's Team (cycling team that supports the MS Society). We've held our dinner at the ballroom for the past 4 years, and this was the best year yet. The staff was attentive, the food was delicious, and the accomodations were perfect. Special thanks to Brenda Turnbull, Daniel, and Manny. We look forward to awards dinner next year.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HowardsTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi HowardsTeam,

Thank you for your review. It is our pleasure to welcome you back for the Howard's Team Awards Dinner. We are so glad it was a success and that it continues to get better year after year. We appreciate your kind thanks to our team and look forward to next year!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastvale, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night for our anniversary. The room was nice and included a complimentary bottle of wine (a nice touch) but overlooked the parking lot so we asked if an ocean view was available instead and we we're accommodated. We were hoping to get a couples massage but this wasn't offered (bummer) and being so close to Legoland the hotel was noisy with kids running around as well. Between this and rude guests letting the doors to their rooms slam at all hours it wasn't the quiet getaway we had hoped for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi Greg S,

On behalf of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, we'd like to wish you and your wife a very happy anniversary. We are glad you both enjoyed the complimentary bottle of wine from the staff. We greatly apologize for some of the noise from other guests and hope that it did not cause much of an inconvenience during your stay. We hope to better serve you should you wish to stay with us again in the future!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel is the perfect spot for a getaway. The view is spectacular. I love the large pool area where you never feel like you are crowded. The rooms are very large and accommodating. The staff is the friendliest I have seen.
I highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgirl2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi beachgirl2018,
We're thrilled you enjoyed staying with us recently. We're glad you had fun relaxing by the pool. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Fabulous staff - very helpful, friendly and accommodating. I left my phone in rental car - when the luggage was delivered, the fabulous valet/bellman had my phone in his hand! Great attention to detail. Love the spacious, tasteful and very clean rooms. Our suite was fully equipped with everything we could possibly need for a long weekend. Top-notch pool with an incredible view. Love this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bicyclist1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi bicyclist001,
Thank you for reviewing Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We're so glad our staff was more than accommodating during your visit. We hope to welcome you back for another great time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

There is nothing like checking in and walking through the grand lobby, ending up on the patio of the beautiful pool tan taking in the breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean. The staff was very helpful in every way, from Ryan grabbing our luggage, valeting our car and seeing us to our room, to Anthony and Anna checking us in making sure we have everything we need. This hotel is a "must" for future stays in SoCal.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are a must for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Mindy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi 1Mindy4,
We are thrilled that you had an amazing stay at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We appreciate your compliments about our accommodations, amenities and staff. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I just had a wonderful stay with my college sorority sisters. We had three two bedroom suites with wonderful ocean views. The kitchens were well equipped which made cooking for 15 people very easy. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I loved sitting out by the pool and enjoying the view. I hope to return with my husband and children.

Lucy R

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with an ocean view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Always appreciate companies that try to be environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamLucy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi iamLucy53,
That sounds like a blast! We are thrilled you had a great time with your sorority sisters at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We are happy you found our staff helpful, and our resort well maintained. We hope to have you and your family stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.2 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Property: Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing