We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethpage, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

After having stayed at the Carlsbad Seapointe Resort in Carlsbad twice I expected it's sister property to be of similar quality and service. Unfortunately, that is NOT true. The rooms were very outdated and dark with a balcony view of the parking lot. Activities taking place during the Christmas holiday were ok, but nothing great. As a matter of fact, the smores night never took place and my kids were extremely disappointed. The housekeeping was not up to par either. I had to keep calling to replace towels and coffee packets. Since we had stayed 10 nights I expected that the bathrooms would've been cleaned more often. I don't need new sheets and towels everyday of course since I don't do that at home either, but bathrooms need to be clean! The one thing we did enjoy though was the pool area which was very nice and clean and plenty of towels. The outdoor activities were plentiful for the kids (basketball court, splash park, etc.) and the weather was spectacular for the most part that entire week. I would prefer going to back to the Carlsbad Seapointe Resort on my next visit which has convenient access the beach across the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargheritaM650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi MargheritaM650,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent stay at our property. We appreciate your feedback regarding our activities, accommodations and guest services. We apologize if we fell short of making sure your stay was spectacular and hope that we can welcome you again in the future for a much different experience.

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    361
    172
    72
    59
See reviews for
981
299
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed there for a trip to Legoland, which is a short walk just across the street. Hotel is very nice, well kept, great service. Room was clean and well-furnished, with a nice balcony. Family pool and play area was very well-liked by the kids, nicely equipped fitness area. There is currently a big push for time-shares that was a little distracting with how often it was mentioned. Concierge was very helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DC_Padrin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi DC_Padrin0,

Thank you for your post. We're so glad you found our location convenient, our service great and our rooms well furnished. We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Sincerely,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Planned a long weekend with the family to go to Legoland. Upon arrival at the Grand Pacific Palisades, I was welcomed and treated very well. Service was outstanding, everyone was friendly and accommodating. Shuttle service was great. Room was fantastic - attention to so many details that made everything convenient. The grounds and facilities are so impressive - views, fireplaces, kids pool + water park, playground, lap pool, multiple jacuzzis, fireplaces located throughout, views of the ocean, solid restaurant on the resort...we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe double double queen view - awesome, especially if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunbloomquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi shaunbloomquist,

Thank you for your post. We're so glad you and your family felt welcome and found our service outstanding and friendly. We hope you had a great time visiting Legoland and checking out the amenities we have onsite. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

My best,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed in the hotel portion for a week in February. Check in was great, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were clean; beds were comfortable and the view from the balcony was great. The rooms have a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker with coffee. Shower and bathrooms were clean and large. Rooms have free internet access.
Grounds are beautiful and the pool is quite.
The gym is really well equipped. A large amount of cardio equipment, free weights, and a lot of weigth equipment.
This facility also has pay laundry located on the third floor.
This hotel is right beside a Karl Strauss Brewery which has great food and even better beer. That being said, families don't need to worry as it isn't loud. The hotel is also close to an outlet mall, a costco and numerous other shops and restaurants. It's about a 30 minute walk to downtown Carlsbad. Beautiful resort and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Green Features: They offer you the "going green" service for your room. If you put your sign out by 2 am they won't clean your room and you'll get $5.00 off your resort fee or it can be used in the gift shop.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi MarciG,

Thank you for your post. We're happy to know your recent stay at our property was great and our staff was both friendly and helpful. It's great to hear our accommodations were clean, comfortable and convenient. We're glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Perfect for our family visit to Lego Land. We had a large 1 bedroom suite. The bedroom was separate from the living and kitchen. It's always nice to put the kids (3 & 4) in a separate area from us when traveling:) There was a pull-out sofa bed that our kids shared and it worked perfectly. Lots of room for buying food and eating in if that's your thing.

We LOVED the kids pool area. There was a splash pad, a small slide, a water fountain and a fun pool. We loved that you could cook out and take food to the pool area. It was a great place to unwind after a full day in the park. We will definitely go back our next visit to Lego Land!

Room Tip: We were by the pool - it could get a little loud. We loved the proximity to everything and didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacklyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Jacklyn T,

Thank you for reviewing Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We're so happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time visiting our property and Legoland! It sounds like everyone had a successful visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Sincerely,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattapoisett, ma
Level Contributor
279 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great if you have kids that want to go to Lego land which is next door. We had teenage girls who wanted nothing to do with that but still enjoyed themselves. They have a beautiful adults only pool that has a gorgeous view of the flower fields and the sunset. We often sat in the hot tub at sunset time and enjoyed the view. Also I love to swim laps in the morning and their lap pool was perfect! It opens at 7 am and I often had the pool to myself. We had a one bedroom which was pretty tight for four adults but they brought us a very comfortable roll away bed and there was also a couch which was much more comfortable than sleeping on the pull out bed. There is also a brew pub at the hotel that is pretty good!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank debbythec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi debbythec,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our property. We're happy to hear that you and your family all enjoyed your stay. We're glad you found our accommodations wonderful and had a great time swimming laps in the morning in the pool. We hope to welcome you back to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel again soon!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I left my cell phone and charger in the room after checking out of the hotel. After contacting the hotel, Ms. Juvy Tojot (director of housing dept.) sent them back to me within several days. Her prompt reply and hospitality made me extremely satisfied. Good staff, Good place.

Room Tip: Choosing the room next to the lobby is easy to get access to the adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Mei W,

Thank you for your kind review regarding our Director of Housekeeping, Juvy. We're so glad she was able to send you back your cell phone and your charger. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.2 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
634 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Property: Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing