We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nevada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We really enjoyed this property!! Every employee was friendly and helpful from the time we stepped into the lobby until we left seven days later. We have stayed here before and since then, all of the furniture has been replaced with a more elegant look. The room was a two bedroom two bath apartment with a full kitchen. It was really nice to be able to accomadate all 7 of us in one "room" since it was a family reunion/vacation and were able to visit in our PJ's as late as we wanted. We also really enjoyed being able to cook some meals in the room and the BBQ area rather than eating out every meal on a seven day vacation. We had an ocean side room that overlooked the flower fields. Between the beautiful sunsets and the blossoming flowers we couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: Ask if an ocean side room is available. If your'e visiting during the right season and staying...
See more room tips
Green Features: Grand Pacific Palisades posts their eco friendly guidelines. We took advantage of the recycle bin in our room and hung the towels to help in their efforts.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awallacenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hi awallacenevada,

Welcome back! We're happy to hear that your recent stay was an improvement from the past. It's great to know that you found our accommodations well updated and that you and your family had a wonderful time. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more vacations in the future!

Sincerely,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    353
    171
    72
    59
See reviews for
970
295
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The rooms and bathrooms in this hotel were dated and tired. It looked like nothing had been updated in 25 years. The beds, sheets and mattresses were the most uncomfortable I'd ever experienced at a hotel. Mattress was not supportive- neither firm nor soft, the sheets felt like card board, and the pillows felt like they were stuffed with styrofoam pellets, not feathers or another plush material. I cannot begin to explain how bland and old the bathrooms looked- you'll just have to take my word for it. The staff was nice but incompetent. Because of problems with our reservation (hotel's fault), we had to keep switching rooms- we were in 3 different rooms in. 2 days. I contacted management about this but the issue has not yet been resolved. Also, they will try to sell you a Hilton timeshare, which, if you do the math, is a terrible deal. Skip the timeshare presentation- it's 2 hours of your life that you'll never get back, and the deal they offer you at the end (they don't give you numbers till the last 10 minutes) is laughable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Shani A,

Thank you for reviewing Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We appreciate you sharing feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We're sorry to learn that you found our accommodations less than satisfactory and that your experience with our staff was less than desirable. We would certainly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your stay and invite you to email your contact information to hansley@gpresorts.com. We hope to speak with you soon.

Sincerely,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a king room. Roomy and regular amenities. There's a very nice adults only pool/hot tub/spa area, a great play pool area for families and a fun playground geared for 3-7 year olds. There are daily activities for guests including fun events for kids including a Lego scavenger hunt.

There are also villas but may only be available to owners of the hilton club. The grounds are clean, well groomed and tasteful. There is underground parking for all guests.

We would stay at this hotel/resort again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phxwilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi phxwilsons,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your two night stay in our King Suite. It's great to know that our accommodations were great and that you enjoyed participating in our daily activities. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed over spring break, all seven days, with the kids for Legoland/Disney/Beach vacation. The room was a two bedroom condo unit, and was large enough for all of us. However, the room was at best average in all ways... the microwave start button wouldn't work (we just hit the auto buttons and pulled food out early), there were 4-5 broken ceramic floor tiles, the dishwasher was the loudest I've ever heard, the bath tub was missing the plug, the furniture was all very worn, chipped, dented, and stains had been removed (but leave that fairy ring)... over all it was clean enough and functioning, so we didn't complain, figured that was the standard.

The real issues were the fact that the balcony has plastic furniture and looked at the parking lot. while the garden/pool view was at the entrance. Did no one think to turn the building around while planning this resort... so the front hallway had the parking lot view, with it's series of doors, elevators, and staff? Maid service was non-existent, clean towels only, did show up on Tuesday. No other services were offered. We called for extra soap (bath and dishwasher) none was brought. I went to the front desk the next day to get soap, (both kinds) and he said he would have it brought up. Ten minutes later housekeeping did show up with only the dish soap. Good enough, we just washed kids with our brought shampoo. Two out of the six grills worked, even the maintenance guy couldn't get the others to light. Last complaint... the room when we checked in smelled so strong of an air freshener (almost like they soak the carpet with it) it made my wife and I dizzy... we opened all the windows and doors, and that seemed to do the trick.

The location was excellent to Legoland, and the freeway, not to mention one stoplight between you and Costco... which is awesome for $10 pizza to feed the kids. The pool is great, but very crowded, as expected for spring break. The view from the adult pool was nice, and the flower fields were in full bloom, it was eye candy! But it was also like a slap in the face... you retreated from the beautiful part of the hotel to your smelly parking lot room with the plastic furniture. It was pretty frustrating to see that the other rooms had been upgraded with new furniture, fixtures, fireplaces, and a view as well... I think the good reviews stayed in those rooms, it was a totally different experience!

We talked to the concierge twice, once upon check-in, to get wrist bands no one wore or checked on. And a second time to get beach suggestions. The second visit resulted in a timeshare pitch, and appointment to look at the new resort, but I refused to go... if you can't take care of this resort, what would make the other any better after the "new " wears off? It made me laugh when her response was: "Well, you don't even have to leave this resort, we have the new rooms set up here so you can see what they look like." My response was: "You have new rooms, but put us in the old ones? There's no better sales pitch than putting me in a nice room and view!" Instead, GPR, opted to put you in the old rooms and show you what you could have had. No thanks.

We had a great time on vacation, but it was because of the places we visited around the hotel. Not a great hotel visit. When I think about it, it cost us two weeks of our beachfront Mexico timeshare, plus exchange fees for one week here... that computes to $1255.00 in fees. Not a bargain. Oops, I forgot the resort fee and taxes, add $160 more.

There are better options for your money in Carlsbad.

Room Tip: Ask, actually insist, that you get an updated room...
See more room tips
Green Features: It's California, everyone has a blue recycle bin... the difference is, there was no maid service to empty your recycle bin, and no where to do it yourself.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orangeboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi orangeboots,

Thank you for reviewing Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your most recent stay. We're sorry to learn that your accommodations were less than satisfactory. We'd like to speak with you directly and invite you to contact us at hansley@gpresorts.com. We hope to speak with you soon.

Sincerely,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our bible study group had a wonderful time. The view from hotel was breathtaking. All employees of the hotel were very friendly & helpful specially Juvy who gave us excellent customer service. Would definitely plan another trip next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Ana E,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're happy to hear that your bible study group had a wonderful time visiting our property. We're glad our staff could be of some help as well. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Staying at the hotel right now. When checking in they said it would be one hour. We spent our precious vacation time in the lobby and it turned out to be two hours. I wish they would have just told us that it would be two hours in the beginning. We had lego land tickets and could have went there first instead of wasting time in the lobby. My kids were getting totally restless. Still at the hotel. Room is decent. View is ok. I can see the freeway. Bathtub could be cleaner.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaqquitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laguna hills
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel, and liked it very much. The location is great, you can actually walk (about 5min) to Legoland, we did this both days (with 2 kids) and were happy not having to pay for parking at the park!
The hotel is very big and has a lot of amenities for the kids, they have a kids pool and a water/splash park next to it. They also have a pirate theme playground, a kids club, game room.
Along with it there's a snack and souvenir store in the lobby, and also a machine where you can rent (or buy) DVDs to watch in your room (there's DVD player in room).
The restaurant on site is Karl Strauss brewery, so good food and drinks, they also serve the room service food.
Overall a great stay, would definitely come back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monpetitcadeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.2 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Property: Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing