We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant get enough of this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The place to go for families with kids . Close to beach within walking distance to LEGOLAND. The hotel had its own kid area with pool play ground and water park . we stayed in the hotel side . There is also a condo type area. The room was clean and comfortable and well apointed . All staff where friendly and helpful. Great self parking. Great room service from adjoining restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi j d,

Thank you for your review. We're thrilled you found our property family-friendly and enjoyed being so close to the beach, as well as Legoland. It's great to know that our accommodations were spacious and comfortable for all. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,761)
There are newer reviews for Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a great hotel if you have kids because you can walk to Legoland and it has a kids club with plenty of activities. Room is ok. Bathroom is small and towels are old.
Karl Strauss has breakfast buffet that is very good. Dinner salads are great and my husband was very happy with their beer!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-view room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylviarubio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hi sylviarubio,

We're thrilled you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. It's wonderful to know you all loved being close to Legoland and we hope you had a great time visiting! Come back to visit us again soon!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you want a hotel close to Legoland, this hotel has that but that is about the end of its pleasing characteristics. The room was small, the TV reception even on their "family movie" channel was horrible, there were no pool towels in the room, and the concierge was gone by 7pm so we couldn't get more. When the concierge was finally present (the next morning) to give me the "welcome package", there was no real package. Her energy was spent completely in trying to sell me a time share under the guise of "free entry to the San Diego zoo" (but only if I had an income greater than $90,000.) There was no information in the room regarding the amenities of the hotel. No information on pool or athletic center hours, no map of the hotel. There was only one outlet in the room for charging phone, computer, etc. In addition, I purchased the "breakfast package" for two nights- two adults each morning for two days. They gave me one day of coupons and I had to go back to the front desk and explain their own website promotion to them to get the second day. She had to go back and forth with the reservation people to agree to give me my second breakfast. I am NOT impressed for the price that we spent. We will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hi Kate M,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that your recent experience at our property was less than desirable. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our staff, service and accommodations. We would certainly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly and invite you to contact us at hansley@gpresorts.com. We hope to speak with you soon.

Sincerely,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Pretty view but we were there the week the adult pool was closed for cleaning so we missed the view unless we went for a walk. Was charged a daily fee ($16) for parking,internet, and a newspaper(available 5 days. USA Today). Maid service was only a towel change and basket emptying twice a week. The balcony looked out on the neighborhood street which was sad since the interior pool and garden view was much nicer, but that was the entryway path where noisy luggage was dragged over the cement early in the morning. The oddest thing were the overhangs on the walkways. They were very pretty but open like an arbor so that there was no protection from rain when leaving building. The people working there were very polite and nice. The Brewery on site was excellent. Would I return? No.

Room Tip: We were on the far end of the kid pool. The room was nice enough, but hopefully there are better roo...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pattsro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hi Pattsro,

Thank you for reviewing Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We apologize for any dissatisfaction our accommodations left you with and hope that you were not inconvenienced. We're sorry to hear that you do not wish to return, and we welcome you to contact us at hansley@gpresorts.com with any other additional information you'd like to share.

Thank you,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We really enjoyed this property!! Every employee was friendly and helpful from the time we stepped into the lobby until we left seven days later. We have stayed here before and since then, all of the furniture has been replaced with a more elegant look. The room was a two bedroom two bath apartment with a full kitchen. It was really nice to be able to accomadate all 7 of us in one "room" since it was a family reunion/vacation and were able to visit in our PJ's as late as we wanted. We also really enjoyed being able to cook some meals in the room and the BBQ area rather than eating out every meal on a seven day vacation. We had an ocean side room that overlooked the flower fields. Between the beautiful sunsets and the blossoming flowers we couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: Ask if an ocean side room is available. If your'e visiting during the right season and staying...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awallacenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hi awallacenevada,

Welcome back! We're happy to hear that your recent stay was an improvement from the past. It's great to know that you found our accommodations well updated and that you and your family had a wonderful time. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more vacations in the future!

Sincerely,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The rooms and bathrooms in this hotel were dated and tired. It looked like nothing had been updated in 25 years. The beds, sheets and mattresses were the most uncomfortable I'd ever experienced at a hotel. Mattress was not supportive- neither firm nor soft, the sheets felt like card board, and the pillows felt like they were stuffed with styrofoam pellets, not feathers or another plush material. I cannot begin to explain how bland and old the bathrooms looked- you'll just have to take my word for it. The staff was nice but incompetent. Because of problems with our reservation (hotel's fault), we had to keep switching rooms- we were in 3 different rooms in. 2 days. I contacted management about this but the issue has not yet been resolved. Also, they will try to sell you a Hilton timeshare, which, if you do the math, is a terrible deal. Skip the timeshare presentation- it's 2 hours of your life that you'll never get back, and the deal they offer you at the end (they don't give you numbers till the last 10 minutes) is laughable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hi Shani A,

Thank you for reviewing Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We appreciate you sharing feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We're sorry to learn that you found our accommodations less than satisfactory and that your experience with our staff was less than desirable. We would certainly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your stay and invite you to email your contact information to hansley@gpresorts.com. We hope to speak with you soon.

Sincerely,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a king room. Roomy and regular amenities. There's a very nice adults only pool/hot tub/spa area, a great play pool area for families and a fun playground geared for 3-7 year olds. There are daily activities for guests including fun events for kids including a Lego scavenger hunt.

There are also villas but may only be available to owners of the hilton club. The grounds are clean, well groomed and tasteful. There is underground parking for all guests.

We would stay at this hotel/resort again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phxwilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hi phxwilsons,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your two night stay in our King Suite. It's great to know that our accommodations were great and that you enjoyed participating in our daily activities. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
668 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
3.7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £102 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing