We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The grand pacific palisades is good overall for a family vacation. It is in very close proximity to Legoland ( walking distance ) and has a reasonable pool , playing area for kids, and A small water park. The rooms are big ( we had a one bed condo which accommodates 4 ) . The hotel is not super luxurious and is slightly old but well kept. The hotel has parking and wifi but you pay resort fee to account for these. The food at its karl Strauss was good and above average. Overall it was good

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Sam k,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you found our location great for your family vacation. It is also great to hear that you were able to enjoy many of the guest amenities provided and enjoyed the food venue. We hope that you come back soon for another stay!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a great time. The resort is clean and the staff is very friendly. From the gentleman that check us in and ladies that service are room you can tell that they love and enjoy what they do. Even when we ask for extra stuff they always gladly say yes and with smile on their face. Every single person we pass by greet us.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi rsabio,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. It is great to hear that our staff was very attentive and provided you with great customer service. We hope you chose to come back for another visit soon!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at Grand Palisades from 11-18 May 2014 and had an excellent holiday As we drove along te highway from San Diego we saw the beautiful flower fields, unfortunately the next day they harvested the flowers but we will not forget the display. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our apartment was immaculate and well appointed. Although we overlooked the road behind the hotel there was very little traffic noise. The grounds, pool and surrounding area were very clean. Legoland is within walking distance.

We were staying during the time of the fires and on a couple of days there was an advisory evacuation status but thankfully we did not have to vacate the hotel but our thoughts are with those who had to evacuate thier homes not knowing the outcome.

We are Diamond Resort members from the Englabnd and Grand Pacific Palisades is an affiliate member which we have highly recommended to other DRI members and we would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi Brenda B ,

Thank you for staying with us in May and also for taking your time to providing us with your feedback. We are glad that the fires did not affect your stay and delighted hear that you had a great time with us. Come back soon!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This Father's Day getaway was truly an excellant time with our grandsons. The hotel staff were very friendly & helpful. There were many activities to keep you busy or just relax around the pool. The room was clean and the view of the Pacific Ocean was spectacular. Legoland was within walking distance. The buffet breakfast was delicious and a treat for our grandsons. We would love to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryellen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had stayed two weeks at the beginning of May. We loved it from head to toe. We had traded our points for our vacation. It was clean ,hospitality was five stars and we all had a great time. We planned two weeks in Mexico afterwards. We experienced a tragedy. My husband was not well enough for travel. I booked a hotel room back at the palisades for two nights because it was familiar and I felt safe there. Realizing I couldn't afford to stay until my husband recovered I called the front desk to see if I could use the rest of my points and explained our emergency. Within twenty minutes I got a call back from Justin . He had taken it upon himself to contact the General Manager. He told me that they would like to move us to a Villa and comp our future stay. They moved us gave us sooo much help. It was such a blessing. We stayed four more days. I can't thank them enough.I know they will be blessed over a thousand times for there compassion and kindness. Thanks Pacific Palisades you are the Best!

Room Tip: I love a corner suite ,they are large and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Barbara C ,

You are very welcome! Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that our staff was able to assist you with your stay. We hope your husband is doing well and that you come back soon for another stay!

My Best,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

GPPR is beautifully located in Carlsbad, California. The view of the Pacific is absolutely succulent. My husband and I have been here twice, last June and this June, for my birthday :) The resort is absolutely beautiful and we've enjoyed all the resort has to offer. The Karl Strauss Brewery next door is a great add on. The staff is polite and wonderful. Both times we've had a parking lot view and a 0600 wake up from waste management or forklifts...yay for sleeping in or 0200 wake ups from the drunken yahoos from the brewery. Rooms were beautiful, pool, hot tub and fire pit were very lovely. If you can get it for the right price, go. Mental note...if you don't mind being woken up by all the thundering stampede of the little ones excited for the Legoland infantry, this is a great place to go if you wanna be up early! Oh...also another mental note....sometimes housekeeping likes to walk in your room without a knock and they will find a nice view of someone freshly out of the shower in their..excuse the pun...birthday suit!

Room Tip: If able to, choose a room that faces the pool and not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clintona93555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Clintona93555,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of the Pacific Ocean. It is always great to hear from returning guests. We apologize on behalf of our housekeeping and hope that you chose to stay with us again during your next visit to California!

My Best,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We drove to Escondido to attend a family get together/birthday party. After the first round of festivities we were able to retreat to The Grand Pacific Palisades resort. Our room was beautiful, the view was great,and a the bottle of wine was waiting to be opened.

The next day was much like the first with the family celebrations. Again coming back to GPR was a pleasure. I love this hotel! Plan to return after the 4th of July. I just might "forget" to tell the family in Escondido so I can swim in the pools, go to the beach and enjoy the sunset!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrienne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hi Adrienne O,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and are planning a trip back. We look forward to having you visit us again and hopefully be able to spend more time enjoying the guest amenities found throughout the resort. See you soon!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.3 mi away
LEGOLAND California Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
3.7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £103 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing