We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel grounds, scenic all around!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel grounds, scenic all around!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Out stay was great! Just wished the reservations process ran a bit smoother and not so many mistakes were made with the rooms we had reserved. Then checkout bill had errors and charges were mixed up among the 3 rooms. Everything was corrected by the time we left, but we spent alot of time sorting it out before and during our stay, and wasted alot of time. Gorgeous Edge Pool with hot tubs with nice views. Breakfast was yummy. We would go back again because it was a very pretty and relaxing place to be. Plenty of stuff to do for the kids with fun-looking water slides and waterplay area with game room and arcade, etc....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Svetlana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear SvetlanaS: Great news that you look forward to a return visit. Thanks for sharing your comments with us here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    550
    309
    183
    126
See reviews for
912
448
174
679
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
407 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I went to for the spa, but checking in was worse then checking in for Ryan Air or Spirit Airlines if you have ever been forced to travel on them. However, the low budget airlines are because one has no other equal choices. In Southern California -- destination spa resorts -- even at $500+ a night -- abound and there is no reason to subject yourself to the low rent front desk staff who make like they are doing you a favor when checking in, versus warmly welcoming you. As bad as that experience was, and I would have left had I not prepaid my stay, the SPA was delicious and tranquil. Sergei is over-the-top wonderful. I could have been in any top Russian bath house and not gotten the stress kneaded out of me as I did with Sergei the other day.

Dinner at Blue Agave was good but not great. We left for a local breakfast and coffee 1 minute outside the resort rather then pay $100 for breakfast for a just OK experience.

I recommend you stay at the Four Seasons or Hyatt Aviara and visit the spa at La Costa, or -- just try the spas there for their own version of Sergei.

Room Tip: THe hotel rooms are a bit old, the villas are newer with much more amenities -- but pricey too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear MikeLudin: It's very good to hear that our spa experience earned a 6-star rating from you. I am sorry that you didn't feel the warmth you should have during your check in experience. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Beautiful resort with great gardens. The rooms are nicely done and kept renovated. Staff are helpful and go above and beyond to help and be of service. Food is great with a wide variety of choices. Hard to beat this place anywhere in the world and I used to live up the street from it. A little pricey, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cathi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I have been there for 4 days.
The place is amazing
Green green green, quite , relaxing your mind.
Away form the crowd city
With a beautiful golf field
Lot of swimming pool
Very good service
The room very clear with all the needs
Expensive but worth every penny

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank amisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Amisrael: Really appreciate your review- it almost reads like a poem! Thank you so much for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Not a thing wrong with our trip at this resort. The staff, the food and the spa was to die for. Highly recommend this resort. Carlsbad airport was easily accessible, in and out. I'm not a golfer but my business partners said the the course was awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Valley, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Accuracy of Room Service order was questionable. Chairs in meeting rooms were uncomfortable. The auditorium set up in Poinsettia 1 & 2 was very uncomfortable. Chairs were uncomfortably close together. All people were touching one another, and many just jammed into the small quarters.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Iris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear IrisN: We have shared your comments with our team and appreciate that you've taken the time to comment on your experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Wonderful place to be. Great food, service and incredibly beautiful landscaping. The plaza has lovely chairs and tables for enjoying the California weather. Overall yummy environment. The spa is a treat with pools, relaxation areas and pool. Very easy to spend a full day lounging in the spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank nancycF9926SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
4.9 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
16.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
7.0 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Property: Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing