We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glory Days Gone By”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glory Days Gone By”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I think LaCosta used to be nice, but those days have passed. The resort feels of quality, but the quality is waining. It feels tired and like they are taking short cuts to keep it going. If you aren't a big walker, you must ensure (DEMAND) that you get a room closer or it is a 10 minute brisk walk. It is cold there despite being in SoCal. The rooms are cold, so ask them to check the thermostat to ensure it works and stays working (mine hasn't the last two times I have been there). I have yet had a decent meal there, but admitedly have only been there for corporate events and those mass-production dining experiences are never good. The staff is excellent - nice, friendly, responsive. You won't go wrong there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCostaTeam, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear PaulH: Thanks for sharing your feedback and for acknowledging our friendly and responsive staff. Please do let us know if you prefer a room closer to the Plaza area, as our team would love to assist you with that on a future visit. We appreciate your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,477
    576
    324
    190
    131
See reviews for
995
463
176
696
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on a business conference.
The settings, gardens, golf course are simply beautiful. Did not use the swimming pools but they looked nice as well.
Gym is very spacious and well equipped.
The room was very large and the bathroom was huge. It does not look great but has all the amenities you expect in such hotels.
It was a bit annoying to get a room on the second floor. No elevator so luggage needs to be carried up the stairs.
Also, parking is a bit far from the room so requires some walking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I was checked in to a room that was not ready, attending a gala event at the resort; room was less than adequate for this type of resort that charges resort fees on top of room charges. As well, attending the gala, the staff members began removing our purchased wine bottles from the tables before the event was over. Very unacceptable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ricki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCostaTeam, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Rick C: Thank you for sharing your thoughts here. We do value your feedback very much and are sharing with our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I were at the Omni la Costa for an event at the Chopra center. As Omni select guests (anyone can be Omni select, just register w Omni hotels for a free membership)'we were treated to coffee in our room as well as bottled water upon our arrival.

There were a couple of small hick ups on our arrival. We had requested a ground floor room, since I am just out of braces from both broken legs. We instead emended up w a 2nd floor room (and stairs only). Since we were only in and out twice a day, it wasn't too bad.

On the plus side, our membership garnered us a lovely corner room upgrade in the 500's.
On the downside, it was immediately next to one of the maintenance sheds so as an extremely light sleeper, I was awakened each morning at 4:30 am by the noise (if you are a light sleeper, avoid room 580). We also had to flip our mattress due to the dip in one side, which adjusted it nicely.

The last 2 nights a convention came in and was quite energetic and verbose in their evening activity. I called to request a move but was told the hotel was full so an change was unavailable.

Other than those challenges, the stay was wonderful! Ernesto, Jacob, Anthony, Christina and darling Caston at the on site Market Deli were fabulous and we looked forward to our frequent stops there daily.

The property is spectacular and the views incredible -'looking forward to being there again for another Chopra event in march 2014 -ninja quiet ground floor room!

Room Tip: Ask for the 2011 building just across from the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarrPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Very out dated resort hotel. Rooms are spacious but the decor & furnishings have to be 15+ years old and they smell - damp, stale cigarettes? - not sure what exactly but it's unpleasant. Bathroom towels really need to be retired - it's just cruel to be keeping them working at their age. Plenty of facilities at the resort but again they all just feel like they've seen better days...

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Xalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCostaTeam, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Xalec: Thank you for sharing your opinion here. The resort has recently undergone a $50 million renovation and I'm sorry that the décor wasn't to your liking during your visit. We certainly listen to and value your input, so thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Out stay was great! Just wished the reservations process ran a bit smoother and not so many mistakes were made with the rooms we had reserved. Then checkout bill had errors and charges were mixed up among the 3 rooms. Everything was corrected by the time we left, but we spent alot of time sorting it out before and during our stay, and wasted alot of time. Gorgeous Edge Pool with hot tubs with nice views. Breakfast was yummy. We would go back again because it was a very pretty and relaxing place to be. Plenty of stuff to do for the kids with fun-looking water slides and waterplay area with game room and arcade, etc....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Svetlana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear SvetlanaS: Great news that you look forward to a return visit. Thanks for sharing your comments with us here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I went to for the spa, but checking in was worse then checking in for Ryan Air or Spirit Airlines if you have ever been forced to travel on them. However, the low budget airlines are because one has no other equal choices. In Southern California -- destination spa resorts -- even at $500+ a night -- abound and there is no reason to subject yourself to the low rent front desk staff who make like they are doing you a favor when checking in, versus warmly welcoming you. As bad as that experience was, and I would have left had I not prepaid my stay, the SPA was delicious and tranquil. Sergei is over-the-top wonderful. I could have been in any top Russian bath house and not gotten the stress kneaded out of me as I did with Sergei the other day.

Dinner at Blue Agave was good but not great. We left for a local breakfast and coffee 1 minute outside the resort rather then pay $100 for breakfast for a just OK experience.

I recommend you stay at the Four Seasons or Hyatt Aviara and visit the spa at La Costa, or -- just try the spas there for their own version of Sergei.

Room Tip: THe hotel rooms are a bit old, the villas are newer with much more amenities -- but pricey too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear MikeLudin: It's very good to hear that our spa experience earned a 6-star rating from you. I am sorry that you didn't feel the warmth you should have during your check in experience. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
12.2 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,930 reviews
16.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
11.3 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 278 in San Diego
1,699 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Property: Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing