We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Beautiful Perhaps Too Much So”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Big Beautiful Perhaps Too Much So”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The setting of the resort is beautiful but the facility is large and is geared to the convention business. Of this there can be no doubt. The front desk while pleasant at all times will not remember you 20 minutes after you check in because they have moved on to the next in line. The convention business is one thing and a high end sports resort is another. The mix does not work as well as the resort may think. Oddly it's not particularly a criticism but a reality and as mentioned it affects how the experience is borne by the non convention visitor. This is not a quaint little European spa resort. High marks for the rooms....very spacious and well appointed after recent upgrading. Staff unfailingly positive and cheerful types.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwertVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    534
    303
    181
    123
See reviews for
888
430
172
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed 10 days for an event at a discounted rate. I have stayed 10 days at a time 3-4 times over the last few years for events. I'm not convinced I would stay here if it wasn't so convenient for events I attend. The property is beautiful, but I wouldn't consider it a resort. There's not a lot to do beyond the tiny gym, water-park (for children), spa, and golf.

The spa was ok. I've traveled the world and even consulted for some spas and this was was about average, what you would find in lower end hotels. The "resort" staff could use a bit more training on accommodating requests by guests. Some employees were wonderful and some have no business in the service industry. So if you are not getting the results you want wait a minute and call back for someone else.

If you are staying for extended lengths of time there is a grocery store within walking distance for snacks and water. The restaurants on site were average in cost for a resort and the food was good.

The resort is not that close to the beach so if that is your plan you might want to make other arrangements.

Room Tip: If you don't have or want to be near children ask in advance to stay away from the family areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaDesires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was our first stay at the La Costa Resort. I had visited her many times as a child, but this was a first to stay. It was decorated for the Holidays which was very nice. Although it was a very cold weekend the warmth of the lobby/restaurants and rooms was very welcoming. The staff in the restaurants were very wonderful. We will stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOOMNIMANAGER, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are delighted that your family enjoyed your stay at the Omni La Costa Resort and Spa. Thank you for taking the time to recommend us on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I recently stayed here while attending a business function at the resort. Overall i really enjoyed my time at he resort, and I found the service to be excellent, but I couldn't help feeling that the rooms could use a bit of updating. This was especially true of the bathroom in my room, which was charming, but did not look that clean. Also I found the bed quite average for this level of hotel.

Having said that, the resort is very nice. The quality of food was very good, the grounds are manicured,and the wi-fi worked very well. I would recommend this place especially if you are playing their excellent golf courses, but otherwise found it just a bit above average.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberto_jose_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This place is great to visit year round but in the summer they have live bands playing music in the main courtyard area at sunset. Lots of beautiful pools (an adult one too- less noise) and restaurants serving gourmet meals that are very tasty. I love visiting La Costa Resort. You can also play golf there (I'm still learning).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacaltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCostaTeam, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Lacaltex: So glad that you loved visiting us! Perhaps on your next visit you'll have time to try a golf lesson. We know that you'd love our head golf instructor, who's been named one of Golf Digest's "Top 40 Under 40" instructors. In the meantime, hope you're enjoying the game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We usually stay at La Costa a few times a year to visit relatives nearby. The hotel is an oasis. Service is warm and friendly, the rooms are always clean, cheerful and extremely comfortable. Service is first class. We have only tried some of the restaurants, which are excellent. Fitness facilities, spa, pools, golf and tennis are also world class. Even though we llive in nearby Los Angeles, a visit to La Costa always feels like a real vacation. The staff is always helpful and accommodating; Hannah Carlson in the loyalty department is a jewel. We are picky travelers but we cannot recommend this resort too highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encino, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

La Costa is our favorite local getaway. The facility is gorgeous and the staff is amazing. My kids love the pool area, the kids arcade and the golf course. I was incredibly impressed with the fitness classes offered - they are on the level of a high end gym. This is so unique for a hotel/resort. My next visit will be scheduled around these classes!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank LSK861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
4.9 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
16.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
7.0 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Property: Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing