We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent resort...but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Decent resort...but could be better”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

First, this really should get 3.5 stars
Took my daughter here for a special weekend. While staff is friendly and place is very kid friendly, the property feels dated and cluttered. While rates aren't over the top, the Aviara down the street is better value, as are the various properties in Dana Point a little further north.

The rooms are dated in spite of a recent renovation (maybe we got the old wing) and the pools are very crowded. The restaurants are all decent and not overpriced but there was no real stand out.

On the positive side, the staff is plentiful and friendly. The golf course is nice and the water slides and arcade are a plus for kids. But all that said, La Costa overall is just ok.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaurchineceviche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,434
    557
    312
    187
    129
See reviews for
941
455
174
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Overall a very pleasant stay. Friendly staff, good service. Spacious rooms overlooking beautifully maintained grounds. Cannot comment on the quality of the golf course, as we did not play golf during our trip, but enjoyed the multiple pools immensely. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

All the staff treat you with respect and always been courteous, I love it, I gave 6 stars, they have SPA, the dining experience was excellent, all the boutique, and Market place meet my expectations, every where you go is very clean, I'm looking for the future, if you have any event they are on top.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Adela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband, our two children, and I recently stayed at La Costa Resort. We needed a little break from normal life, and it certainly met every necessity and expectation we could have! The rooms are beautifully appointed - numerous TV channels, free bottles of water, comfortable and inviting beds... We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which was really just a regular room with an adjoining living area space (albeit a very big space). The room had plenty of space for our kids to run around and enjoy themselves. The hotel itself has great pools, water slides, and a little beach area for the little ones to play. A great amenity for families is that the hotels will give you free water diapers, just in case you forgot them, run out, or whatever! We splurged and got a cabana by the kid pools, which was totally perfect for nursing and for having some much-needed shade. To be honest, the cabana we got (#2) was a little on the shabby side compared to the rest of the hotel. There were dark spots all over it (mold/mildew?) and the whole top of it had rips all over it, but it did the job. Just not what I'd expect for such a high-end property. The food at the pool was good, thought there wasn't a large variety of food, but enough to get the job done. I was impressed that they thought of details like s'mores, but disappointed they didn't have any chairs to be able to sit at and comfortably eat the s'mores. Lastly, we went to the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The breakfast buffet provided a wonderful variety of food from made to order omelettes and waffles to sausage links and fresh fruit. Dinner was just ok (disappointed that it was just ok), but it did offer a children's buffet of all the basic food (American) children enjoy eating -- chicken strips, mac and cheese, pizza, chocolate cake, the works! The one great thing about the restaurant is that the view from the outdoor seating areas is beautiful, overlooking the golf course and adjoining homes. Around the hotel are different shops, including a 24 hour shop/marketplace with virtually anything you may need on hand. In sum, the La Costa is a beautiful, well-thought-out hotel with anything one could really need. It definitely deserves a visit or two!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tynante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I ve been staying now at la Costa resort 5 times, I thought it's time to write a review: I ve been staying there to attend Chopra events but I always stayed extra to really enjoy the resort. Despite its size, the people working there do remember you and I must say that this is one of the best service quality I ve experience. The staff is simply great, front desk, valet, spa, and concierge are outstanding. The rooms are large and very comfortable and the spa is simply one of the best I ve been to. To top it off, the Chopra spa and wellness center is a great added value and I know I ll keep on coming back. They always make sure after each visit to send you an evaluation sheet for you to review your stay and each time they took into consideration any comment I ve made. I ll be back there again, and again! AS for the restaurant it's a bit pricey for what you get, and I ll recommend the bar restaurant next to the lobby or the grill versus the bistrot downstairs, it was very average compared to the rest of what the facility offers.

Room Tip: Ground floor overlooking the golf course, preferably far from the children pool where it get too noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The resort itself is pretty and very spread out. We had stayed before in a suite that are far from the main lobby and that was a less optimal experience for us we had to drive to the pool. This time, we stayed closer to the main pool, but not close enough to hear noise from it. The room itself, Spanish colonial style - contemporary inside, was well appointed and we requested a view of the golf course and got it which was very nice. The balcony is barely large enough for two chairs so we didn't spend much time there. Our package included breakfast which we weren't aware of at first. It would have been nice to have that explained at check in. The breakfast buffet was a highlight and was well worth it. Omelet station, fresh fruit, lots of tasty options for adults and kids. Could have skipped lunch. We spent most of our time at the pool which was full of families, which we didn't mind, but could see how it would bother others who were sans kids. Our 8-year olds loved the big and the smaller pool slide. And that was the main draw for us. Note: Kids have to meet a height requirement to use the big slide. Kids also liked the game room which had some free attractions like ping pong and a couple other games. I enjoyed the gym which had free weights and machines. And even though they must have been full for spring break, it never felt crowded anywhere and we were always able to find loungers at the pool, which can be a source of stress at some resorts. Lunch at the pool was good - a little pricey, but not out of line for a resort and the chicken caesar was so big that my husband and I split it. We at other meals outside the resort.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Kids liked seeing all the bunnies on the property. It was quiet and serene and my husband enjoyed the golf course.

The only reason I subtracted a star is because it took me 8 tries to speak to someone at the resort who could explain the difference in all the rooms. I kept getting put through to central reservations and they would refer me back to the hotel where I'd get put on hold, then defaulted back to central. By the time I got through, I got decent info and even a discount for my trouble, so that helped make up for missing out on some better prices while trying to glean this info.

Note for families: we found our room a bit small for the four of us and next time would ask for a ground floor room with the patio in front. The kids liked swinging on the double hammock that was close enough to our room that I could watch them from the balcony. Self-parking was a little far from our room.

Restaurant tip: If you have a car, there's a restaurant in the shopping center about a mile north that is great for families, similar to Tender Greens called Tin Leaf Fresh Kitchen that had delicious options for all and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Families may enjoy being closer to the main pool. Larger suites and villas are quite far from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this resort for Mother's Day Weekend 2014. My kids were very excited to stay and play. The resort and amenities have a ton of potential. Only problem is there were spiders and bugs everywhere...including our bed. We changed rooms, same problem. The pool was fun and the staff was nice but the bugs and spiders will keep us from returning. Too bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
16.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
1,902 reviews
11.3 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 279 in San Diego
1,668 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Property: Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing