We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our magical wedding venue!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our magical wedding venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I, along with 15 of our friends and family, stayed at La Costa for 5 nights a couple of weeks ago. We were there to get married and what a magical setting it was for our special day. From the moment we checked in to the resort the staff couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. We used the concierge service to recommend a restaurant for our rehearsal dinner after a last minute change and the restaurant they recommended was fantastic - Pacific Coast Grill - a definite dinner spot for anyone looking for delicious food and ocean views. We all stayed in Plaza guest rooms which were decorated in beautiful hacienda style, were exceptionally clean, very spacious and had a super comfy King bed. The adult edge pool was superb. We loved the laid back atmosphere and the views of the golf course from the infinity pools were fantastic. We enjoyed a couple of delicious bites in the sports bar and yummy cocktails out beside the fire pits during our stay which was great fun. The day of our actual wedding went without a hitch. The resort wedding coordinator Jessica Bradford was excellent from beginning to end and worked really well with our superb wedding planner Megan Sholdar, who Jessica actually recommended to us. The food, drinks and staff working at our wedding were all amazing and helped make our day even more special. The town of Carlsbad is very close by with quaint shops and eateries and the nearby Broken Yolk cafe is a must for breakfast or lunch. The beach is also only 10 minutes away. My husband and I are looking forward to returning to La Costa in the very near future to experience the excellent resort all over again.

Room Tip: The plaza King guest room is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    526
    299
    178
    122
See reviews for
853
420
165
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Omni took over La Costa on July 1 2013. This was my was first stay following that transaction. Very disappointing .... level of service has certainly dipped. Not likely to return to this property. The famous La Costa service and amenities are gone .... replaced with sterile corporate deal. Not for me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Koorenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TylerPringle, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Koorenny M: We are sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience while visiting us. Outstanding service is of paramount importance to our resort, and that has been further emphasized since becoming an Omni property. We pride ourselves on helping our guests connect with what matters most to them, and we hope you will re-consider Omni La Costa again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a beautiful resort and very peaceful. The area is great. We will consider going back and hope they correct some of the maintenance issues we mentioned to them that is not the standard of Omni.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hills, Ca
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Amazing pools, lots of activities for families and adults. Lots of great amenities like fitness classes, movie nights, live music. Convenient location to San Diego. Gorgeous Spanish style resort. Comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van Nuys, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a great time on our family vacation. Came with our (almost) 4 year old girl who had a blast at the pools and kid's club! Room was clean and fresh. Waitstaff at restaurants were beyond accommodating. Don, who helped us with Family S'Mores night was wonderful! Restaurants are pricey, but food pretty good (especially dinners). There are also many restaurants outside resort (within 5 miles or so) that are tasty and don't cost as much. Would return to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Karyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had just one extra night in the Carlsbad area after a long weekend for a family wedding. We took advantage of staying at the Omni La Costa for the night. It was a great location, good food, shops to check out and a nice little coffee shop to get a cold drink. The grounds were nicely maintained. Lots of activities for any age to participate in. We are thinking of taking our adult children and grandchildren there for a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REDONDO BEACH, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We spent the night at La Costa for my daughter's 16th b-day. She had a room with 3 of her friends and we were in another room. They treated her so well, even sent chocolate covered strawberries to the room. We all had a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
4.9 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 279 in San Diego
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
13.1 mi away
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Property: Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing