We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster with a capital D”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
San rafael
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disaster with a capital D”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

WARNING- do not come here for the pool. They oversell memberships to locals and there is literally no room in the pool for hotel guests. It is so crowded that the water is murky. Not sure where else to start- tried to check in at 3, didn't get a room til 5 ( after I went to the front desk to complain), room is crawling with ants, mattress is so old that the springs are flat, etc., etc. Just want to cry- everything else in the area is sold out so we're stuck here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marinated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Marinated: We apologize that it was a busy day at the pool and are so sorry that we didn't measure up during your visit. Thank you for sharing your feedback here and we will reach out to you about your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,520
    588
    333
    196
    138
See reviews for
1,046
472
178
707
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I found this hotel disappointing. I was hoping for a great family destinaton hotel and to get a massage. In the evening when we went to swim one pool was closed and there were no towels. Someone eventually found some room towels but seemed like poor planning. Kids menu was very poor and expensive. Kids activities were a sad day care type place for smaller kids and an arcade where I could pay someone hourly to watch my son armed with a fistful of purchased tokens play games. Neither of my kids were interested so no massage. Will not be back. Very expensive for a mediocre experience. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear AntoinetteM: Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay and for sharing comments that are valuable to our team. It's good to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and we apologize that you had trouble locating pool towels and finding the right activities for your family. We do appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I highly recommend this resort and spa. From the moment we arrived until the very end, it was a wonderful experience. The staff are extremely attentive and helpful. The resort is beautiful, clean and has everything you could possibly want. The Spa was amazing. So tranquil and relaxing. The food was also amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank marieh955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear MarieH: So pleased to hear that you enjoyed a tranquil and relaxing stay. We look forward to welcome you back to Omni La Costa Resort & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

this is a great hotel. that said we had a horrible night stay due to rude, loud, screaming neighbors that had way too many people in their room. multiple kids and adults in a single room! killed my mini vacation!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Kevin B: We appreciate that you liked the hotel. We hope that you're able to return for another visit soon and are happy to handle noise issues for you to ensure that you have a peaceful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

La Costa is a beautiful place. But, our room faced a busy street, so we had it changed. The new room was quite a hike to the parking lot. The rooms are nice and big, but with the high ceiling the acoustics were terrible. The echo was annoying. The noise between rooms was awful. Plumbing noise was also prevalent. The A/C fan was too noisy for sleeping, but it was too hot not to have it on. The bartenders were terrible. Couldn't make a Mai Tai or Long Island to save their lives. Ordered some chips and salsa by the pool. The chips were stale and out of the bottom of the bag (crumbs). We brought it to the server's attention. She apologized and brought up new stuff telling us that they opened a new bag for us. Muy agradable! You'd think for $9 for chips and salsa, you'd get fresh chips from the get go. It's a nice place from the outside and in pictures, but when you look at the details, it's not so special. There's a pretentious vibe as well. I guess being regular type folk, we shouldn't be hangin' with the upper crust.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The rooms are in very poor conditions for the price, the bathrooms were not clean, and they did not work. the beds were old and not in great shape. Could not get a good nite sleep. Your better off sleeping at motel 6. better rooms for your money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Will M: Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your comments certainly concern us and we are looking into them to rectify. We value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had an amazing family vacation at La Costa. The resort is beautiful, the staff is friendly, and all of the restaurants we tried had great service and excellent food. We had a drink at the lobby bar and it is a great place to watch a game on the big screen and at sunset you can walk outside and overlook the golf course sitting by a beautiful fire place. Our room was perfect for a family of four...lots of room in both the sleeping area and the bathroom and it overlooked the pool! With many pools, two beautiful golf courses and an amazing tennis facility there is no reason to ever leave the resort!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear ksshearer: We're so happy to hear that your family had an amazing vacation here! So glad you enjoyed the beauty of the resort and the friendliness of our staff. We hope Omni La Costa becomes a treasured family tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
12.2 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,962 reviews
16.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 278 in San Diego
1,723 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
3.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort & Spa

Property: Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing