We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying to be too many things to too many people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Trying to be too many things to too many people”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week in July as part of the PFC Fitness Camp, which was absolutely awesome! This review is not a review of PFC, but of the La Costa Resort itself.

The positives first - absolutely gorgeous grounds and gardens! Lovely exterior architecture - there is so much potential here.

The negatives - the resort is completely overrun with two different types of groups on the weekends. On one hand, there are large numbers of young families with many, many, young children. The main pools are crowded, loud and rather unpleasant, unless you enjoy being surrounded by screaming children. An attempt to escape to the "adult" pool will find you in a sea of young adults (or people who think they are young adults) partying to extremely loud music and attempting to make a pick-up. Simply put, on the weekends there is no way to escape the madness, with the exception of the spa pool.

Overall service is VERY slow - probably because there are not enough staff in place for the number of guests in the hotel. Our room phone could not receive incoming calls for the first 4 nights of our stay. Yes, that's how long it took to get fixed.

Restaurants - most of our meals were taken as part of the PFC program, so we had limited experience with the hotel restaurants. Again, service was very slow, and for a hotel that advertises itself as a "wellness" resort, there were not very many healthy options.

Bottom line - if you are here for the PFC experience - it's wonderful. The hotel itself leaves a great deal to be desired. Oh yes, and to self-park your car in a dirt lot will cost you $18/day. For that price, at least they could pave the lot!

Room Tip: if you want peace and quiet, avoid all rooms located near the main pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    534
    303
    181
    123
See reviews for
888
430
172
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Wonderful hotel! Every part of the LaCosta was beautiful and luxurious. Our family loved the pools and the slides. The hotel is enjoyable enough to not need to leave. The restaurants are definately resort prices, but we enjoyed everything we ate. The rooms were clean and very spacious, with high ceilings. We will definately return next summer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Brandie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

La Costa resort was great. They have many activities and the staff is awesome. Will definetly return. Also the spa has great services and is lots of fun. Special thanks to team member Tom S. For being extremely helpful and making our stay even better.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very nice hotel. Great amenities. Great attention. Good dining options to snack bars (24/7). I am not going to any other Hotel when I travel to San Diego in the future. I didnt try out the Golf Course due to time issues so I am going to be very happy to "have to" come back so I can fill the gap of that experience. The service was very kind and the best thing ever is to have a AAA SPA on premises mixed with the CHOPRA Center. If you like yoga and are into ayurveda and helathy eating - this is the place to be!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Beautiful, all inclusive resort! So many amenities, it'll make your head spin. Pools everywhere, super nice staff and convenient to good local restaurants if you want to get off the resort grounds. Beautiful golf courses and great tennis courts!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Heidi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a beautiful resort. A beautiful setting with a large golf course, a beautiful spa and many, many rooms.This is the perfect place for a conference or a family get together. And as mentioned in the title here, do not miss the "Falconry Class: An Intro to An Ancient Art" I had truly been planning a trip to Scotland or Dubai to experience Falconry up close. I no longer need to. The teacher, Ken, has such a love for the subject and the experience is so unforgettable, I really don't know how anyone could allow themselves to miss it. To have a large peregrine falcon fly from your arm only to return back to your arm after flight is a sensation difficult to explain. The other birds were just as majestic and beautiful, and the way Ken communicates his passion for this encounter makes it all the more enjoyable. I give the resort high marks for all they do to make your stay enjoyable...I give this class even higher marks for all the fun that was had. (By the way, I was the only one who attended. Lucky me. Thanks Ken. Will always remember it. -JP)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our stay was amazing and the hotel is exceptional in every way. All the staff were so nice and accommodating; best gym of any hotel I've ever stayed in; great pool; very kid friendly; GORGEOUS grounds.....we look forward to going back and I give it my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
4.9 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
16.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
7.0 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Property: Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing