We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to par, but........” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
hollywood, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not up to par, but........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2006

If you're traveling to California look at the responses from folks who live in California. It's a solid tip. They are much harder to please in their own neck of the woods. That said, we can be a bit harsh on our own.

La Costa was a premier property some years ago, and they've been trying hard to reacquire that stature. New lobby, new ballroom, redesigned grounds, and spa.

BEWARE, the "Spa Rooms" next to the Ballroom have new construction going on there, and parking is awful. I assume noise is awful, and heard that they had closed those rooms due to the issue for some time, but that's where they put us up. The Rooms are spacious, the pillows and bedding were premium, and the marble baths were sumptous.

We were fortunate that it was very quiet in this area, and that the rain probably kept the construction guys from making a diaster of our stay.

Legends Dining Room was not up to par either time we stayed here. The breakfast buffet is high priced, and for the same money you can have a much better buffer at the Four Seasons at the same price...actually less. Also, the spa is very high priced, and the fee to use the whirlpool, and so on, without "body work" is 60 bucks....30 after 5pm. I wasn't falling for that.

The tennis courts are awesome. My daughter and I played for free on New Years' Day, BUT they have a facility charge of $15 a person....no break for youngsters!!! I, for one, find it absurd to pay resort prices for a room and get charged for every amenity out top of it.

The Spa Rooms are nice, and have their own pool, and the main pool was redesigned and is quite good. BUT, the Spa Rooms are the second floor have NO ELEVATOR. Elderly or folks with issues won't care for those rooms at all. AND....the Spa Rooms are very far from the main clubhouse/lobby. We had to get the valets to come get us with the golf carts or vans and carry us up to the main areas.

Finally, there were plenty of kids, but this property really isn't close to being on par with...say...the Four Seasons...just up the hill...when it comes to stuff for kids to do.

Hope this helps. I'd probably stay again, but make sure you get a great rate. And if I had a choice in the price range, I'd stay at the Four Seasons up the road.

Helpful?
3 Thank leafnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    526
    299
    179
    122
See reviews for
856
422
166
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2005

My husband and I recently stayed 4 days at the La Costa Spa with a work related sales celebration. We had several group dinners, receptions on the patio and indivdual meals in the restaurant. The food was excellent for each event and they dealt with the crowd well. We had fun after dinner sitting outside around the "fire and ice" pit, enjoying the spa and taking several side trips. We went to the San Diego Zoo and took a wine country tour.
The room was spacious and comfortable, but pretty average and the bathroom and bedroom mirror had very poor lighting.

Helpful?
2 Thank pdxshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2005

Stayed in a plaza room three nights (great deal from hotels[...]: $225/night, third night free). From the reservation, they knew that we were a party of 2 adults and 2 kids (ages 2 and 4yrs) and I think they took that into consideration when they gave us our room: on the ground floor with french doors that opened to a nice grassy area where my kids expended excess energy, and also right next to the family pool. The heated family pool with beach was worth the money and more- we have priceless memories from all our fun (sand toys and pool floaties compliments of the hotel).

The reception staff and concierge were nice enough; the valets and housekeeping staff were friendlier and they're who you see more of anyway. The grounds are beautiful, the room was comfy with premium bedding and luxury bathroom. Sure, the self-parking lot was a bit far, but the valets were more than happy to give you golf-cart rides to and fro, as long as you ask for them outside of check-in/out times when they're swamped. Most of them even zipped away before we could offer a tip, which was pleasantly surprising when they didn't expect one. Also, we did the in-room check-out service and we weren't charged the resort fee nor the self-parking fee. Icing on the cake!

I enjoyed La Costa as much as I enjoyed Four Seasons Aviara, and the only difference I felt from La Costa's 4-star rating versus Aviara's 5-star is that Aviara had a pool attendant to bring towels and to refresh lounge chairs. So, if you have no problem fetching your own self-serve poolside towels, your family will have more fun at La Costa!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank luvaluva3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2005

We had a awesome time, the facilities are beautiful. Great gym and great service. We took my 7 year old to Legoland (La Costa has a great package deal) and the San Diego Zoo. Beautiful Spa, be sure to make reservation in advance. They also have great activities for kids, be sure to call ahead of time.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2005

If you want to be catered to and treated like royalty and have every whim and whimper attended to? This is the place to be!!
There is so much to do here....they have golf carts that take you everywhere, you just call and ask...they'll pick you up and cart you all over! They have so much to offer. Awesome rooms! Great views...lots of pools...shops, restaurants, bars!!<<Did I mention, bar? HAHA
You must check out the Blue Fire Grill and ask for Luis**he rocks and is so handsome**

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2005

Stayed at La Costa on a business trip and was very dissapointed in the service. For the prices charged (we called it La Cost Ya) the service should be top notch but the staff does not seem to care. Although check in is supposed to be at 4pm, had to wait over an hour for a room. Bathroom was not clean upon arrival and I was served a raw piece of meat at Legends.

On the plus side, the grounds are very nice. I would not stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Jae_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2005

Where do I start? We arrived right before our tee time, so we were rushing to the golf course. First, we needed to unload our luggage...we finally found the concierge, despite the poor signage throughout the resort. The concierge was of litttle help. In fact, when I called later in the stay they said that they would call me back in my room and they never did! The golf course was not very well maintained, and my boyfriend was forced to buy shorts because jeans were not permitted.

The spa was nice to lounge in although I did not try any treatments. There was only one bathrobe in the room, and it took a few hours for the other one to arrive. No turn-down service. The service was consistently bad...our valet drove us to our car instead of driving it to us. All of the staff seemed clueless.

The only positive thing was our dinner at Blue Fire. Not great service, but the food was excellent. We ate in the bar section, which was more intimate and quiet than the actual restaurant.

Overall, not worth the money. Having an identity crisis...is it a hotel, construction site, country club, or timeshare?

Helpful?
3 Thank bss5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
4.9 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
16.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
11.3 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 279 in San Diego
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Property: Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing