We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel 6 Carlsbad South
Nearby Hotels
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ocean Palms Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
14
27
23
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
27
23
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsralph's grocery storeroom was cleanconvenient locationwould stay againa great place to stayconveniencesinkmattress
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2011

What a nightmare! Checked in at 9:30 pm with my elderly father and had to vacate the room at 1am due to the room conditions. When I had to kill a cockroach before setting my bag down I should have left immediately! The tub drain was clogged and a foul odor was coming from all the drains in the room. Linens were marginally clean and towels were so thin I could see through them. The worst part was that the room had been sprayed with some type of chemical to cover odors and it was so toxic that both my dad and I were ill for more than 24 hours after vacating the room. The beds, carpets, drapes and pillows were saturated with this nasty smelling stuff. We did receive a full refund before leaving, but making a 90 year old man dress and go without a good night's sleep was not fun. For $30 more, we spent the next night in a Best Western that was immaculate and included breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla56161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed here for our trip to Legoland. It was very clean. The beds were uncomfortable, but what we expected. The staff was very helpful. There is a grocery store, Starbucks, and dining across the street. The beach is literally walking distance away. The room is SMALL though. There is not much room at all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cactuscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The rate was reasonable- $70 per night particularly for the area where hotels get very expensive. This was a better hotel than a 3 star we stayed at in San Diego that was double the price. We were here for two nights, and spent very little time in the hotel so it was good enough for a "crash pad" The bathroom was clean- showers were good. The bed was comfortable enough. Basic, average lodging.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JewelsandJarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

What a dive, $90.00 a night stayed only one of two nights. slept only 3 hours due to upstairs noise. Want to see a real bad room, check out the handicap room at this joint. Everything about this room....old

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mamerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Staff had treated us terribly, had been very loyal to Motel 6 for several years, because of this incident in Sept. 2010, we had decided to stay at the La Quinta Inn chain. Had a disabled spouse with me with his companion animal a cat (with Dr.s verification), had to be switched from one room to another, due to very strong paint smell in one room, the other room was filthy, the 3rd room was missing a chair, waited for a chair for an hour then they made us carry the chair to our room, from another room, was told we were not to keep our cat unattended in out room, and that we will be monitored, if we leave with out the cat to go to a restuarant they had said our cat would be removed, Pet Policy state we can leave the room, but to protect pet only when there was a need for house keeping, there is a flaw in the writing of the Pet Policy, we wanted to check out and get a refund the manager abruptly refused, we were there no more then an hour 1/2, so we gave up and drove 200 miles back to our home, the next day called the CEO in Texas to tell him about the problem that we had at this Carlsbad location, a woman answered the phone who was representing the CEO of Motel 6, she called the Motel 6 in Carlsbad, CA, 2 hours later she had called us back and had issued us a refund, and a free night stay, but was VERY UNAPOLOGETIC, but at least we were issued a refund, after what we were put through, the Texas CEO office, did listen to the problem, but needed to be pushed to resolve the problem. I use to love the Motel 6 chain, but not anymore fear that there unclear Pet Policy would disrupt any future vacations, we decided to stay at the La Quinta Inn Hotels, and put up the sign outside our hotel room door reads "Pet in Room" or the "Do not Disturb " sign, as we were made very comfortable by the La Quinta Inn's, this makes our trips more relaxing and stress free, as Motel 6 can no longer be trusted due to there is too much uncertainty as to whether an individual Motel welcomes the pet owner and allows them to visit the local sights while traveling with pets. For example La Quinta Inn is very clear that the pet owner is welcome to allow pets in the room while there off sight visiting the local area. As you are doing the market research you should note that with the current economic situation people place a higher priority on their pets, and Motel 6 with there unclear subjective policy will loose market share. Can a Pet be left in a room while the guest is out at a restaurant? or Can a pet be left in a room while a guest is sight seeing? and what ever happened to the Motel 6 Do not Disturb signs. In closing, I give high marks to the Anaheim, CA Motel 6 on Disney Way, they were wonderful, would like to return to that location but in fear of the uncertain Pet Policy, we can no longer stay at Motel 6 until the uncertain or unclear Pet Policy is address Nationally, when we Pet Owner's start seeing it in an ad then we'll come back, other wise trust has been broken and the damage has been done.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews