We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad and good - next time plan ahead”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Carlsbad South
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were evacuated for the Cocos ie San Marcos Fire - this was only place we found that would take dogs.
The good - appears to have been recently renovated, hard floors (think faux wood which is fine)
The bad - although we were really lucky to get a room due to the 10's or thousands evacuated, I am not sure that the room was thoroughly cleaned before we checked in. There were some hairs and something else on the sheets and I have to admit, if we hadnt been evacuated I would probably have left.

Plus now at 12 days past, my son has a lice infection on his head. From my research, and the size of the bugs, they would have had to "arrive" at around 10 to 15 days ago. So the probable cause especially as we were inside and did not go anywhere until the following Monday is the motel.

I agree that there are definitely permanent tenants there - the side facing the street (vs freeway) had some questionable sorts who obviously lived there. They had coolers and knew each other. There are strawberry fields close so maybe migrant workers.

Again it served our purpose, and we just stayed in our room as the county burned. Luckily our house didnt catch on fire.

Room Tip: the highway side is noisy but more tourists less permanent residents
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanDiegoMom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We checked out our standby, Palomar Inn and found they have upgraded which means more $$$. Since it also eliminated continental breakfasts as well and NO senior discount it would have been $70 plus TAX! Up the 5 to Carlsbad we called Motel 6 and found a room w/ 2 beds, great TV, WiFi , but no breakfast for $65 (w/ senior discount). Very convenient, clean, and friendly. Palomar Inn not so friendly anymore! Thus, we've found our New digs heading N!

Room Tip: If over 60 ask for senior discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blunderbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great rate and fairly quiet for being adjacent to the freeway. Very, very clean - good TV - and comfortable bed. Staff was excellent and there's plenty of parking. Close to small mall and many restaurants. Most motels don't have good hot water or towels - this place does!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoganGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We just needed a place to stay before hitting the airport the next day and were tired so ended up here. Very basic, older hotel, the room wasn't bad and the bed was decent. It was reasonably priced but kindof weird that I had to go back to the front to pay $3 extra for a wifi card.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatkidfromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 days here over the 2013 Christmas holiday season. This place is basically a place to sleep. Rooms are modern and clean, but they don't even supply you with coffee in the rooms. It's close to the beach and a nearby mall. They also have a pool which we didn't use so I can't comment on it. Staff are friendly and helpful. Laundry services are available near the front office.

I would recommend this place if you have a tight budget.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Cangoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Motel 6 has a reputation for being the low end of the low end. However, as a budget traveler, I have discovered some Motel 6's that are fantastic exceptions. Motel 6 in Carlsbad on Raintree is one of these places. I have been staying here from time to time since 1997. It gets better every time. It is extremely clean and feels very safe and is adjacent to nice restaurants, shops and the beach. I styaed here recently and discovered that they have remodeled/upgraded the rooms. If you're on a budget and are looking to stay in the Carlsbad area, don't overlook this property.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

5 starts to Amy F. for fantastic service....Did not arrive till 1:30 am..Amy smiled, welcomed us and was a complete joy...I accidently gave her $20.00 too much for our room...And she realized it and returned promptly to let me know. Her cash drawer was out of site and If it wasn't for her honesty I would have never known...You are a doll Amy and thank you so much for that. Check out Xadira and Emily were outstanding...Such sweet girls...So friendly and warm...Really concerned about out stay and How was our room...FANTASTIC... Motel 6 recently remodeled...Hard wood floors...new mattresses...pillows...counter tops and sinks...and fresh paint...Bright orange on one wall made the room feel modern and new...European flair...

Room Tip: Room 149 was 3 doors down from the parking lot..and ice machine...Lovely court yard with pool...thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cedar240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#26 of 36 in Carlsbad
363 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
116 reviews
4.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Carlsbad South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Carlsbad South

Address: 750 Raintree Dr, I-5/San Diego Freeway at Poinsettia Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3206
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: £46 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Carlsbad South 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Carlsbad South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Carlsbad South Hotel Carlsbad
Motel Six Carlsbad
Carlsbad Motel Six
Carlsbad Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing