We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Carlsbad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Carlsbad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We have stayed at the Carlsbad Residence Inn for 15 years (since they opened). We come back every year because we are treated like VIPs (even though we are not)! The staff goes out of their way to accomodate any need you may have, the newly renovated rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and of course, the hotel offers free hot breakfast items (eggs, pancakes, etc., etc.). The location is perfect for getting on Rt. 5 to all the attractions in San Diego. Needless to say, we will be back again at the Carlsbad Residence Inn when we return to California.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Kathleen K,

First let me thank you for your 15 years of loyalty to the Residence Inn Carlsbad. I am thrilled to hear that you found our renovated rooms to be comfortable. We are very happy with the renovation. I'm glad we could get your mornings started right with our complimentary breakfast. Most of all I am glad to hear the kind words about our great staff. I think we have a wonderful team, and it's guests like you that help us to be the best hotel in Carlsbad.

I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Carlsbad.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    95
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
199
32
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed there for a month the staff was extremely helpful during my stay from directions to local places to eat and shopping Alex Tranter and Geoff were awesome. thanks for making my extended stay fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
William G,

Thank you for the great review. It was a pleasure to serve you for an entire month! Thank you for mentioning Alex and Geoff. They are really great assets and I am pleased that they helped you navigate and unfamiliar city with some great local secrets.

Please come see us again soon.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for two months after relocating to North San Diego County from the SF Bay Area. We were truly homeless while we house hunted and the room was great for us to establish our base of operations and keep the wheels of commerce moving. The staff was attentive and very friendly including the housekeepers who cleaned the room daily. The front desk staff greeted us by name and were very helpful for restaurant suggestions or any other needs.

I liked the breakfasts and the evening suppers and was pleasantly surprised that they had a keg of Stone a Pale Ale as the beer choice! Stone is one of San Diego's best microbreweries and this was a great upgrade from the usual cans of Bud Light that are usually found at these receptions.

A nice quiet, clean room with a kitchen, daily maid service, full breakfast daily and the suppers four nights a week with the Thursday barbecue and the Stone Pale Ale. A great value and a great location. Trent was a very cordial host and often came by to chat at supper time.

The hotel also had a small workout room, a nice fire pit, wide screen TV by the pool and patio heaters.

We had a great stay!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in the back and it was nice and quiet. Also very convenient to the laund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
John S,

Thank you for the great review! It was our pleasure to serve you for those 2 months while relocating to the area. I enjoyed talking beer and telling you about our great breweries in the micro-brew capital of the world! Don't forget to check out Stone's Escondido and Liberty Station locations for great food and great beer. Also, URGE in Rancho Bernardo.

It is great that the Monday through Thursday social hours (along with Stone Pale Ale!) and daily breakfast met your needs. It sounds like the rooms and outdoor space also met your needs well. Most of all, thank you for recognizing our staff. They are our greatest assets and appreciate the recognition.

Best of luck in the new house and please keep in touch.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

As a road warrior with too many hotel stays during the past year it is with pleasure that I can write this review for this excellent property. The hotel is easy to find and has a clean, well maintained look about it as you first approach. The reception staff are pleasant, knowledgeable and appear glad to see you. This property has recently been upgraded/refurbished and it shows. The layout and public areas are inviting, clean and well thought out. The pool area has new heaters, large TV and plenty of places to comfortably sit and relax. The rooms are spacious and are also well designed. The addition of simple touches such as a curved shower rail that keeps the quality shower curtain from clinging to you and the small built in tray for your keys and small items on the edge of the sofa with power is perfect. There are power sockets right by the sofa and a sofa side table that slides under the comfortable modern sofa that allows you to relax watching TV but still be connected to the outside world with the quick wireless internet. The manager has an evening food and drink reception that provides excellent quality and choice of food and drinks. This is all complimentary and the included breakfast has the same high standards of choice and quality. I spoke with the manager of the hotel on my first evening reception; enjoying my complimentary Stone IPA and it is very clear that Trent has the experience, personality and drive to know what people want in a good hotel and has put that knowledge to great use at this property. Most importantly he seems to care about what he is doing and how to make a stay in this hotel a stay to remember. I will definitely return on my next stay in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Nigel A,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our modern upgrades and newly upgraded internet service. Thank you for pointing out that our new rooms have outlets everywhere so you can work where you want as opposed to where the outlets dictate.

Public areas were also a priority during our recent renovation. From our media pods for a quick meeting, to our outdoor space with heaters, there is something for everyone! Even with our spacious rooms, it is nice to get out of them for a bit and be social while on the road. Our signature social hour Monday - Thursday evening is a great time for us to get to know our guests better. I am usually here at least one of those nights and it is my favorite time of the week. Being able to connect and talk to our guests beyond the normal check in/out is an amazing opportunity. Speaking to you, I was even able to talk about my upcoming trip to your home country and your experiences after relocating east from San Diego. It was a memorable conversation for me as well.

I am pleased to hear that you will be back and I look forward to seeing you then!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn in Carlsbad for two months after we relocated to the area. It was a great place for us while we searched for a home. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Everyone - Alex, Nick, Juan, Jackie and Trent - were very friendly as well as knowledgeable about the area. The hotel was very clean, and breakfast each day and dinner four nights a week helped us save some money. The location was excellent as well. We truly enjoyed our stay - it was a great "home" for us while we conducted our house hunt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Allison S,

Thank you for staying with us in Carlsbad while relocating to San Marcos! Also, thank you for the great review. We are pleased that you found our location central and a home base while house hunting. It is great that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and that our Monday - Thursday social hour not only helped you save money, but helped you get to know our staff better. Thank you for mentioning so many of them. They are our greatest asset! They love to see their name on these reviews!

Keep in touch!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

You wont find a better place. Our family stayed here 3 1/2 months with our young daughter and pets while relocating to the area. We had absolutely no complaints! Rooms are very clean, beds are fantastic, breakfast included has something for everyone. They have a nice social event Mon.-Thurs. offering a light meal and salad including wine and beer which is a nice touch after a long day. The management team and staff are top notch! I have never met a more caring, friendly and professional group of people, We truly consider them to be friends. Everyone there is very special but I must mention Marcus.....We became frantic one late evening because our cat was missing. Marcus immediately started helping us search and crawled under cars until he was able to grab our beloved cat. He is our hero!!! I don't think we would have her today without his determination! We are forever grateful.

Last but not least! The hotel value is incredible......Think about it, you could pay the same rate elsewhere and all you get is a room!

Thank You, Geoff, Trent and staff for a great stay. We miss you!
Nanette and family, Trixie too (cat)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Nanette E,

Thank you for the great review. We enjoyed hosting your family for a few months while you and your family were relocating to Carlsbad. We are pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms, great beds, and breakfast each day. Our Monday-Thursday social hour, with beer and wine, is definitely a popular with our guests.

Thank you for mentioning so many of our great staff members. I realize it is hard to list everyone but I know you enjoyed everyone that you encountered. We are even more pleased that you mentioned Marcus' heroics in recovering Trixie. I don't think cat finding is on the job description (or a daily request) but I am so thrilled that he helped in that stressful situation.

Thank you again for the great review. Please stay in touch!

Warmly,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here when we went to Legoland. They had a nice BBQ supper the night we arrived and a decent hot breakfast everyday. The room was clean and comfortable The hotel was also very quiet as I am a light sleeper. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Twindad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Twindad2013,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. It is great that you were able to sleep well in our clean comfortable rooms. Our signature breakfast and Thursday night BBQ nights are definitely popular spots for our guests.

We hope you and the family join us again soon for another LegoLand trip! We will be here, ready to welcome you back.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.6 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#26 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Address: 2000 Faraday Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Carlsbad is centrally located just a few miles from LEGOLAND, Carlsbad Beaches, LEGOLAND Water Park, SEALIFE Aquarium, and the flower fields. IT is also just a short drive to the Safari Park, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and many San Diego attractions. The Residence Inn offers free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, and a evening social hour Monday through Wednesday with free beer and wine. All suites offer tons of space and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Residence Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing