We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PCSing to Camp Pendleton? Stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My family, including our two cats, stayed here for five nights after vacating our house and awaiting our flight to our next duty station overseas. The location was good for us since we were still cleaning and making repairs to our house in Carlsbad. We rented a car from the nearby Avis location at Palomar Airport. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the front gate of Camp Pendleton - making it a perfect location for families PCSing with pets (request the government rate).

Staff at the front desk were always very friendly and helpful: providing sunscreen for our daughter who was enjoying the pool (even in February), arranging a late check-out for us while I was frantically packing for our long flight and offering to help any way they could. Since we had pets, the front desk also made special arrangements for cleaning our room.

The warm breakfast buffet (waffles, oatmeal, toast, muffins) was fine. Too bad there wasn't a Starbucks located in the food court across the street. My husband appreciated the Stone beer on tap during the hospitality hour. We had hoped the "light dinner fare" would suffice for dinner, but we decided to eat out or get take-out most nights. There are several new, casual restaurants nearby on Palomar Airport Road and El Camino Real (next to Lowe's) and also at Bressi Ranch. Of course, the rooms have kitchenettes, too.

There were a few minor maintenance issues during out stay (a loose cupboard handle, a missing shower knob, and broken dryer in the laundry room) that we didn't even bother to report - except the dryer. I also wish there had been recycling bins in the rooms for paper and bottles.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khakola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff W, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

khakola,


Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad we could provide a place for your family and pets to use as home base during your transition. I'm glad you found our front desk staff friendly and accommodating. We are very proud of our team. It's nice to be able to enjoy the pool in February. We get spoiled with our nice weather in Carlsbad.

While the property is kind of tucked away it is nice to have options such as Bressi Ranch nearby. I'm glad your husband could enjoy a nice cold Stone Pale Ale in the evening.

We wish you all the best in your new location, and hope to see you again if your travels ever bring you back through Carlsbad.


Sincerely,

Geoff Waddell
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Thursday night had complimentary BBQ. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. The hotel was well kept and clean. Room was quiet. My kids thought the room was awesome. My kids and wife went to LEGOLAND while I was at business and the complimentary shuttle from the motel took good care of them. Staff, room, breakfast were all great. As good a stay as anyone could hope for. Also a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Greg R,

Thank you for spending 3 nights with us while on business! It is great that the family was able to join you and go to LEGOLAND at the same time. I am glad that they were able to take advantage of our scheduled LEGOLAND shuttle runs and the rest of our great amenities like complimentary breakfast. The new renovated rooms are certainly great but I am most proud of our staff for showing you and your family our famous hospitality.

We hope to see you and the family again soon. Maybe next time, they can see the Safari Park and Sea World!

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The staff couldn't be more friendly. We had a great time here. Free beer and wine during happy hour and always a great meal. My whole family had a blast. I highly recommend staying here. My kids never wanted to leave. They have a heated pool, a 72" flat screen, a basketball court and much more.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Jessevilla,

It is so awesome that you and your family had a great time here. I know that my kids love hotels as well. Something about elevators and keycards are fascinating! The heated pool and outdoor big TV are certainly fun too. We love our Monday-Thursday social hour as much as our guests. Something about free beer and wine makes many people happy!

Thank you for pointing out the friendly staff service. At the end of the day, they are truly what sets our hotel apart.

Safe travels!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed for 1 week in 2 bedroom suite, everything was excellent from the staff to the rooms.
We only stay at Marriott properties because they are consistently clean and the staff are always polite and eager to meet your needs.
This property is 3.3 miles away from LEGOLAND. (6 minute drive)
They also provide a free shuttle.
Hot breakfast in the morning and evening dinner/snack at night with free beer & wine.
Treat yourself to best and choose Marriott. (I do not work for Marriott)

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites have 2 bathrooms, kitchen and a separate living room. (very spacious)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Patrick Y,

Thank you for the great review. it is awesome that you made us your base while visiting LEGOLAND! Thank you for being such a loyal Marriott guest. It is great that you not only recognize the consistency, but also the great staff service. Thank you for pointing out our proximity to LEGOLAND and the great breakfast and Mon-Thurs social hour with beer and wine. Those are great conveniences when travelling with family.

Thank you again for the review and recommendation to others.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

P.S. I am sorry for the delay in reply. I see you submitted this review a week ago but it did not show up until today on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during my sons LEGOLAND Robotics competition. We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite. There were 2 kids and 3 adults until the last night when my son joined us then we were 3 and 3. We picked this property because we wanted to cook in on a few night and when we booked we asked if they had an oven and was told yes.
The front desk staff is AMAZING! They were so accommodating and kind. We checked in close to 7pm and Kelli checked us in. We asked if there was a store nearby and she immediately asked what we needed. I told her we needed some milk for my son's sippy cup and she went to the back and brought back 2 cartons of milk from their morning buffet. She didn't even hesitate! We went up to our room and immediately noticed that there was no oven just a burner. We went back down and talked to Kelli and told her what we were promised. We told her we had picked up a pizza to bake in the oven and she immediately offered to buy us pizza dinner. She gave us the menu and told us to order and they they would take care of the bill when the pizza was delivered. That was exactly what happen. It was really good pizza plus we were starving from traveling all day. We tried to get into a 2 bedroom (because they have a stove) but they were booked. We ended up eating out the rest of the nights but the free pizza dinner the first night was certainly appreciated!
The room was a lot smaller than what we had expected. The bedroom itself is closed off with a door and was a great size as was the 1 bathroom but the dining room area and living area are pretty small for the 5 and then 6 of us. I would say that this room is better suited for a couple with 1 small child or 2 kids. There was a pullout sofa bed in the living room. Not super comfortable by any means but I have never really found one that it is.
My daughter swam in the outdoor heated pool every night and had a blast, it was a very nice pool. Breakfast in the morning was really nice. Hot items included pancakes, eggs, waffle maker, potatoes, French toast, biscuit and gravy. They had cold cereal, yogurt, toast and pastries. The seating area was nice, got a little crowded during peak times and wasn't really an area for large groups. We just ended up pulling the small circle tables together. They never had a problem keeping the food stocked, they never ran out of anything. They really need more trashcans though, they were tiny and constantly full.
I would definitely come back but stay in the 2 bedroom for sure.
In all we had a pleasant stay and were very impressed by the staff here. Great customer service is a hard thing to find and we were pleasantly impressed and relieved to have found it here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

CbnCampy,

Thank you for the thoughtful and detailed review! Thank you for choosing us to be your base while at the LegoLand competition. It sounds like the stay didn't start exactly as planned but it is awesome to hear that Keli stepped up and made a gesture to make it right. I travel with my family as well and I realize the importance of the kitchen to recharge after a long day. Indeed we do have a few rooms with full ovens including our two bedroom units so that sounds like a great option for next time.

We are also pleased that your daughter enjoyed our warm pool in the evenings and that our breakfast helped start the day off right. We can be busy but try to balance that with additional seating outside and in our meeting room.

Thank you so much for the compliments on our staff and service. It sounds like they were the highlight of the stay and we will definitely share your feedback with them. We hope your travels bring you back to Carlsbad and LegoLand soon!

Safe travels,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed for the weekend so we could hit up the local skateparks. We walked into the lobby and were greeted with a warm smile and it looked and smelled so clean. Our room was so beautiful! I love the decor and colors. Even the courtesy shampoo and conditioner, Paul Mitchell brand! My kids had a blast night swimming in the heated (to 85*F) pool. Waking up to a hot breakfast with so many choices was an added bonus. This place is awesome and we were so pleased with our stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurenKindstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

LaurenKindstrand,

Thank you for the great review and positive compliments! It is great that you an your kids could start the day with a great breakfast before heading out to the skate parks and then winding down in the heated pool at night in our (near) perfect Carlsbad weather. The Paul Mitchell bath products are definitely awesome. We are pleased that you enjoyed the room decor and cleanliness. Thank you for also pointing out the warm greeting from our staff. They are the first impression and we our proud of our team.

Please come back to see us again soon.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a few days while visiting family. Had room in The Summits. Roomy and comfortable. Hotel van took me anywhere on the property. Had meals in the Hyatt on the same property and the Argyle Restaurant. Both very good. Sitting by the pool with food service is great.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank oenophile1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

oenophile1230,

Thank you for the compliments about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed all of our amenities. Please come back and see us again soon.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.6 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
0.9 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 2000 Faraday Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-7229
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £123 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Carlsbad is centrally located just a few miles from LEGOLAND, Carlsbad Beaches, LEGOLAND Water Park, SEALIFE Aquarium, and the flower fields. IT is also just a short drive to the Safari Park, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and many San Diego attractions. The Residence Inn offers free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, and a evening social hour Monday through Wednesday with free beer and wine. All suites offer tons of space and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Residence Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing