We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
US$299
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$114
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Palms Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$404
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$220
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$359
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,339)
Filter reviews
1,339 results
Traveller rating
683
388
143
72
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
683
388
143
72
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate entrance to legolandself parking feehotel restaurantlego landvisiting legolandprivate accesslarge poolping pongunderground parkingnice propertypool sideearly checkocean viewhotel guestsoutlet mallgreat poolshort drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
614 - 619 of 1,339 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Trip started with us booking four nights at a Westin in Palm Desert. My wife wanted to also see the ocean, so we searched for a place to use some of our SPG points and found the Sheraton Carlsbad for an addon to our initial plans. Had a great two night stay. Checking was a breeze. Room was very elegant and comfortable. Handicap bathroom met all of my wife's needs. Nice dinner the day we arrived and breakfast the day we left. Great view of the distant ocean from the front of the hotel. Liked it all so much that we pre paid a 4-day, 3-night stay for anytime in the coming year.

Only complaint was lack of a handicap parking space in the underground garage near the elevator to our room. Hotel has a lot of their own stuff stashed where the handicap parking space should be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We're having an event here, in Grand Pacific Ballroom A. we bring our own sound and power cords, but this room didn't have a power outlet except on the far side of the room (by the round table on the far left of the picture). Our extension cord wasn't long enough to get the power where we needed it in the back of the room, so after asking to borrow one from the hotel, i was told there was a charge. I discussed with the banquets person at the hotel the fact that the ballroom was clearly poorly designed and the hotel SHOULD just let us use one without a charge, but altho it didn't make sense, the staff would still have to charge us. Petty yes, but I think it speaks volumes on their willingness to be even slightly hospitable. Admitted that yes it makes sense that the right thing to do is not charge us, but not being able to because of rules. I don't even know how much they charged for it, but it's all principal. Beautiful hotel. Stupid people.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank chriscQ7435UL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I don't understand how anyone could not have a great stay at the Sheraton Carlsbad resort. Comfortable beds in a large room, conference center is amazing, all the employees at the conference center bend over backward to make things run smoothly. A big thanks to Carolyn for taking care of us at all our meals. Jason was not only there for us every day making sure all was good but he's a comedian as well. Nick was also there every day making sure we had everything we needed. Thank you again!! If you have a business need in Carlsbad the Sheraton is definitely the only choice!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank 2g-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Everything about the Sheraton Carlsbad was fine, even better than fine but nothing measured up to a true 4-star hotel/resort.

Staff was pleasant but the level of service was off not first class.

The restaurant itself was average, but the food was truly great. The poached eggs were flawless and the charcuterie board was outstanding. The way they were served was, again, average at best.

The room was a good size, quiet and comfortable but it's decor was a bit sterile. Nothing bad but nothing special. At every turn the entire resort was good but not great.

The spa services were limited (only a steam room) but the massage was heavenly. The locals special (massage and lunch) is a good value and makes for a nice day.

$12 parking fee for a suburban hotel us a total tip off and feels like being nickel and dimed as does the $12 resort fee. Really????

There are better choices for the money but this got is nice enough.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank ConVivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We've stayed in better places and certainly far worse, but for the money this place was not a good choice. Valet parking for those who can afford it @ $16.00 a day or $12.00 PER DAY remote parking for the rest of us, paying guest or not! That was justified, I was told in order to keep out poachers from LEGOLAND, the adjoining property. Expect a quarter of a mile walk or more to your room and don't under tip the baggage porter (after you tip the parking valet each time you park). Starbucks coffee in the room was nice but 1 creamer per thin paper cup was chintzy. $$$$ room service menu. The TV was on the dresser about 36" off the floor so that you couldn't see it comfortably from the bed and there was only one chair. NO coffee in the lobby, only in the restaurant, not even a cookie like you might get at some classy places. We were there for a wedding reception but there was no private area, only a shared venue outside the bar and NO music allowed. Our group exceeded 40 guests, over 20 rooms with no group discount. We ere charged over $20 a night extra for an "coastal view" but you would have to walk over to within 2 feet of the window to get just a glimpse of the coast. We'd have been better of to keep the extra cash, look at the hills and give the money to the bride and groom. Service was good but even soft drinks from the bar were quite pricey. Nothing was a value here!

Room Tip: Coastal view premium charge was not worth it!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billlane5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry to hear that we were not right hotel for you. If you have the opportunity I would love to hear additional feedback on how we could have exceeded your expectations.
Sincerely,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews