We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Clean, Stellar View, Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Clean, Stellar View, Resort”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very clean, quiet, and comfortable room. Views include the Pacific Ocean and the city of Carlsbad, Ca. The lobby is expansive and the pool and hot tub are large, clean, kid friendly. If you plan on visiting to LEGOLAND, there is a private entrance from the resort to LEGOLAND. Excellent perk. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room in advance. We had a room that was over the parking garage and we hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasEyedoc2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    366
    128
    68
    48
See reviews for
700
187
29
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Steven, the valet and shuttle operator was great. He went above and beyond to make make stay awesome. He even found an item in the shuttle that fell out of my bag and returned it to me.
Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The grounds, pool area are beautiful. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are so comfortable. It was nice and quiet at night. The staff was very accommodating. Enjoyed every minute of my stay here and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There is no "coastal" view so it's worth it to stay in building one and forgo the &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationdreamer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Overall it was a nice enough hotel, staff were friendly and facilities were clean. Toilet overflowed first night and maintenance guy fixed up but it took two calls and a visit to the front desk to get someone to come clean up the floor. Next morning the toilet seemed blocked again but we were checking out so didn't worry. Great location for legoland and not to far to drive into town. Probably wouldn't go back.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Jennifer at the front desk was outstanding in finding us just the right room! We were pleasantly surprised at the nicely expanded restaurant and the highly upgraded pool area. I felt valued and important as an SPG Platinum member (for a change). We met some new friends at the pool also enjoying the beautiful weather. Underground parking wonderful. Jacuzzi hot with strong jets.
This property hit on all four cylinders for me and my wife this time. Great cheap drinks and friendy bartenders in the lounge.

Room Tip: Jennifer at the front desk was outstanding in finding us just the right room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRP126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

As a frequent traveler and Starwood Platinum member, I have mixed feelings about the Sheraton brand. They are wildly inconsistent, you never know what you’re going to get. The photos on the website always look great…

In this case, I got way more than I imagined, especially at the $165 rate.

I was on a business trip and needed to stay near Encinitas, so I booked a night here, and one night at the dreadful Sheraton La Jolla, 10 miles south (see my other review). Talk about night and day differences.

The Carlsbad property is perched on a hill and is resort-like with beautiful grounds, a nice pool area and a nearby golf course. The rooms are spacious and modern. I got upgraded to a 2-room suite with a patio, which was exceptional.

The lobby, bar and restaurant have an open, airy feel and you can eat and drink outside. I witnessed a particularly beautiful sunset. Bar service (at the bar) was indifferent and not especially friendly. The 20-somethings seemed more interested in talking to themselves about their social lives than engaging customers.

I was a little wary of the location when I booked this stay because of its proximity to Lego Land, an amusement park, but it was an unfounded fear. The park is low profile and is set below the hotel surrounded by trees and is barely noticeable. It’s all pretty low-key by amusement park standards.

The Carlsbad area was nice surprise. It is open, modern clean and has a great little airport. In fact, if I return to this area, I’m going to check into flying here directly.

Of course, the beach is the big attraction and besides the huge, monolithic de-salinization plant, it is very nice. The village itself is pretty congested, so park where you can and walk.

Bottom line- if you are visiting this are I would highly recommend this hotel, even if you have to drive from La Jolla, Oceanside, Encinitas, etc. This is a no-brainer for families on vacation but even if you’re on a business trip, you’ll have a vacation-like experience at regular hotel prices.

Room Tip: Fly into Carlsbad directly if you can. It's small, close by and has Hertz and Avis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dupedtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I recently had the please ure of staying at this beautiful hotel. We were planning a trip to legoland and it's close proximity made it a perfect choice. Some if the reviews I read were very discouraging and I was worried about what we would find. This hotel was absolutely stunning!! My kids had a great time playing in the huge pool. The view on both sides was breathtaking. My room had doors that opened to a small porch with gorgeous grounds beneath. The room itself was very new, fresh and clean. The bathroom was generously sized and modern. And last but not least our beds were the most comfortable I have slept on ever. It's been two weeks latter now and I'm still dreaming about those awesome beds. We greatly enjoyed our stay snd can't wait to return. This hotel was a two minute walk from legoland which was a great plus we did nit need are car and could even come back in middle of the day to refresh and eat lunch.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandmandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.3 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
1.4 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa

Property: Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Address: 5480 Grand Pacific Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Los Angeles and San Diego, we're adjacent to Legoland CA and provide a refreshing retreat in a charming coastal community. Onsite we have over 30,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing