We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great for business and pleasure. Wonderful service and quality fit out. Next door to LEGOLAND for the kids and close to outlet mall and town/beach etc. Highly recommended. If travelling by car a really central spot and not far to San Diego for sea world etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davemc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

I booked last minute while in Carlsbad on business. Booked via the Starwoods IPad app. I was expecting the run of the mill Sheraton. The hotel for sure exceeded my expectations. The guys at valet could tell that I had a long day and offered to pull my luggage out of the car for me as I checked in. I was in a handicap accessible room in a close to the lobby room 1304. Had a nice view, large room, large bathroom and a nice large bed.

Had a glass of wine at the Restaurant and received excellent service from Joey. I enjoyed breakfast in the room which was there on time and the poached eggs were excellent. The staff was excellent and I was very happy with my choice to stay here. I have been on the road for the past five days and this was my first good night sleep.

I was afraid with it being spring break and being so close to Lego land it would not be a good business hotel but I was completely wrong. This is a great place for families and business people. I highly recommend it. I will for sure stay here next time I am in Carlsbad.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank ledieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here in March for a conference. Nice rooms with well appointed finishes, courteous staff, and a pretty good bar! Great pool area, but could use more servers to look after the guests outside. Parking is a bit of a pain if you don't plan on using the valet service. Nice meeting rooms and conference facility

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Saturday night and the hotel has blocked off all the parking close to the hotel. Dozens of empty spots nearest the hotel that actual paying hotel guests are not allowed to use. A small armada of cars circling around looking for spots.

Parked 10 minutes from room. Manager happened to be at front desk and when I complained, he offered to upgrade me to valet, a generous $6 value. Fantastic. 20 minutes looking for spot, 10 minute hike to my room. Now he offers to let me hike back to my car and drive it back so it can be valeted. Rather than thoughtfully digesting and addressing the issue, he tried to buy me off (cheaply, at that).

It's actually a nice place, but being treated shabbily leaves a very bad taste. Would not stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank SoCalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived Saturday evening and stayed one night with our family. The room was very nice. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the staff was very accommodating for our large group that included several young grandchildren. My favorite thing about this hotel is that they hire mature staff. They were very caring and made sure that we got everything we needed. On Sunday our family went to Legoland through the back gate. I don't recommend that you buy the tickets at the hotel. It doesn't save you any time because you still have to wait for the people ahead to buy their tickets. The gate will grant you special offers such as a AAA discount. We plan to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I travelled to Lego Land with my toddler and chose this hotel because of its proximity to Lego Land and the pool area.

Location: Fantastic location. Less than 5 minute walk to Legoland. Unfortunately, there were no restaurants within walking distance.

Rooms: Rooms were great with very comfortable beds. Big plus that our room had a mini fridge for drinks and snacks.

Pool area: Pool water was cold so we spent most of our time in the hot tub, which was a good temperature for hanging out.

Staff: The front desk staff was friendly. However, the bell staff was not helpful at all. Upon arrival, the airport shuttle dropped us off at the front door. I had hand luggage, a car seat and my toddler. Not one of the three bell staff offered to help me even though they were all standing at the desk with nothing to do. On my way home, the airport shuttle came to pick me up and the bell hop would not let the driver pick me up from the front. They were very busy that evening but it was completely unreasonable not to allow us to load for 5 minutes. Also, don't depend on the courtesy shuttle. It is sparsely available.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Sheraton is situate with its own entrance to Lego Land a plus for those families making the trip to Lego Land, there is also a golf course next door so lots to do at the Sheraton. A short drive will get you to an outlet mall so no one can complain. The hotel pool and fitness facilities are excellent. The hotel guest have a garage to keep their car out of the sun. The room we had had a view toward the ocean and was superior, clean and well equipped. We enjoyed dinner in the dining room and found it hard to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trustingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.3 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
LEGOLAND California Hotel
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
3.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa

Address: 5480 Grand Pacific Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £130 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the California coastline between Los Angeles and San Diego adjacent to Legoland California, providing a refreshing retreat in a charming coastal community with restaurants and shopping galore. Onsite we have over 30,000 sq ft of event space for weddings, corporate events and meetings. The perfect location for everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing