We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“treated like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
cincinnati
1 review
“treated like royalty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

We had a wonderful time. The staff treated us like royalty! The weather was cool so it was great that the pool was heated. The spa was also top notch. We enjoyed a couples massage. I would definitely stay again. We are thinking about going back with the children and visiting Legoland

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrlvhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    361
    127
    66
    48
See reviews for
682
185
28
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
port st. lucie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

My friend made reservations directly with the hotel and prepaid for a weekend. My family was supposed to meet her. Unfortunately, my mother was rushed to the emergency room with what turned out to be septicemia. She almost died and her legs were almost amputated. We called Sheraton to try to move the reservation to the following week. Sheraton refused. It has a "no change" policy. The Carlsbad hotel manager wouldn't talk to me or return the call. I even offered to send the hospital paperwork to no avail. I'll never go to a Sheraton ever again. There's no humanity there.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank floridachik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratoncarlsbad, Director of Hotel Operations at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2009
Dear Floridachik,
Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your experinece with the Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa. I appreciate the time you must have spent to provide me your comments. I assure you that we give consideration for emergencies and that we will not charge in this type of situation. I have attempted to reach you via this site to discuss this with you personally. Please contact the hotel direct and ask to speak to the Director of Operations and I will make sure that this charge is adjusted. We are very glad to read that your mother is well!
Sincerely
Ms. Blake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

Really a lovely Hotel with beautiful rooms. Attended a Wedding recently but it also happened to be Prom night.
We stayed in Building 1 and called the front desk 4 times during the night for slamming doors and continuos noise. Finaly the police were called by hotel staff.
So, if you must stay here, inquire if any big parties or groups will be there the same night.
Absurd to charge $12 parking fee when you park in the parking lot across form the lobby. This was not negotiable at check out.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funbun55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, AL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

The manager of the Sheraton Carlsbad is to be commended. He or she has trained a wonderful staff and has put enough lipstick on a pig of a building to make a very acceptable hotel. I recently stayed at the Sheraton Carlsbad for a nearby seminar and was very impressed with the staff, the pool, the fitness facility, the restaurant, the room design, and the grounds. I cannot say enough about the outstanding service provided by the staff. Everybody from the doorman/bellmen to the front desk to the wait staff and the cleaning people were friendly and very professional. My gold standard for hotel service is the staff at the Ritz-Carlton. This staff was trained to that level. The pool and the fitness center were clean, attractive, and well equipped. I was able to do a health club level workout in a large and well equipped faciltiy. The restaurant was very nice with an interesting menu and quality food. I agree with a couple of other reviews in the food was geared for the business traveler and if the hotel is striving to attract the Legoland families it needs to create another restaurant with a "burger joint" menu. The room was well designed with a nice sized bathroom. The electronics were high tech, the a/c was quiet, the bedding was high end and comfortable, and the furniture was new and functional. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. All in all, a five star experience with the major exception of the quality of construction of the lodging buildings. The floors and walls were the thinnest of any hotel I have ever stayed at. I could hear every step the person upstairs took at night. I could actually hear the person in the next room cough. If I did not travel with a sound machine I would never have been able to get to sleep. With that exception, this is an outstanding hotel but do bring a sound machine.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auburn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonomacounty
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

We chose this hotel for the location. Right next door to Legoland that provides a private entrance that hotel guests can use. But the entrance is far away and up hill for tired children at the end of the day. It does save on parking at Legoland but you have to pay for parking at the hotel so you don't save any money. This hotel has been open for only a year so the rooms are very clean and attractive. This is a 3 star hotel because it does not provide some of the items you might expect if you travel a lot and are used to certain amenities. No robes in rooms for instance. The pool is child friendly, but the restaurant is not! Way too expensive with loud music the nights we ate there. Room service menu is very limited. Go off site and there are a lot of restaurants in Carlsbad. Upgrade to the Club Level and use the club lounge for breakfast in the morning and evening snacks/beverages. Some families actually fed their young children dinner by eating all the snacks. Tacky. If you go with children stay in building 1. The club lounge is there and you won't mind the sound of running feet and loud voices during the day. If you an adult, stay away from building 1. The site is very windy. Makes the pool quite cool even though it is "heated."
This hotel seems to be suffering from a mixed identity. It wants to appeal to families but also to adult parties, weddings etc.
Stay at the near by Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelermom52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

The hotel is very nice. It is new the pool and amenities are nice and it is right next to Legoland. However, we booked through Hotwire and were promply told we could only have a King Bed. In addition they were going to charge us $20 for a rollaway bed. I refused to pay that. A King Bed does not sleep 4 people and even with a rollaway that only comfortably sleeps 3. I was uncomfortable sharing a twin rollaway bed and did not sleep very well. My recommendation is to book directly with the hotel. I would have rather have stayed somewhere else to have a bed. It is just too expensive to waste money like that and have nowhere to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwest167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

This beautiful property is located adjacent to Legoland California Resort. There are a lot of amenities on the property, spa, pool, fitness center, etc. but realistically these are not that much better or more abundant than other similar properties. I was happy with the stay until the final bill came the morning of departure. $12 a day for self parking! This isn't downtown Chicago; mid-town Manhattan, or any inner-city. There are ACRES of parking around, though they have these mostly vacant (really) lots cordoned off as valet. Well, valet is great if you are going out to dinner; your wife is in heels, you might not be in shape to walk, but there should be some outside non-valet parking, and I didn't really see any--just crowded under-building garage. Then, they charged $12 a day. And another $12 a day "resort fee". Seems to me that they should just adjust their room rates by $24 if they want to charge to use the property your room is in (?) and if you park there, too. A solid case of "nickel and diming" the customer. Thank goodness I didn't try to use the room phone. Heaven only knows what that might have cost. But aside from that, if you build in all these extra fees the property is very nice; rooms very large; staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PagodaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.3 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.3 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
3.7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa

Property: Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Address: 5480 Grand Pacific Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Los Angeles and San Diego, we're adjacent to Legoland CA and provide a refreshing retreat in a charming coastal community. Onsite we have over 30,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing