We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charismatic!”
Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Ranked #3 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Charismatic!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had to book our table in advance, could hardly get in the place it was so full of people... On a Tuesday! . Food plentiful and authentic Mediterranean. Chef came out to sing half way through evening! Fun night, I can see why it's so popular!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,072
    484
    143
    38
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Going Greek in Carmel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Went to this quaint little cafe in Carmel when my daughter and I were doing a road trip down PCH #1 for several days over Mother's Day Weekend. It was recommended by the bed and breakfast we were staying at. Great atmosphere. Quite entertaining with the staff serenading us during the meal time. Everyone felt a part of the entertainment. You could see there were some customers who had been there before and the staff recognized them and made them and everyone else welcomed and important. Food was really good and my daughter and I shared a Baklava dish at the end for desert. Only negative was the wait time and the perception that others were getting seated before us. it has a wonderful cozy atmosphere and attire is not a problem no matter what you are wearing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmw6694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennings, La.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“one of Carmel's best”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great experience. Took us three tries to get in but worth the effort. After our second attempt the owner assured us a table for the following night. When we arrived we were greeted like long lost family. I have never felt more welcomed in a restaurant anywhere in the world. The atmosphere and food were terrific. Only wish it hadn't been our last night in Carmel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjrwjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty food, welcoming environment”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Food was well-prepared and quite filling, and the owner and staff were very attentive. There were a number of vegetarian entrees to choose from, which satisfied my vegan friend and myself. We were treated to a small baklava dessert at the end, which was added to my feeling that this was one of the friendliest restaurants I have visited.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose_Mist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great fun place in Carmel!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Went with another couple and everything was perfect..
Great place to eat and be entertained!!! Recommended by Lamplighter Inn and we were not disappointed!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amh4913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing