We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If we can afford it we would stay there once a month.”
Review of Lincoln Green Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lincoln Green Inn
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My wife and I stayed in the room, Or rather cottage, Called " Little John" It was so beautiful. It has a fireplace in the bedroom, a sitting room, a full-size kitchen, That bathroom was very nice with a bathtub and shower. And outside we had our own private area with two lounge chairs. The staff was excellent. I was sad To hear that they are going to Do some renovation to this room, Which means there will no longer have a fireplace in the bedroom, It will be a living room instead, That is sad for us because we really enjoyed it. The continental breakfast was just gorgeous, And yummy. Thank you so much. We celebrated our 16th year anniversary there. We plan on going there every year now. Just Only over 1 mile from downtown, But only a couple blocks from the ocean. My wife and I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDironbuttrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

My family lived in Carmel for many years and after we no longer had a family house to stay in, we wanted a spot that felt like "Home". The Lincoln Green Inn is just such a place! It is absolutely perfect. We feel like we are in our own little cottage. The cottages are near Scenic Drive that fronts beautiful white sanded Carmel beach. We love to take walks and it is only a 5 minute walk to the beach.
The rooms are wonderfully maintained and everything is always just perfect when we stay in our favorite cottage, the "Robin Hood". The beds and all the amenities are first class. The breakfast is delivered every morning on time and is always wonderful.
There is even an Inn cat named "Buddy" that likes to visit our cottage every day! He is a wonderful touch that we loved as he is SO friendly and lots of fun!
We visited for a week at Christmas this year and the fireplace mantle was decorated with holiday lights and greens.
We will never stay any where else when we are in Carmel...it would be hard to find anything that is as quiet, private and beautiful and the Lincoln Green Inn!
Barbara E.

Room Tip: Select the robin Hood Cottage if you need 2 bedrooms and don't need a full kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We had a peaceful, relaxing stay at the Lincoln Green Inn over Christmas with our 2 dogs. It's location is just blocks from 2 beaches (one is a dog beach) and the beautiful nearby homes make wandering the neighborhood fun for everyone. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained.The afternoon cheese and wine is served in front of an roaring outside fireplace. I loved that you have so many choices for breakfast and that it is delivered to your cottage every morning at your specified time.

The inside of our cottage was warm and comfortable with plenty of storage for our personal items. Plus there was a fully equipped kitchen and coffe, tea, and snacks. We had lots of rain during our stay, so we spent a lot of time snuggled up in our cozy place. We were supposed to be there for 5 nights, but had to leave after just 4 nights due to an emergency at home. Despite the rain and cutting our trip short, we had a wonderful stay and a memorable Holiday weekend. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This was our very first visit to Carmel, as well as to the Lincoln Green Inn. We couldn't have been more pleased with our 3-night stay over the Columbus Day weekend. My husband and I stayed in the Little John cottage with our 8-year-old shepherd-mix "fur-child". Our dog decided shortly after our arrival that she did not care for the crowds and traffic noises in downtown Carmel, so we were grateful for the Inn's location in a quiet residential area just south of town. We could have easily walked into town, but we wouldn't recommend it as there aren't any sidewalks or street lamps once you get away from the main shopping district. We did take advantage of being just a 5-minute walk to the south end of Carmel Beach, which was a great off-leash dog beach for our morning walks.

While the 4 cottages plus office building are very closely situated to one another on the property, we experienced nothing less than total quiet and privacy during our stay. This sensation was greatly enhanced by the artful placement of hedges and perennial garden beds throughout the property. We loved the Little John cottage with its comfy king bed next to the fireplace and its cute fully appointed kitchen with its tiny breakfast nook. I loved the kitchen so much that I wanted to make all of our meals there had we not already made dinner reservations...and I never want to cook while on vacation! You would never know that dogs have stayed at the Inn for how meticulously clean and well-kept the cottage and gardens were maintained.

While we have decided that Carmel isn't really our "scene", we would consider the Lincoln Green Inn as a worthy standalone destination. We would love to return and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet haven that's close (but not too close) to downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

After researching all the inns in Carmel for the ever important honeymoon, we decided on the Lincoln Green in because of it uniqueness. The Inn has beautiful gardens and the Inn keepers are really friendly and hospitable. We stayed in Little John which was perfect for a honeymoon stay with a romantic gas fireplace, large bed, and a sunroof just over the fireplace and bed. The cottage as a great color theme of blue and white and the artifacts and decor all compliment this very well. The tv room is very comfortable with a sofa. There is individual WiFi for the cottage with great reception throughout. The kitchen is very quaint with great views of the country style gardens. The morning breakfast was good and delivered to the cottage, so that was very helpful for honeymoon stay. Overall, the Lincoln Green Inn was the perfect place for our honeymoon. Thanks again to all the staff for making our honeymoon so wonderful.

Room Tip: Little John is perfect with a large bed and fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alaskan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Many other choices in town have constant traffic noise. Not here! It is so peaceful you enjoy all the special touches. The gardens, the bed, the linens, the afternoon wine and cheese, the cottage itself and last but not least Buddy the cat who serves as greeter.
We have come to Carmel for years and we regret not finding this oasis sooner!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickTucsonAz_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

One of the best places I have ever stayed in! We were in the Little John cottage and it was perfect for the 4 of us, they have a pull out sofa bed in a separate room that my kids enjoyed. Loved all the little details from the way the cottage was decorated to how breakfast was delivered in the morning. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, I loved sitting by the fireplace at the wine and cheese reception just staring at the beauty of the place. Housekeeping came by every morning and cleaned EVERYTHING, such a great job and friendly too. The cottages are right next to the beach (about 1 block walk) and about 1 mile from downtown. Very quiet and relaxing at night did not hear anything, such a nice vacation and we cant wait to return!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HBFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
910 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
366 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 25 in Carmel
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Green Inn

Address: 26200 Carmelo St, Carmel, CA 93923-9134
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Carmel
Price Range: £351 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, breathtaking beauty: four enchanted cottages, lush English gardens, wine and cheese reception, breakfast basket, close to Carmel Beach and Artisan Village. Lincoln Green Inn, a historic bed and breakfast built in 1925, delivers one to the enchanted era of Shakespearean England. Enter the lush English country gardens and be enveloped by a delightful visual banquet, enjoy warm and professional guest services, relax in the elegance of these beautiful cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lincoln Green Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Green Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing