We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cozy comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This gem in Carmel can give you the true feel of the Carmel life. Carmel is a very dog friendly city and Cypress Inn allows dogs in the rooms and have a dog friendly happy hour at the bar Terry's. Price can be steep on important weekends but the rooms are a comfortable size.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pebblebeach31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    249
    84
    24
    35
See reviews for
209
634
57
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fetsund, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the evening and got a warm welcome. Very friendly front office at all times. We were four people and probably got one of the smallest and not a good situated room. It was no 107 and was just on top of the stairs with a tiny bathroom and a wall as view. Nevertheless the hotel has charm and soul. The gym is tiny but I could do what I came there for. The hotel has a lot of dogs and I like dogs, but it is a bit too much when you can't get to your room because six dogowners and their dogs are blocking the way and do not make a move to let you through.... The breakfast was a disappointment. Very bad selection of food, bread etc. and very much unhealthy stuff. I guess that's just American. The hotel is perfectly located to everything Carmel has to offer.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fetsund_NorwayGry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

As soon as I walked into the lobby I fell in love with the place. They had a lot of movie memorabilia about the lobby and as you walked through the hallway. Being there gave me nostalgia and I felt at peace immediately. Carmel is a beautiful town with beautiful little shops and art galleries so this hotel fit perfectly in this town. It's very quiet and there's no hustle and bustle. I loved the room we had and when we got there we immediately got upgraded to a bigger luxury room. It had a big jacuzzi and a really nice ceiling fan. The bed was so comfortable too! Every time I go back to Carmel I will always stay at the Cypress Inn.

Room Tip: Please book way in advance. They didn't have any rooms available so I went in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MercedesMercado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

A beautiful find in Carmel with a welcoming and attentive staff, from the front desk to housekeeping, we were pleasantly surprised by their friendliness. This place is very dog friendly and we are so grateful for this hospitality so that our dog was able to enjoy our quick family vacation along the coast. Carmel Inn is located an easy walk to all the shops in town and a downhill walk to the beach. Our room faced the street and yes you do get street noise especially with the balcony doors opened. Our room was large with a fireplace and oversized relaxing tub. Breakfast was included which had a variety of choices: eggs, potatoes, pastries and wonderful popovers. Limited hotel parking was available a short walk away so that you didn't have to move your car every two hours during the day. All in all, a fantastic find and we will definitely return here when in Carmel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will be noisier at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Drinks in the courtyard, waiter a bit diffident, beautiful property environment.
Dogs welcome everywhere which is always a nice ice breaker to interesting meetings, conversations and people.
Some of the clientele swanning around is local, some a bit eccentric, all fascinating with their airs and graces.
Difficult to get dining reservations as it is so known and popular so I am unable to comment on dining service or food quality.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travelready247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had the best experience EVER at Cypress Inn,staff very friendly and helpful,they are dog friendly as well.Really enjoyed our mini vacation can't wait to go back with our little dogs.The hotel also gives you home made style brandy free, Our dogs were very comfortable and enjoyed their room as well.I believe Doris Day owns part of the hotel,she is a big dog lover.They also give you fresh fruit every morning in your room and free breakfast.Your dogs can go anywhere in the hotel with you.

Room Tip: Seriously this is the real deal I have traveled for many years to different hotels this by far was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thethreemoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We started out with one night in Carmel, and kept adding a day, for a total of five nights in this very special inn. The staff is outstanding, Randy at the front desk is exceptional, as well as Crystal at the bar. We loved the location, the courtyard, beautiful lounge, and just people watching here. It draws a diverse crowd of all ages. Though we aren't "dog" people, the pets that were there didn't bother us at all, they were actually kind of fun. This place has a lot of character & charm, but the well-trained & very attentive staff makes it shine! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing