We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use the staff!”
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We've been frequent guests over the past 15 years with 3 stays within the last 12 months. Yes, we're old, nostalgic doggie lovers. The draw here is Doris Day and her animal foundation. If you missed that from the home page when you booked online, just look at the lobby decor when you arrive. If this is not the environment you want, just ask the desk staff to find you accommodations elsewhere. I'm serious. I bet they will help you find someplace more to your liking.

Before we learned which were our favorite rooms, we got honest, objective advice over the phone. One time I was told "Yes, room 220 has an ocean view from the bedroom but not from the sitting area downstairs. Also, the bedroom is small so it would probably be uncomfortable with the dogs up there. I think you'd be more comfortable in..." and lower-priced rooms were offered.

Every time we check in, I ask for recommendations for new restaurants or events. Everyone gives good advice, Randy in particular. Once I asked him to make reservations for a restaurant that looked great from the street. He tried to steer me away but I persisted. We had an unsatisfactory meal at an unsatisfactory table with lackluster service. Now I know to trust his advice.

There is a bellman to help with your luggage. The nine car parking lot is too small for all the guests but I always park on the street to avoid door dings anyway. Just be sure to park south of 8th avenue because the 2-hour limits north of there are enforced.

One of the delights of the hotel is having some wine in the chairs next to the courtyard fireplace. The other is enjoying the dogs in the evenings in the living room, whether there is entertainment or not.

So, why only 4 stars? The property IS getting tired and needs some work. For example, our favorite is room 116 because it has a private entrance off Lincoln with a small patio where the dogs can socialize with passersbys. The bathroom phone (Was that ever a good idea? Yuck!) has been removed but the bracket and jack are still there. I would have replaced the tile they are attached to. The closet door popped open in the middle of the night a couple of nights turning on the fluorescent light. The locks on the Lincoln side doors don't work well. We asked for maintenance during the last two stays but this time we just gave up and exited through the courtyard and lobby. Not as convenient but not too bad either. The noise from the kitchen is bad and seems to be getting worse. Also, the trashcans are permanent fixtures on the sidewalk. Even if that's not a code violation, I would find a solution. Why room the elegant look of the facade? Worse, they have become a gathering place for employees and service providers. They use the trashcans as a coffee table during breaks so there is often a group talking loudly and smoking there. It drove us inside and caused me to ask about other rooms. Once again, honest information... The noise and smoke are just as bad in the second floor rooms 221 and 222. Room 215's veranda is very nice, the bathroom is huge but the smallish room would be a bit crowded with our three dogs. So, not sure what we'll do next.

The menu at Terry's is minimalistic to the point of terseness. We were unable to gauge the portion sizes from the descriptions and the waitstaff weren't much clearer. Some servings were small, others large and we ended up with more food than we needed. The burger is a full meal. Best in Carmel? Maybe but burgers aren't Carmel'sl forte. All offerings were good but not exceptional.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Cypress Inn is in a wonderful location, just a few short blocks from everything--shopping, wonderful restaurants and the beach. We stayed in room with a separate outside entrance and it was wonderful. The beds were extremely comfortable, the bath and body products were delicious and the staff seemed to genuinely like their jobs. Crystal was so helpful with my requests and Randy went out of his way to help us choose the perfect restaurant for our family dinner. It has been a long time since I have stayed at this property, but my husband and I are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms with separate entrances. It's almost like living in a New York Brownstone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Taskilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I never tire of this wonderful spot! The staff is so friendly and accommodating! From Randy at the front desk to Mary at Terry's lounge! Always professional, polite and make you feel at home.
Enjoy a bite at the bar of one of the outdoor tables on the terrace. The menu is fantastic!
Music in the lounge is so relaxing.
Be sure to say hello to the hotel's newest General Manager, Crystal Petersson. She brings a great deal of knowledge and experience to the property.
A winner in all respects!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lucca612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This inn is really nice. We only got to stay for one night, but from the moment we walked in the front door, we were impressed. All of the employees were top notch; the room was well appointed and very clean.

Since we were traveling across country from Virginia, we couldn't bring our little dog, but we got our dog fix at the Cypress Inn. It was so much fun having a cocktail in the bar and seeing all of the different dogs--all very well behaved--so those of you who do not have dogs, no worries.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room, and our room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsParticular1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Another awesome stay. As always, Randy at the front goes well out of his way to make sure everything is perfect. The location is the best in town. Rooms are beautiful and luxurious. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malibubrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Cypress Inn is ideally located one block away from Carmel's main street, Ocean Avenue. It is a lovely property with numerous types of rooms to choose from, and although it is close to shops and restaurants, it offers considerable privacy. Staff are extremely helpful and very knowledgeable, suggesting restaurants and places to visit. Cocktails are served throughout the common areas, but we found the bar a wonderful place to relax and select from the many choices of wine by the glass. Our room was spacious and bright. The king bed was very comfortable. There was sherry and a selection of fruit waiting for us. Bottled water is supplied which can be replenished at any time in the bar. A plentiful breakfast is served in the morning, and is included in the room rate. This is a wonderful place to spend some relaxing time in Carmel. And bring your dog as well. Cypress Inn is pet friendly!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony for a special occasion. The rooms are very quiet. Even the ones on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank circe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We loved this hotel! Perfect location and picture perfect decor. From calling to book the hotel to our arrival, we felt welcomed and well cared for.

We selected a room on the ground floor , large room and beautifully appointed. Bed was very comfortable, lots of extra pillows and blankets. The shower had no pressure at all but we do respect and appreciate the effort to conserve water. We liked the glass bottles for water that you can take to the bar to have refilled.
The bar was friendly and a great spot for pre and post drinks. Breakfast was included and was very plentiful.
We are dog lovers but our Golden Retriever was not with us ...we did enjoy seeing dogs that were staying at the hotel, but the place is not over run with dogs, maybe 1 in 10 people have their dog with them.
There is a beautiful sitting area off the lobby - comfy chairs and a fireplace.
While writing this review, I am missing this hotel and the enchanting town of Carmel!

Room Tip: We had room 121 - it was perfect. Close to everything and quiet at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jbroer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 24 in Carmel
629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 24 in Carmel
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £222 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing