We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice amenities but...”
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
San Ramon
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice amenities but...”
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I had heard about this Inn that caters to people with dogs for many years...Love dogs, wanted to try it and did so this past weekend. The food was great, the restaurant and maid service, excellent. The lounge is quit nice, like a mini-Wawona and the entertainment and comfort is indeed nice. The parking is dreadful, but then again, much of Carmel Inns appear to be that way (not sure, checking this out as I speak). My car was hit in their parking lot one block away and though efforts were made by the person who hit me, I found the Inn slow to respond (he was also staying at the Inn). This could have been avoided entirely with better, more communication between staff members at the DESK service. Missed more fresh air in rooms, though I had both windows open at night (smack dab next to ANOTHER large, boarded up building).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBunny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    265
    95
    28
    37
See reviews for
227
691
60
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Cypress Inn in July 2010 and had a very pleasant stay. Being a fan of Doris day and dogs, it seemed like the perfect combination. We were very well looked after and very much enjoyed afternoon tea. Being in our early 30's, we were a little out of place in the hotel, as the hotel tends to be for slightly older folk. Despite the comfort of the hotel, I would suggest it is a little formal and this is something to be aware of when booking here. Don't turn up for a rave...this is a peaceful, relaxed and respectable accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkyLondener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Lovely Inn in the center of everything Carmel. Wonderful service, nice jazz duo in the lounge only negative is that it was a bit noisy from both inside the hotel and outside street noise. All in all great place. Be prepared for lots of dogs which makes for interesting conversations.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italyluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

the staff is great- and dogs of all size are honored guests!! have dinner, listen to music- all with your loved dog! a blast!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverflorsheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I spent two nights only in the marvellous Cypress Inn but I left the hotel with a reservation in my pocket for next Spring... The staff and the building itself along with the rooms are elegant and old fashioned. The atmosphere is more for the grown up with manners than to teens or lousy travellers.
The place is a must see and try!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RS1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We spent a night here and loved it! Wonderful, classy, elegant, but very relaxed and comfortable. The service and staff was awesome. Rooms extremely clean and well kept. Bottle of champagne, sherry, fruit and snacks all are complimentary when you get to the room which was great. I'd have to say that the complimentary breakfast in the morning was top notch. It may say continental, but it goes way beyond. It was great enjoying a good meal on the patio before heading to the beach. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

It was our second visit from Australia in 5 years. We had a street access king suite. It was perfect. One end opened to the street, the other to a courtyard. The only negative here was that the hot tub didn’t work. It always bugs me when i pay for a room with these features and they don’t work. Our stay wasn’t long enough to kick up a fuss, but I did let the front desk know so that the next person could have the pleasure. Breakfast here is great and the atmosphere is soooooo relaxing. A must do for anyone who loves animals or if you can cope with dogs in your hotel, a must do for the Doris Day factor as well.
We had dinner at "The Grill" on Ocean St one night. The best steak I have ever had!!! Do It!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
855 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 25 in Carmel
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing