We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite inn...in my favorite place in the world!”
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
St. Helena, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My favorite inn...in my favorite place in the world!”
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I am a regular at Cypress Inn, visit there several times a year. Each Christmas en route to southern CA, I stop and spend two or three nights there with my dog, Butter. The purpose of the stay is usually to decompress from all the holiday parties here, in readiness for spending a quiet holiday with my holidays family. Cypress Inn is perfect as a home-away-from-home spot. The staff is friendly and extremely accommodating, and also well-informed. Rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. There's an excellent bar/restaurant in the hotel. If you're a solo traveler this place offers many opportunities for conversation in the bar/restaurant or the living room where a very nice afternoon tea is served. Or you can sit by the fireplace with a book and enjoy total privacy. Cypress Inn is well located, right around the corner from Ocean Avenue's intriguing shops, galleries and fine restaurants. If you're traveling with your dog, you'll be especially happy at Cypress Inn. It is, indeed my favorite inn to visit, located in my favorite spot to go in all the world.

Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    259
    94
    27
    37
See reviews for
221
682
60
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Look No Further In Carmel! This Is Our 2nd Stay Here And As Usual It's Charm, Warmth And Hospitality Can't Be Beat!!! The Food, Drinks (Best Espresso Martinis), Ambiance Can't Be Beat!!! Stay in The Courtyard Rooms So Charming! The Best Nightlife In Carmel!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm2332550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

i took my dalmatian to the cypress inn christmas week, and it was heavenly. the inn looked gorgeous in a simple, elegant way. there were many dogs and dog -obsessed travelers enjoying lunch, breakfast, or dinner at terry's lounge - or drinks in front of the roaring fire and tall christmas trtee. i will return each and every year. i loved it.
not many inns of that caliber take dogs - and many locals come to enjoy cocktails with their dogs - so you get a very interesting mix of people enjoying this unique setting.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amynachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2010

This is our second Christmas at The Cypress Inn. We travel with our small dog and he receives as much attention as we do. It's warm and friendly and the staff bends over backwards to make your stay both comfortable and memorable. The restaurant is first class and again, the staff (most particularly Drago, the manager) will do whatever they can to accommodate both you and your dog(s). The other guests are as friendly as the staff. It's as close to a home away from home as you can find.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libl0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

The concierge was extremely patient and very helpful, and the setting, romantic. The place was wonderfully relaxing, peaceful, and charming, and its continental breakfast is one of the best I've experienced, with scrambled eggs that haven't gone cold, fresh popovers, fresh fruit, and good-quality coffee. The sun was out both days, and being able to walk to so many fabulous restaurants was a joy, plus Carmel beach was only a few blocks away. Perfect for an off-season mini-vacation!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honu024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Cypress Inn is such a nice escape from the hustle and bustle of the city! Rooms were very clean, service was outstanding, food tasty, and the best part.....you can bring your doggie with you and the rooms do not smell like dog at all! I would love to know their secret!!! I love boutiquey style hotels and this one definitely didn't disappoint. Its very close to the center of town and an easy walk to the ocean! Tons of fun shops and restaurants within steps of the hotel. Monterey is super quick drive, as well. I definitely will be coming back for a stay, hopefully longer next time (this stay was a quick two nighter).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjdnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Could not be more accommodating. Checked in with my husband and two Portuguese Water dogs. They had two dog bowls waiting in our room. They provided us with a list of dog friendly restaurants in town, as well as dog sitters if we needed one. The room was updated and very clean for a hotel that accommodates dogs. We had a great courtyard room with fireplace, flat screen TV, and modern bath. The continental breakfast which was included was excellent and included hot breakfast as well. All in all a great stay and well worth it for the peace of mind to have our dogs with us. A note for people who don't like dogs, don't stay here because dogs are everywhere. Parking is limited, when we checked in the hotel parking lot was full and we had to park a couple of blocks away, which needed to be moved in the morning so as not to get a ticket.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
340 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing