We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Relaxing Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Ranked #13 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
khollister
1 review
“Quiet Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This is not a hotel. I read some of the negative reviews and those travelers need to be staying at a place that can accomodate all their needs. This is a cozy, quiet, cottage atmosphere that is one block from Carmel beach. Compared to the price of other options this is a great deal. Decent breakfast and service in an older looking place (but that is Carmel). Spend time in the room at night, get out in the day. Too much to see.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khollister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    117
    32
    11
    4
See reviews for
35
220
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Great small inn in a really quiet town setting. Not as close to town as I thought and we were the youngest guests by about 35 years, but fantastic service, comfortable beds (favorite part), and affordable stay, with short drive to town, and 5 minute walk to beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyC327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I enjoyed a two night stay at the Sandpiper Inn. It is a cozy place in a quiet residential neighborhood. They have a great location just a very short walk to the beach. Staff is friendly. Rates seemed comparable to or better than other lodging in the area for the room I booked. Some of their other rooms seemed a bit on the high side although I did not see them and cannot compare with the room I was in. I had let them know I would be arriving after 9:30pm and they were helpful in accomodating my late arrival. Breakfast was fresh, large strawberries, yogurt, granola/cereal, coffee, and tea with croissant one day and quiche the next. I did not realize there was afternoon tea and cookies, so that was a pleasant surprise when returning in the evening. Overall, a great place for a serene, relaxing getaway.

I only had a couple minor issues, nothing that would prevent me from going back. I stayed in Room 15 which is detached along with Room 14 from the main house. Upon entering the room I noticed a musty smell along with a little mildew in the shower. They need to improve the ventilation in this room to minimize the moisture that seems to linger. Opening the windows for a while helped air out the room but then I was worried insects would enter as there were no window screens (not that I saw insects around).
The other minor issue was the skylight was a little dirty with leaves/twigs/etc. A quick sweep or blast with the hose would take care of that.

For those arriving in Carmel for the first time and at night, I had a little trouble finding my way to the Sandpiper Inn as the area is quite dark and I didn't see any street signs. After several minutes of driving around lost, I realized the street names were painted vertically on wooden posts; a little hard to read. I was wishing I had GPS navigation, but was eventually able to find my way there with the map I brought. Parking is along the street or in several spaces on the property.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gawble08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

This was the first time we went to Carmel and stayed at the Sandpiper Inn. It was really a nice little hotel. The room was really nice and cozy. The breakfast was nice and we really felt at home. The only drawback from our stay was the weather in Carmel in May which was really grey and cold.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We were 'sold' a 'sea-view' room for $200; this was very expensive for this type of accommodation; there was hardly any view of the sea and I wonder how the $130 room would have differed! For $200, I'd expect a bottle of water in the room and a more generous breakfast: Cereal restricted to a bowl of Muesli. 'Toast? No, sorry, we don't do toast; would you like a slice of our special quiche? (which, to be fair, looked good - but not what we want for breakfast.) Nice people - but $200 - wow!
OK we've now been told Carmel is expensive - but the following night we had a superb room in Santa Barbara (also not a cheap resort) for $140. No contest!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alainamusich, Manager at Sandpiper Inn Carmel, responded to this review, 11 June 2009
We are sorry to see that your stay was less than satisfactory. At the time we were transitioning managers and our prices had not yet been updated properly for the month. Things are going smoothly now and we hope that our pricing is more suitable to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

This is a lovely little hotel located well for both the beach and restaurants. We arrived after a long drive and Donna on reception was really welcoming and understanding. Parking was good, and the hotel has a good relaxed (and relaxing) feel. The room was a bit tight for space because the bed was huge. We had a great night's sleep though, a really comfortable bed. The bathroom had a good selection of toiletries and a good shower. Breakfast was informal, with fresh warm blueberry scones that were delicious. Overall a very relaxing stay.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. louis
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We were in room 11, a great view of the beach and Pepple Hill, kept the window open to here the ocean. Comfy bed, pretty spread and chairs. The staff is freindly, the breakfast was excellent. It is an older place with lots of charm. A bit far from downtown but this was not a problem for us. You will be happy you choose this B and B.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymary02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn Carmel

Property: Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Address: 2408 Bay View Ave, Carmel, CA 93923-9117
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like being a house guest in someone's exclusive seaside home. This early California country style inn, established in 1929, boasts of ocean views and the sounds of the surf crashing on the soft sand of Carmel Beach. Enjoy the serene comfort in one of our cozy rooms, by the fire in our fireside lounge, or outside on one of our garden patios. The Sandpiper Inn is the perfect getaway for the romantic couple or for those that just want to get away from the daily grind and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sandpiper Inn Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Inn Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing