We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great disappointment.”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Corona del Mar, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great disappointment.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Once again, we recently spent some time in beautiful Carmel, one of our favorite places of relaxation. The once lovely Carriage House Inn was our choice in years past, not so anymore. The rooms are in dire need of refurbishment; they have become shabby and are not keeping up with the times (poor linen quality, old TV's, worn furniture, dingy wallpaper, the constant loud, disturbing hum of the fridge ), very sad to say the least. They do have a nice wine/cheese offering in the evening, however, this does not compensate for the meager surroundings while still paying a goodly sum! Let's hope management gets with it as the property location is wonderful, so is the office staff, Laurie and Terry. All this being said, this IS our last visit to Carriage House Inn, we will go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not recommend this inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We take your comments seriously and I apologize that you did not have a more satisfactory experience with us. In your review, you cited deficiencies with the maintenance of the room furnishings. I am very pleased to say that we are currently under way with improvements at the Carriage House Inn. This month alone, we are installing new flat screen tv’s and new luxury Italian linens.

Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, we always strive to provide exceptional customer service and truly enjoy the wine/cheese evenings. I hope you will allow us another opportunity win back your loyalty to the Carriage House.

Felina Smith
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    50
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
205
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Great hotel for a couple to visit. Rooms are super cozy with a bed that feels like you are in a cloud. The attention by the employes was also very nice and they were always helpfull. The location is also excelent, walking distance from every place in town. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielaRotger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The property was so very beautiful. The staff was very extending. The room was very elegant and was equivalent to a 5 star establishment. It had every comfort imagineable and exuded a feeling of pure relaxation. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast was very lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We have been coming to this hotel for a very long time. The staff are friendly, helpful, and will go out of their way to provide you with good service. But the prices continue to go up while essential upgrades have not been made. It is as if the owners and manager have decided to let the past good reputation of the bed and breakfast carry them through and to keep profits from overly high rates themselves rather than put money back into needed repairs and upgrades.

Upgrades to flat screen tv monitors, for example, have been put off for years. Only one or two rooms that are considered the "premium" rooms have flat screens. All others continue to use small tube televisions. For a place trying to compete in the marketplace, this is inexcusable. In addition, playing a a DVD from the hotel's adequate selection of older movies requires the use of three separate remote controls. It is too complicated and is not what guests coming to an inn want to be bothered with.

The rooms need to be updated with some fresh colors. The sense is that the place has not been taken care of. We stayed at the beginning of this new year. All guests coming should be told that there is a major construction project directly across the street from the back of the hotel which affects the majority of the rooms of the inn. If you want to stay in the room at all during the day and have a cozy fire, relax, or have a lazy morning, you will have to deal with periodic pounding from the construction. While a discount was offered when we complained about the noise, this should have been told to us upfront, when booking the reservations.

We have many happy memories over the years of Carmel and our stays at the Carriage House Inn. But it is likely we have stayed there for the last time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Carmel is our favorite spot on the west coast...a place we return to as often as we can; thus I added another visit (our sixth) to Carmel as part of a Christmas gift surprise trip to California for my wife which included attending the 2012 Tournament of Roses Parade. We enjoy bed and breakfast inns and, on previous trips to Carmel, have stayed at other B&B's. In planning this trip, I selected the Carriage House Inn largely based on Trip Advisor reviews! Having spent the day driving up the incredible Pacific Coast Highway 1, we arrived to find the daily wine and cheese reception underway in the inn's warm and cozy living room. The hostess, Tanya, immediately made us feel welcome insisting we enjoy the wine, cheese, crackers, fruit, cookies, etc. before showing us to our room. Upon entering the room, we were impressed with the spaciousness, fireplace, comfortable furnishings, amenities including a mini-fridge with complementary beverages, robes...even an umbrella! We also appreciated the off street parking at the bottom of the stairs below our room. The Carriage House Inn has a great deal going for it and much to recommend including a terrific staff all of whom we got to know during our four day stay...Cathy the manager, Tanya, Terry and Laurie...all were very helpful and accommodating. The Inn is spotlessly clean with exceptional in-room maid service every day. The location just over a block from the center of Ocean Avenue's restaurants and shops is ideal; nearly everything in Carmel is within walking distance. And, of course, breakfast delivered to the room each morning is, to say the least, a very nice touch not often experienced elsewhere. The primary "to do" for the owners came up in conversation every evening at the wine and cheese reception...the need to update the antiquated TV's with flat screen models. It requires two remote controls to operate the TV's which often results in staff having to go to the rooms to show guests how to navigate the confusing process. One does not go to Carmel to watch TV; however, with most shops closing in the early evening, watching a movie (the Inn provides DVD's to guests at no charge) or TV after returning from dinner should be easy...one remote control and no remedial instructions necessary! We learned from other guests who have stayed at the Carriage House Inn before that some of the rooms have been updated. Our room, while very comfortable and well appointed, was not one of them and could use a bit of attention (wallpaper beginning to peel and missing tile caulking in bath; weatherstripping and door threshold to prevent cold air entering room which required use of towels to block). All in all, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Carriage House Inn and, assuming the same terrific staff is still in place, will likely return.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLLIII_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jericho, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Everyone was very nice, and the room was very pretty. It was essentially what we expected, so no disappointments - clean, large, continental breakfast in a basket. They are really centrally located, so all of these things are in the plus column. This is not an intimate B&B, so make sure you set your expectations accordingly. Also, just a suggestion -- don't listen to any of the suggestions from the management as to where to eat -- ask your friends, or do your own research.

Room Tip: Not sure of the differences between the rooms. Our room was the closest to the management office an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savvytraveler612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucca Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Liked the wine and cheese and opportunity to meet other guests; appreciated the friendliness of the staff and their assistance with recommendations on restaurants; the rooms were quite spacious and the bed was very comfortable; I liked being able to have a fire in the fireplace since it was cold and dreary in Carmel. The location was very convenient and within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. We could have walked but we drove to the beach. Off-street parking was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,216 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#2 of 26 in Carmel
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 26 in Carmel
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel’s AAA 4-diamond luxury inn for over 30 years, the romantic Carriage House Inn offers 13 spacious rooms and suites featuring feather beds and fireplaces and most with spa tubs for the ultimate indulgence. Enjoy a hot continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning complete with quiche, croissant, steaming coffee or tea, fruit, granola, juice and the morning paper. Wine and cheese reception is served each evening in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing